Commercial Compliance Hub

19 published records

Business licenses and permits in Meridian, Idaho

The City Clerk's License and Permit Applications page states that 'the City of Meridian does not require a general business license', and its license list runs to only eight categories (Alcohol Catering Permit, Alcohol Licenses, Mobile Sales Unit License, Temporary Use Permits, Vehicle Immobilization License, Fireworks, Pawnbroker & Precious Metal Dealer Licenses, Dog Licensing), none of which reaches a plain restaurant, retail store, salon, fitness studio, veterinary clinic, or contractor's office. The City Clerk's own Mobile Sales Unit (Vendor) License ($73.25 application fee) is the real local layer for a food truck or mobile vendor. Central District Health, not the City, is the confirmed food-permitting authority ($200-$250 permanent establishments plus a $100 plan review fee; $80-$100 mobile units), and Meridian Fire layers its own $59.82 annual Mobile Food Vendor Inspection fee on top of that (an older $45 regional joint-program figure has been superseded by the current city figure) plus a $25 Day Care Inspection fee. Building permits use a flat formula ($50 base plus $5.50 per $1,000 of project value); a Certificate of Occupancy with no other construction is $110, a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is $114.75, and Commercial Plan Check is 65% of the building permit fee. Planning fees include a Certificate of Zoning Compliance ($230.87-$531.92), a Zoning Verification Letter ($120.89), a Conditional Use Permit ($602.63-$1,338.95), a Sign Permit ($24.18-$48.36), an Accessory Use Permit for home daycare of six children or fewer ($244.67), and an Accessory Use Permit for a home occupation ($120.89, or $169.24 for group instruction of 7 or more). Non-residential impact fees split explicitly into a 'Commercial' rate (shopping centers, stand-alone retail, restaurants and bars) and a lower 'All Other' rate for every other use, and the schedule sets the non-residential Parks impact fee at $0.00. The City Clerk's list names no additional local license for salons, veterinary practices, or auto repair shops, and, unlike Boise's, the City's consolidated fee schedule lists no repair-garage fire permit line.

What are you opening in Meridian?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionResidential/Commercial Permit Fee Calculation Formula: $50.00 base fee plus $5.50 for each additional $1,000 of project value or fraction thereof. Commercial Plan Check is a further 65% of the building permit fee (non-refundable, applied to the permit). A Certificate of Occupancy issued with no other construction underway costs a flat $110.00; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy costs $114.75.one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$48.36 for a standard sign permit, $24.18 for a limited-duration sign, or $27.00 for a portable sign.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Non-Residential Impact Fees (Fire, Police, Parks)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionFor new non-residential construction classed 'Commercial' (the schedule's own words: 'includes all buildings in a shopping center; all stand-alone retail buildings; and all restaurants and bars') — Fire Impact Fee $1.29 per sq ft, Police Impact Fee $1.23 per sq ft, Parks Impact Fee $0.00 per sq ft. For every other non-residential use ('All Other') — Fire Impact Fee $0.96 per sq ft, Police Impact Fee $0.19 per sq ft, no separate Parks rate published.one-time, per project2026-09-11
Certificate of Zoning Compliance (CZC)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$531.92 for a new Certificate of Zoning Compliance, $340.34 with prior approval, or $230.87 for a use-only CZC (change of use with no new construction).one-time, per project — administrative-level staff review2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$120.89 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Feesonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionA Fire Code plan review during the commercial building permit process costs 30% of the building permit fee. A dedicated Fire Sprinkler or Fire Alarm System plan review costs a base $150.00 (covering up to 35 sprinkler heads or alarm devices) plus $4.25 for each additional device. Separately, a periodic Inspection of Commercial Hood Extinguishing Systems — the wet-chemical range-hood suppression system a commercial kitchen installs — costs $125.00 per system.one-time for plan review; the $125 hood-suppression inspection is periodic, cycle not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Meridian?

Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy

The formula is as published in the City's consolidated fee schedule (Building Structural Fees, Resolution No. 18-2110): a $50.00 base fee plus $5.50 for each additional $1,000 of project value, simpler than the multi-tier valuation table in Boise's differently structured building fee schedule. Application/plan-review deposit fees of $50 (commercial project value under $20,000) or $150 (over $20,000) are charged separately and applied toward the final permit fee.

Sign Permit

The Planning Division's own FAQ page confirms: 'You are required to obtain a Sign Permit prior to erecting a sign on your property.' The fee figures are as published in the City's consolidated fee schedule ($48.36 standard, $24.18 limited-duration, $27.00 portable), substantially lower than Boise's published fee for the same type of routine on-premise sign permit.

Non-Residential Impact Fees (Fire, Police, Parks)

An impact fee for new non-residential construction, as published in the City's consolidated fee schedule (Impact Fees, Resolution No. 22-2004), which states its 'Commercial' category's membership explicitly. A new restaurant, coffee shop, or stand-alone/shopping-center retail store pays the higher 'Commercial' rate; a new childcare centre, fitness studio, salon, auto repair shop, veterinary clinic, or contractor's building pays the lower 'All Other' rate. The same schedule sets the Parks Impact Nonresidential (Commercial) rate at $0.00 per square foot (Resolution No. 19-1827), unlike its Fire and Police impact fees.

Certificate of Zoning Compliance (CZC)

The Planning Division's own FAQ page states this plainly: 'if you are constructing a new building, exterior alterations and/or the establishment of a new use, you must submit an application for a Certificate of Zoning Compliance (CZC) prior to obtaining a building permit.' As part of the application, a site/landscape plan conforming to the Unified Development Code must be submitted for staff review of parking, landscaping, setbacks, and lot area.

Zoning Verification Letter

A genuine, confirmed flat fee read directly from the City's own live, current fee-schedule database, priced separately from and below the fuller Certificate of Zoning Compliance recorded above — this simpler letter confirms a property's zoning designation and allowed-use status without constituting a full compliance review.

Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Fees

The 30% fire code plan review and the $150-plus-$4.25-per-device sprinkler/alarm plan review apply broadly to any commercial tenant improvement or new construction with fire protection systems, across the industries listed here. The $125 Commercial Hood Extinguishing System inspection is the specific, real line item a restaurant, coffee shop, or food-truck commissary kitchen pays for its range-hood suppression system, confirmed directly from the City's own live, current fee-schedule database.

General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)

There is no fee for a general Meridian business license: the City Clerk's own page states: 'While the City of Meridian does not require a general business license, some types of activities require a license or permit.' That page's list of what the Clerk issues runs to eight categories (Alcohol Catering Permit, Alcohol Licenses, Mobile Sales Unit License, Temporary Use Permits, Vehicle Immobilization License, Fireworks, Pawnbroker & Precious Metal Dealer Licenses, Dog Licensing) — none of which reaches a plain restaurant, retail store, salon, fitness studio, veterinary clinic, contractor's office, or auto repair shop that serves no alcohol and runs no mobile vending cart.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Meridian - City Fees Schedule — the City's own live, current consolidated fee database covering Building, Planning, Fire, Public Works, and City Clerk fees by resolution number, including the $59.82 current Mobile Food Vendor Inspection fee, the building permit formula, and all Planning Division feesCity of Meridian · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. General Information & FAQ — the Planning Division's own page describing the Certificate of Zoning Compliance, Conditional Use Permit (UDC 11-5B-6), Sign Permit (UDC 11-3D-8), and home daycare/home occupation Accessory Use thresholds (UDC 11-4-3.9, 11-4-3.21)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. License and Permit Applications — the City Clerk's own page stating 'the City of Meridian does not require a general business license' and listing its complete eight-category license listCity of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11

Who issues business permits in Meridian?

Permitting in Meridian is split across 5 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Meridian issuing agencies

Other Idaho jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.