Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Meridian?

In short

A salon or barber in Meridian, ID has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division charges $120.89 per letter for the zoning verification letter. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupationonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$120.89 for a standard Home Occupation Accessory Use Permit, rising to $169.24 where the home occupation includes provision of lessons or instruction to a group of 7 or more students at a time.one-time, per application — administrative staff-level review, typically about three weeks2026-09-11
Barber or Cosmetology Establishment LicenseIdaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses$50 to open, effective from 1 July 2026; renewal is $25 a year or $50 for a two-year cyclethe board is transitioning licensees from an annual to a biennial cycle through 2027 and 20282026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Meridian

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Non-Residential Impact Fees (Fire, Police, Parks)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project2026-09-11
Certificate of Zoning Compliance (CZC)City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time, per project — administrative-level staff review2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division$120.89 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Fire Sprinkler, Alarm & Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Feesonly if it applies to youCity of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Meridian pageone-time for plan review; the $125 hood-suppression inspection is periodic, cycle not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Meridian position (activity licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Meridian, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ID registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Seller's PermitIdaho State Tax CommissionNo feeno fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is freeannual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Meridian?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Meridian, ID, 5 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupation: $120.89 for a standard Home Occupation Accessory Use Permit, rising to $169.24 where the home occupation includes provision of lessons or instruction to a group of 7 or more students at a time.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Meridian?

Permits for a salon or barber in Meridian, ID come from 7 separate offices: City of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk, City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Building Services Division, City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, City of Meridian Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission, Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Meridian that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Meridian: Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found) and Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License.

Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found)

No fee applies. The City Clerk's own complete license-category list (Alcohol Catering, Alcohol, Mobile Sales Unit, Temporary Use, Vehicle Immobilization, Fireworks, Pawnbroker & Precious Metal Dealer, Dog Licensing) has no salon- or barbershop-specific product anywhere in it, and neither does the City's own live fee-schedule database. Idaho's own DOPL Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License, recorded at the state layer, remains the real trade-specific credential for this industry.

Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License

A fee change took effect on 1 July 2026, weeks before this record was verified: the establishment license rose to $50 to open, with renewal priced at $25 a year or $50 across a two-year cycle as the board migrates licensees onto biennial renewal by birth year through 2027 and 2028. The board's own older application form still quotes a flat $45 tied to an individual anniversary date and has not yet been updated to match — treat the $50/$25/$50 figures as current and the $45 figure as superseded, and confirm directly with the board which cycle a specific license has moved to.

Shared with other businesses in Meridian

  • Accessory Use Permit — Home Occupation — City of Meridian, Community Development Department, Planning Division, $120.89 for a standard Home Occupation Accessory Use Permit, rising to $169.24 where the home occupation includes provision of lessons or instruction to a group of 7 or more students at a time., one-time, per application — administrative staff-level review, typically about three weeks. Also required for fitness studios, contractors and trades and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Meridian, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Meridian permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Meridian?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found) and Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License. A fitness studio needs Conditional Use Permit (CUP), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Meridian, ID, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Retail stores2121
Contractors and trades6125
Auto repair shops3033
Childcare centres4034
Coffee shops3033
Food trucks5035
Restaurants4034
Veterinary clinics3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Meridian permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. License and Permit Applications — the City Clerk's own page stating 'the City of Meridian does not require a general business license' and listing its complete eight-category license listCity of Meridian, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Idaho DOPL — fee and licensure cycle changes effective 1 July 2026, including cosmetology establishment feesIdaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.