10 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Boise City?
In short
A childcare centre in Boise City, ID has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division charges $140 per inspection for the child care facility fire inspection fee. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child Care Facility Fire Inspection Fee | City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | $140 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule — charged per inspection tied to the State's own licensing cycle rather than a fixed City renewal date | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business License (no single universal licence issued by the City of Boise)only if it applies to you | City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | $110.25 per application | one-time, per request — staff-level review generally takes one to two months | 2026-09-11 |
| Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | Banded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition. | one-time, per project — Planning & Zoning Commission review generally takes six or more months | 2026-09-11 |
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | Table No. 1-A of the Boise City Building Code Fee Schedule, banded by project valuation: $1-$2,000 = $26.37 for the first $500 plus $2.95 for each additional $100 or fraction; $2,001-$25,000 = $70.76 for the first $2,000 plus $12.71 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $25,001-$50,000 = $362.80 for the first $25,000 plus $9.30 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $50,001-$100,000 = $595.30 for the first $50,000 plus $6.35 per additional $1,000 or fraction; over $100,000 = $913.09 for the first $100,000 plus $5.17 per additional $1,000 or fraction. Commercial plan review is a further 65% of the building permit fee. Where no other construction is underway, establishing a certificate of occupancy alone costs a flat $175.00. New non-residential construction separately triggers a citywide impact fee per 1,000 sq ft of new floor area, effective October 1, 2025: Retail $4,968.32, Office $1,197.04, Industrial $266.01, plus a 1% surcharge on the assessed impact fees. | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Idaho)only if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is free | annual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month | 2026-09-04 |
| Child Care Licenceonly if it applies to you | Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health | $100–$325 a year, banded by capacity — and not required at all below seven children | 2 years | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Boise City?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a childcare centre in Boise City, ID, 2 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $140.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Conditional Use Permit: Banded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition.
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy: Table No. 1-A of the Boise City Building Code Fee Schedule, banded by project valuation: $1-$2,000 = $26.37 for the first $500 plus $2.95 for each additional $100 or fraction; $2,001-$25,000 = $70.76 for the first $2,000 plus $12.71 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $25,001-$50,000 = $362.80 for the first $25,000 plus $9.30 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $50,001-$100,000 = $595.30 for the first $50,000 plus $6.35 per additional $1,000 or fraction; over $100,000 = $913.09 for the first $100,000 plus $5.17 per additional $1,000 or fraction. Commercial plan review is a further 65% of the building permit fee. Where no other construction is underway, establishing a certificate of occupancy alone costs a flat $175.00. New non-residential construction separately triggers a citywide impact fee per 1,000 sq ft of new floor area, effective October 1, 2025: Retail $4,968.32, Office $1,197.04, Industrial $266.01, plus a 1% surcharge on the assessed impact fees.
Child Care Licence: $100–$325 a year, banded by capacity — and not required at all below seven children
Which offices issue these permits in Boise City?
Permits for a childcare centre in Boise City, ID come from 5 separate offices: City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Facility Fire Inspection Fee(208) 570-6559www.cityofboise.org/departments/fire/fire-prevention
- City of Boise, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License (no single universal licence issued by the City of Boise)150 N Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 972-8150www.cityofboise.org/departments/city-clerk
- City of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesIssues 3 permits on this page: Zoning Certificate, Conditional Use Permit, Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy150 N Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 608-7100www.cityofboise.org/departments/planning-and-development-services
- Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business Licence (not required by Idaho), Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report450 North 4th Street, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 334-2301sos.idaho.gov/business-forms
- Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licencehealthandwelfare.idaho.gov/providers/child-care-providers/becoming-child-care-provider
Is anything about these requirements changing?
The Planning Division's own child daycare requirements page confirms Boise Fire requires an inspection and fee, for both in-home and outside-the-home childcare facilities, as part of Idaho's own State licensing process — a genuine, confirmed local fire-safety layer on top of Idaho's own Child Care Licence recorded at the state layer. This project reads the fee at $140.00, from Boise Fire's own current 'Inspections Required by Other Agencies' fee-schedule line (effective October 1, 2024) — the same named application the childcare-specific page itself points to. A separate web search's own AI-generated summary of what it described as the same underlying page instead produced an $80.00 figure that this project's own direct reading of the City's current page text could not corroborate anywhere; that lower figure is disclosed here rather than silently discarded, but the $140.00 figure from the City's own dated, current fee schedule is the one used as this record's fee.
No fee applies to a universal Boise business licence, because none exists. The City Clerk's own licensing structure organizes every licence Boise issues into five categories — Animal, Food & Beverage, Security Services, Vehicles/Business Drivers, and Vendor/Other — and none of them is a catch-all licence for simply operating a business. A retail store, salon, fitness studio, veterinary clinic, contractor's office, or auto repair shop that serves no alcohol, gathers no crowd over 50 people, runs no mobile vending cart, and installs no private security alarm needs no City Clerk licence at all. Idaho Code sections 50-301 and 50-307 give Boise the legal authority to license trades and businesses generally, but Boise's own Title 3 uses that authority only for the specific, named activities recorded elsewhere in this file (food and beverage service, mobile vending, large-occupancy assembly, and similar).
An administrative, staff-level land-use compliance review, reviewed against the Zoning Code's own allowed-use standards for uses the City's own page names by example — including 'neighborhood cafes,' cottage villages, trade schools, storage uses, duplex/triplex/fourplex conversions, certain demolitions, and a standalone child daycare facility caring for 7 or more children outside a home. A home daycare caring for 7 to 12 children instead needs only a lighter 'Zoning Compliance Review' under the Planning Division's own child daycare requirements page, which does not itself publish a separate dollar figure for that specific step — not published in the document this project could retrieve, so it is disclosed here rather than assumed to match this $110.25 figure. Where a zoning district does not list daycare (or another proposed use) as an outright allowed use, the fuller Conditional Use Permit recorded separately below applies instead.
Required whenever a proposed use is classified as a conditional (rather than outright allowed) use in its zoning district — a real possibility for a standalone child daycare facility, an auto repair shop, or a veterinary clinic depending on the specific district, per the City's own Table of Allowed Uses. This is a substantially larger fee and a substantially longer review process than the administrative Zoning Certificate recorded above, and applies only when the district-specific use table requires it rather than to every business in these industries.
A genuine, confirmed valuation-based fee table dated October 2021 on its own face, the version on file at the time of this project's research (Planning and Development Services' own fees page confirms the current schedule is 'kept on file' there rather than reprinted on the page itself). The standalone $175.00 certificate-of-occupancy fee applies only when no other construction beyond minor electrical, plumbing, or mechanical trade-permit work is underway; a full building permit's own plan review and inspection otherwise establishes occupancy as part of that same process. New non-residential construction also triggers the City's own per-1,000-sq-ft impact fee (Retail/Office/Industrial), a real, confirmed, separate charge from the building permit fee itself — this project could not find a published document mapping each of this project's ten industries onto one of those three land-use categories, so a business owner should confirm the applicable category directly with Planning and Development Services before budgeting for new construction.
No fee, and Idaho's own small-business portal says so in as many words: Idaho does not have a state business licence, and registering an entity with the Secretary of State is a registration rather than a licence. City-level licensing varies widely, and many Idaho cities require none at all.
A hundred dollars online against $120 on paper — the paper fee is really the online base plus a $20 manual-processing surcharge, and a paper form must additionally be typed rather than handwritten. A corporation costs the identical amount either way.
The same $100 online, $120 on paper as an LLC. Expedited service adds $40 on top of either channel, and same-day service adds $100.
Filing this online costs nothing at all; the only version that carries a fee is a paper filing accepted in person at the Boise office, priced at the same $20 manual-processing charge that applies across the Secretary of State's other paper filings. The due date tracks each entity's own formation anniversary rather than one shared calendar date. Missing it triggers a notice of intent to dissolve, and the entity then has sixty days to cure before administrative dissolution follows; reinstatement remains possible for up to ten years after that.
Idaho draws this line more sharply than most states: care for six children or fewer needs no state licence at all, and may be registered voluntarily if the provider chooses, at $100. Cross to seven and licensing becomes mandatory as a group daycare facility, at $100 a year; cross to thirteen and it becomes a daycare centre, $250 a year up to twenty-five children or $325 for twenty-six or more. Every licensed category renews on a two-year cycle. A separate, narrower rule catches even unlicensed providers: any family daycare home caring for four or more children must complete a criminal history background check regardless of whether a licence is required at all. Operating a group facility or centre above the threshold without a licence is a misdemeanour.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fire Permits and Service Fees (effective October 1, 2024, FY2025) — the complete current fire permit fee table, including Mobile Food Preparation Vehicles Permit $45.00, Places of Assembly Permit $180.00, Repair Garages and Motor Fuel-Dispensing Permit $140.00, and Inspections Required by Other Agencies $140.00City of Boise Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Requirements for Child Daycare — zoning thresholds for home daycare (Zoning Compliance Review, 7-12 children) versus outside-the-home facilities (Zoning Certificate or Conditional Use Permit, 7+ children), plus a required Fire Department inspectionCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Licensing — the City Clerk's own overview of Boise's five licence categories (Animal, Food and Alcohol Beverage, Security Services, Vehicle Licensing, Other)City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Boise City Licensing Fees — the City Clerk's own current, complete fee table for every licence category, including Eating and Drinking Licence $42.00, Assembly Licence $180.00, Sidewalk Cafe Licence $116.75, Vendor Licence $141.00/$70.75, Temporary Merchant Licence $66.50, and Special Event Permit $237.00City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Planning Division Application Fee Schedule (effective October 1, 2022) — Zoning Certificate/Sign Permit/Home Occupation $110.25, Zoning Verification/Information Letter $44.10, Conditional Use Permit banded by acreage ($908.25-$3,585.75), and related planning feesCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Boise City Building Code Fee Schedule (October 2021) — Table No. 1-A valuation-based building permit fee table, the 65% commercial plan review surcharge, the standalone $175 certificate-of-occupancy fee, and the joint Planning/Fire Fire Sprinkler and Alternative Extinguishing Systems Plan Review and Inspection Permit Fee ($175 base plus $4.85 per head, capped at $4,000)City of Boise, Planning and Development Services / Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Boise City Impact Fee Schedule effective October 1, 2025 — non-residential impact fees per 1,000 sq ft by land-use category (Retail $4,968.32, Office $1,197.04, Industrial $266.01), plus a 1% capital-improvement-plan surchargeCity of Boise · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Idaho small business portal — stating outright that Idaho has no state business licenceState of Idaho · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Idaho Secretary of State — LLC certificate of organization form and feeIdaho Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Idaho Secretary of State — articles of incorporation form and feeIdaho Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Idaho Secretary of State — SOSBiz filing portal, free annual reports filed onlineIdaho Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- IDAPA 16.06.02 — standards for daycare licensing, the seven-child and thirteen-child thresholdsIdaho Department of Health and Welfare · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
- All permits in Boise City
- Childcare centres — national overview
- Childcare centres in Fort Worth, TX
- Childcare centres in Grand Prairie, TX
- Childcare centres in Arlington, TX
- Childcare centres in San Antonio, TX
- Childcare centres in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Boise City
- Coffee shops in Boise City
- Contractors and trades in Boise City
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
