Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Meridian?

In short

A childcare centre in Meridian, ID has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division charges $244.67 one-time for the accessory use permit — home daycare (6 children or fewer). 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Accessory Use Permit — Home Daycare (6 children or fewer)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$244.67 one-timeone-time, per application — administrative staff-level review, typically about three weeks2026-09-11
Day Care Inspection Fee (Meridian Fire)City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division$25 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule — charged per inspection tied to the State's own licensing cycle rather than a fixed City renewal date2026-09-11
Conditional Use Permit (CUP)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$602.63 for a minor modification to an existing Conditional Use Permit, or $1,338.95 for a full or Commission-level Conditional Use Permit application.one-time, per project — the public hearing process takes approximately three months from start to finish2026-09-11
Child Care Licenseonly if it applies to youIdaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health$100–$325 a year, banded by capacity — and not required at all below seven children2 years2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Non-Residential Impact Fees (Fire, Police, Parks)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project2026-09-11
Certificate of Zoning Compliance (CZC)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project — administrative-level staff review2026-09-11
Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Feesonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time for plan review; the $125 hood-suppression inspection is periodic, cycle not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ID registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is freeannual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Meridian?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a childcare centre in Meridian, ID, 4 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $25.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Conditional Use Permit (CUP): $602.63 for a minor modification to an existing Conditional Use Permit, or $1,338.95 for a full or Commission-level Conditional Use Permit application.

Child Care License: $100–$325 a year, banded by capacity — and not required at all below seven children

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Meridian?

Permits for a childcare centre in Meridian, ID come from 6 separate offices: City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services Division, City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Meridian that other businesses do not?

3 of the 4 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Meridian: Accessory Use Permit — Home Daycare (6 children or fewer), Day Care Inspection Fee (Meridian Fire) and Child Care License.

Accessory Use Permit — Home Daycare (6 children or fewer)

The Planning Division's own FAQ page confirms: 'You are required to obtain an Accessory Use Permit to operate a business out of your home. If applying for a daycare, you may have up to six children during a 24 hour period.' A daycare proposing more than six children must instead be in a zone that allows it and obtain the Conditional Use Permit recorded separately above (UDC Sections 11-4-3.9 and 11-5B-6). This local zoning permit is layered on top of, and distinct from, Idaho's own State Child Care License recorded at the Idaho state layer and the separate Fire Department daycare inspection fee recorded below.

Day Care Inspection Fee (Meridian Fire)

The Fire Department's own dedicated page states plainly: 'The $25 inspection fee must be paid prior to scheduling the inspection.' The City's own live, current consolidated fee-schedule database independently lists the identical figure under 'Fire Operational Fees — Day Care Inspections — $25,' so this figure is confirmed from two independent City sources that agree. This inspection is required for both home and outside-the-home childcare facilities as part of Idaho's own State licensing process, layered on top of the Accessory Use Permit or Conditional Use Permit recorded separately above.

Child Care License

Idaho draws this line more sharply than most states: care for six children or fewer needs no state license at all, and may be registered voluntarily if the provider chooses, at $100. Cross to seven and licensing becomes mandatory as a group daycare facility, at $100 a year; cross to thirteen and it becomes a daycare centre, $250 a year up to twenty-five children or $325 for twenty-six or more. Every licensed category renews on a two-year cycle. A separate, narrower rule catches even unlicensed providers: any family daycare home caring for four or more children must complete a criminal history background check regardless of whether a license is required at all. Operating a group facility or centre above the threshold without a license is a misdemeanour.

Shared with other businesses in Meridian

  • Conditional Use Permit (CUP) — City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, $602.63 for a minor modification to an existing Conditional Use Permit, or $1,338.95 for a full or Commission-level Conditional Use Permit application., one-time, per project — the public hearing process takes approximately three months from start to finish. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, restaurants, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Meridian, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Meridian permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Meridian?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Accessory Use Permit — Home Daycare (6 children or fewer), Day Care Inspection Fee (Meridian Fire) and Child Care License. A fitness studio needs Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupation, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Meridian, ID, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2131
Retail stores2131
Auto repair shops3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Restaurants4133
Coffee shops3043
Contractors and trades6046
Food trucks5045
Salons and barbers3043

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Meridian - City Fees Schedule — the City's own live, current consolidated fee database covering Building, Planning, Fire, Public Works, and City Clerk fees by resolution number, including the $59.82 current Mobile Food Vendor Inspection fee, the building permit formula, and all Planning Division feesCity of Meridian · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. General Information & FAQ — the Planning Division's own page describing the Certificate of Zoning Compliance, Conditional Use Permit (UDC 11-5B-6), Sign Permit (UDC 11-3D-8), and home daycare/home occupation Accessory Use thresholds (UDC 11-4-3.9, 11-4-3.21)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Daycare Inspections — the Fire Department's own page stating 'The $25 inspection fee must be paid prior to scheduling the inspection'City of Meridian Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  4. IDAPA 16.06.02 — standards for daycare licensing, the seven-child and thirteen-child thresholdsIdaho Department of Health and Welfare · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.