Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Boise City?

In short

A salon or barber in Boise City, ID has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Boise, Planning and Development Services charges $44.10 per letter for the zoning verification / information letter. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Boise City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found)only if it applies to youCity of Boise, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Barber or Cosmetology Establishment LicenseIdaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses$50 to open, effective from 1 July 2026; renewal is $25 a year or $50 for a two-year cyclethe board is transitioning licensees from an annual to a biennial cycle through 2027 and 20282026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Boise City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Verification / Information Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$44.10 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Boise City pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$110.25 per applicationone-time, per request — staff-level review generally takes one to two months2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Boise Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ID registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Seller's PermitIdaho State Tax CommissionNo feeno fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is freeannual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Boise City?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a salon or barber in Boise City, ID, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Boise City permits page and the ID state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Boise City?

Permits for a salon or barber in Boise City, ID come from 5 separate offices: City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission, Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Boise City that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Boise City: Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found) and Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License.

Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found)

No fee applies. The City Clerk's own complete license-category list (Animal, Food & Beverage, Security Services, Vehicles/Business Drivers, Vendor/Other) contains no salon- or barbershop-specific municipal product, beyond the general building, zoning, and sign requirements recorded elsewhere in this file. Idaho's own DOPL Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License, recorded at the state layer, remains the real trade-specific credential for this industry.

Sign Permit

A genuine, confirmed fee directly from the Planning Division's own current application fee schedule. Most on-premise signs for a restaurant, retail store, salon, fitness studio, auto repair shop, or veterinary clinic are handled at the $110.25 administrative level; a comprehensive multi-sign program for a larger development or shopping center is priced separately and substantially higher.

Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License

A fee change took effect on 1 July 2026, weeks before this record was verified: the establishment license rose to $50 to open, with renewal priced at $25 a year or $50 across a two-year cycle as the board migrates licensees onto biennial renewal by birth year through 2027 and 2028. The board's own older application form still quotes a flat $45 tied to an individual anniversary date and has not yet been updated to match — treat the $50/$25/$50 figures as current and the $45 figure as superseded, and confirm directly with the board which cycle a specific license has moved to.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Boise City, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Boise City permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Boise City?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found) and Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License. A fitness studio needs Conditional Use Permit and Assembly License (Places of Assembly Permit), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Boise City, ID, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios3122
Retail stores3122
Auto repair shops4123
Veterinary clinics4123
Coffee shops7126
Restaurants8127
Childcare centres3033
Contractors and trades5035
Food trucks6036

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Boise City permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Boise City Licensing Fee Schedule — the City Clerk's fee table for every license categoryCity of Boise, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Planning Division Application Fee Schedule (effective October 1, 2022) — Zoning Certificate/Sign Permit/Home Occupation $110.25, Zoning Verification/Information Letter $44.10, Conditional Use Permit banded by acreage ($908.25-$3,585.75), and related planning feesCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Idaho DOPL — fee and licensure cycle changes effective 1 July 2026, including cosmetology establishment feesIdaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.