14 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Nampa?
In short
A childcare centre in Nampa, ID has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department charges $100 one-time, per application for the home occupation - daycare accessory permit. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Nampa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Occupation - Daycare Accessory Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department | $100 one-time, per application | one-time, per application | 2026-09-11 |
| Residential Access & Water Supply Permit (in-home daycare)only if it applies to you | Nampa Fire Protection District, Prevention Bureau | $200 one-time, per application | one-time, per home daycare application — not stated explicitly in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Conditional Use Permit (CUP)only if it applies to you | City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department | $350 one-time, per application | one-time, per project — a 6-8 week Planning & Zoning Commission hearing process, plus a 15-day appeal period after decision | 2026-09-11 |
| Day Care Inspection Fee (Nampa Fire Protection District) | Nampa Fire Protection District, Prevention Bureau | $25 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule — charged per inspection tied to the State's own licensing cycle rather than a fixed District renewal date | 2026-09-11 |
| Child Care Licenseonly if it applies to you | Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health | $100–$325 a year, banded by capacity — and not required at all below seven children | 2 years | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Nampa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Nampa, Building Safety Department | Varies — formula on the Nampa page | one-time, per project — permits expire 180 days after inactivity, per the Building Safety Department's own FAQ | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Feesonly if it applies to you | Nampa Fire Protection District, Prevention Bureau | Varies — formula on the Nampa page | one-time, per installation | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Nampa page | permits expire 180 days from issuance or the date of the last inspection, per the City's own Sign Permit Guide | 2026-09-11 |
| Non-Residential Development Impact Fees (Parks, Police, Fire, Streets) | City of Nampa, Building Safety Department | Varies — formula on the Nampa page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business License — City of Nampa Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ID registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is free | annual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Nampa?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a childcare centre in Nampa, ID, 3 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $25.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Child Care License: $100–$325 a year, banded by capacity — and not required at all below seven children
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Nampa permits page and the ID state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Nampa?
Permits for a childcare centre in Nampa, ID come from 6 separate offices: City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department, City of Nampa, Building Safety Department, Nampa Fire Protection District, Prevention Bureau, City of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Home Occupation - Daycare Accessory Permit, Sign Permit, Conditional Use Permit (CUP)500 12th Ave S, Nampa, ID 83651 · (208) 468-4430www.cityofnampa.us/255/Planning-Zoning
- City of Nampa, Building Safety DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy, Non-Residential Development Impact Fees (Parks, Police, Fire, Streets)500 12th Ave S, Nampa, ID 83651 · (208) 468-5435www.cityofnampa.us/163/Building-Safety-Code
- Nampa Fire Protection District, Prevention BureauIssues 3 permits on this page: Residential Access & Water Supply Permit (in-home daycare), Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Fees, Day Care Inspection Fee (Nampa Fire Protection District)9 12th Ave S, Nampa, ID 83651 · (208) 468-5151nampafire.org
- City of Nampa, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — City of Nampa Position411 3rd St. S., Nampa, ID 83651 · (208) 468-5415www.cityofnampa.us/143/City-Clerk
- Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business License — Idaho state position, Annual Report450 North 4th Street, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 334-2301sos.idaho.gov/business-forms
- Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensehealthandwelfare.idaho.gov/providers/child-care-providers/becoming-child-care-provider
What does a childcare centre need in Nampa that other businesses do not?
4 of the 5 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Nampa: Home Occupation - Daycare Accessory Permit, Residential Access & Water Supply Permit (in-home daycare), Day Care Inspection Fee (Nampa Fire Protection District) and Child Care License.
Home Occupation - Daycare Accessory Permit
A distinct, separately-listed accessory-use application type ('Home Occupation - Daycare') from the generic Home Occupation permit recorded above, priced identically at $100.00 on the City's own current Planning & Zoning Fee Schedule under the line item 'Daycare.' This local zoning permit is layered on top of, and distinct from, Idaho's own State Child Care License recorded at the state layer and the separate Nampa Fire Protection District fees recorded below.
Residential Access & Water Supply Permit (in-home daycare)
A District-specific fee listed under the Nampa Fire Protection District's own 'Residential & In Home Daycare Permits' heading at $200.00 — verifying fire apparatus access and adequate water supply for a residential property being used as a licensed in-home daycare. This sits alongside, not instead of, the $25.00 Day Care Inspection fee and the City's own $100.00 Home Occupation - Daycare zoning permit, both recorded as separate entries.
Day Care Inspection Fee (Nampa Fire Protection District)
Required for both home and outside-the-home childcare facilities as part of Idaho's own State licensing process. The District's own current fee schedule lists this figure twice, independently, in two different sections of the same document ($25.00 under 'Commercial Business Applications' and again under 'Residential & In Home Daycare Permits'), confirming it applies regardless of whether the daycare operates from a home or a standalone facility.
Child Care License
Idaho draws this line more sharply than most states: care for six children or fewer needs no state license at all, and may be registered voluntarily if the provider chooses, at $100. Cross to seven and licensing becomes mandatory as a group daycare facility, at $100 a year; cross to thirteen and it becomes a daycare centre, $250 a year up to twenty-five children or $325 for twenty-six or more. Every licensed category renews on a two-year cycle. A separate, narrower rule catches even unlicensed providers: any family daycare home caring for four or more children must complete a criminal history background check regardless of whether a license is required at all. Operating a group facility or centre above the threshold without a license is a misdemeanour.
Shared with other businesses in Nampa
- Conditional Use Permit (CUP) — City of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department, $350 one-time, per application, one-time, per project — a 6-8 week Planning & Zoning Commission hearing process, plus a 15-day appeal period after decision. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, restaurants, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Nampa, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Nampa permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Nampa?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Home Occupation - Daycare Accessory Permit, Residential Access & Water Supply Permit (in-home daycare), Day Care Inspection Fee (Nampa Fire Protection District) and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found) and Automotive Repair Shop License — Idaho state position, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 4 | 4 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Nampa permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Planning & Zoning Fee Schedule — the Department's own current fee table for Conditional Use Permits ($350), Temporary Use Permits ($50/$75), Home Occupation and Home Occupation-Daycare accessory permits ($100 each), and other public-hearing and non-hearing applicationsCity of Nampa, Planning & Zoning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Permits & Applications Fee Schedule — the Nampa Fire Protection District Prevention Bureau's own complete current fee table, including the $45 Mobile Food Truck Permit, $175 Cooking Hood Extinguishing System Permit, $120/$85 Places of Assembly fee, $25 Day Care Inspection, and $200 Residential Access & Water Supply PermitNampa Fire Protection District, Prevention Bureau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- IDAPA 16.06.02 — standards for daycare licensing, the seven-child and thirteen-child thresholdsIdaho Department of Health and Welfare · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
