12 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Meridian?
In short
A food truck in Meridian, ID has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division charges $59.82 annual for the mobile food vendor inspection (meridian fire). 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Meridian
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile Food Vendor Inspection (Meridian Fire) | City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | $59.82 annual | annual — the regional joint-inspection program runs each calendar year from January 1 to December 31 | 2026-09-11 |
| Mobile Sales Unit License (Vendor)only if it applies to you | City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk | $73.25 one-time application fee | not stated in the City Clerk's published Mobile Sales Unit application materials; contact the City Clerk's Office for the renewal cycle | 2026-09-11 |
| Mobile Food Establishment License (Central District Health) | Central District Health | $80–$100 annual — $80.00 with a licensed or no commissary, $100.00 with an unlicensed commissary, plus a one-time $100.00 plan review fee | annual — every Idaho food license expires December 31, with renewal due by December 1 | 2026-09-11 |
| Food Establishment License | Central District Health | $200–$250 a year, set by whichever of seven independent health districts covers the address | annual — every food license in Idaho expires 31 December, with renewal due by 1 December | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Safety Exam or Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Food Protection Program | No fee | 5 years for the state exam certificate | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Meridian
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Feesonly if it applies to you | City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the Meridian page | one-time for plan review; the $125 hood-suppression inspection is periodic, cycle not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)only if it applies to you | City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ID registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Seller's Permit | Idaho State Tax Commission | No fee | no fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is free | annual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Meridian?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a food truck in Meridian, ID, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $59.82. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Mobile Food Establishment License (Central District Health): $80–$100 annual — $80.00 with a licensed or no commissary, $100.00 with an unlicensed commissary, plus a one-time $100.00 plan review fee
Food Establishment License: $200–$250 a year, set by whichever of seven independent health districts covers the address
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Meridian?
Permits for a food truck in Meridian, ID come from 6 separate offices: City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk, Central District Health, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Food Protection Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Mobile Food Vendor Inspection (Meridian Fire), Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Fees(208) 888-1234meridiancity.org/fire/prevention-and-permits
- City of Meridian, Office of the City ClerkIssues 2 permits on this page: Mobile Sales Unit License (Vendor), General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)33 E. Broadway Ave., Meridian, ID 83642 · (208) 888-4433meridiancity.org/city-clerk
- Central District HealthIssues 2 permits on this page: Mobile Food Establishment License (Central District Health), Food Establishment License707 North Armstrong Place, Boise, ID 83704 · (208) 327-7499cdh.idaho.gov/community-health/food-establishments
- Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business License — Idaho state position, Annual Report450 North 4th Street, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 334-2301sos.idaho.gov/business-forms
- Idaho State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permit(208) 334-7633tax.idaho.gov/taxes/sales-use/permits
- Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Food Protection ProgramIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Safety Exam or Certified Food Protection Manager450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 334-4994healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/community-health/food-safety
What does a food truck need in Meridian that other businesses do not?
3 of the 5 permits particular to a food truck here apply to no other business type we cover in Meridian: Mobile Food Vendor Inspection (Meridian Fire), Mobile Sales Unit License (Vendor) and Mobile Food Establishment License (Central District Health).
Mobile Food Vendor Inspection (Meridian Fire)
Meridian's own live, current fee-schedule database prices a 'Mobile Food Vendor Inspection' line — described in the schedule's own words as required annually of 'any mobile food vendors that cook' — at $59.82 (Resolution No. 25-2546), and that is the figure recorded here. A separate, older regional document, the Southern Idaho Fire Departments' joint Mobile Food Preparation Vehicle Checklist (dated April 2025 and covering Meridian, Boise, and two dozen other partner departments), describes a single joint-program inspection fee of $45 'no matter what city you are in.' That $45 figure is disclosed here rather than silently discarded, but it is now superseded by the current $59.82 figure recorded above, read directly from Meridian's own live, current fee database. This inspection covers vehicles with cooking equipment producing smoke or grease-laden vapors and sits alongside, not instead of, Central District Health's own Mobile Food Establishment permit recorded separately above.
Mobile Sales Unit License (Vendor)
The City Clerk's own current Mobile Sales Unit (Vendor) application — dated 'Updated 2/26' — states its own fee in its own checklist: 'Application fee - $73.25.' The Temporary Use Permits FAQ page confirms this license's scope in its own words: a mobile sales unit is 'a person or vehicle that travels or goes door-to-door in order to sell something. This includes ice cream trucks, roving food carts, and mobile food venders.' Applicants undergo a criminal background check and are fingerprinted at the City Clerk's Office, must carry general liability insurance naming the City as additional insured ($500,000 per-person and per-occurrence bodily injury, $100,000 property damage), and — where the operation involves cooking — must also obtain a Meridian Fire Department food truck inspection and Central District Health approval, both recorded separately below.
Mobile Food Establishment License (Central District Health)
The real health-safety permit for a Meridian food truck, distinct from both the City Clerk's own Mobile Sales Unit (Vendor) License (a vending-activity product, recorded above) and Meridian Fire's own Mobile Food Vendor Inspection (recorded separately below). A food truck operator typically needs all three.
Food Establishment License
There is no single state fee, because Idaho's food code delegates issuing and pricing food licenses to seven independent public health districts covering the whole state between them. What is genuinely uniform is the calendar: state rule fixes every food establishment license in Idaho to expire on 31 December, regardless of which district issued it, with the renewal application and fee due by 1 December for the year ahead. Two verified examples show how similar, though not identical, the districts' own numbers run: Central District Health, covering Ada, Boise, Elmore and Valley counties, charges $200 for most establishments and $250 for one with more than two licenses on a single site, plus a $100 plan review fee for a new application; Panhandle Health District, covering the five northernmost counties, charges the same $200 base and $250 multi-license figure. A mobile food unit runs $80 to $100 depending on whether its commissary is licensed, and a temporary event is $35 to $80 by duration. Confirm the specific district's own schedule rather than assuming these two examples apply everywhere.
Food Safety Exam or Certified Food Protection Manager
No fee, because Idaho runs its own food safety exam and gives it away free through the health department's own portal — a genuine alternative to paying a private accredited provider. The rule gives the person in charge three separate ways to satisfy the knowledge requirement: having no priority violations at the time of inspection, completing the state's free exam or an equivalent course, or holding a certified food protection manager credential from an accredited private programme. Only the person in charge needs to satisfy one of these three, not every employee, and the state exam certificate is valid for five years once earned.
The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Meridian, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Meridian permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Meridian?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Vendor Inspection (Meridian Fire), Mobile Sales Unit License (Vendor) and Mobile Food Establishment License (Central District Health). A coffee shop needs Food Establishment License (Central District Health), which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Meridian - City Fees Schedule — the City's own live, current consolidated fee database covering Building, Planning, Fire, Public Works, and City Clerk fees by resolution number, including the $59.82 current Mobile Food Vendor Inspection fee, the building permit formula, and all Planning Division feesCity of Meridian · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Southern Idaho Fire Departments Mobile Food Preparation Vehicle Checklist (updated April 23, 2025) — the joint regional inspection program covering Meridian, Boise, and two dozen other Idaho fire departments/districts, describing an (older, since superseded) $45 single-inspection feeSouthern Idaho Fire Departments (hosted by City of Meridian Fire Department) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Mobile Sales Unit License (Vendor) Application (Updated 2/26) — the City Clerk's own current application, stating the $73.25 application fee and full requirements checklistCity of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Temporary Use Permits — the City Clerk's own FAQ page defining a Mobile Sales Unit as including 'ice cream trucks, roving food carts, and mobile food venders'City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Mobile Sales Unit License — the City Clerk's own page describing the Door to Door Sales and Mobile Vendor application types and required documentationCity of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Central District Health — food establishment fee scheduleCentral District Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Panhandle Health District — environmental health fee schedulePanhandle Health District · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- IDAPA 16.02.19 — the Idaho Food Code, the seven-district delegation and the statewide 31 December expiryIdaho Department of Health and Welfare · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
