Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Meridian?

In short

A fitness studio in Meridian, ID has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division charges $120.89 per letter for the zoning verification letter. 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit (CUP)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$602.63 for a minor modification to an existing Conditional Use Permit, or $1,338.95 for a full or Commission-level Conditional Use Permit application.one-time, per project — the public hearing process takes approximately three months from start to finish2026-09-11
Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupationonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$120.89 for a standard Home Occupation Accessory Use Permit, rising to $169.24 where the home occupation includes provision of lessons or instruction to a group of 7 or more students at a time.one-time, per application — administrative staff-level review, typically about three weeks2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Non-Residential Impact Fees (Fire, Police, Parks)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project2026-09-11
Certificate of Zoning Compliance (CZC)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project — administrative-level staff review2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$120.89 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Feesonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time for plan review; the $125 hood-suppression inspection is periodic, cycle not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ID registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Seller's PermitIdaho State Tax CommissionNo feeno fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is freeannual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Meridian?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a fitness studio in Meridian, ID, 4 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Conditional Use Permit (CUP): $602.63 for a minor modification to an existing Conditional Use Permit, or $1,338.95 for a full or Commission-level Conditional Use Permit application.

Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupation: $120.89 for a standard Home Occupation Accessory Use Permit, rising to $169.24 where the home occupation includes provision of lessons or instruction to a group of 7 or more students at a time.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Meridian?

Permits for a fitness studio in Meridian, ID come from 6 separate offices: City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services Division, City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Meridian that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Meridian

  • Conditional Use Permit (CUP) — City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, $602.63 for a minor modification to an existing Conditional Use Permit, or $1,338.95 for a full or Commission-level Conditional Use Permit application., one-time, per project — the public hearing process takes approximately three months from start to finish. Also required for childcare centres, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupation — City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, $120.89 for a standard Home Occupation Accessory Use Permit, rising to $169.24 where the home occupation includes provision of lessons or instruction to a group of 7 or more students at a time., one-time, per application — administrative staff-level review, typically about three weeks. Also required for salons and barbers, contractors and trades and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Meridian, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Meridian permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Meridian?

A fitness studio and a retail store in Meridian, ID need exactly the same 2 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Meridian, ID, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2200
Auto repair shops3112
Salons and barbers3112
Veterinary clinics3112
Childcare centres4113
Restaurants4113
Contractors and trades6115
Coffee shops3023
Food trucks5025

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.