Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Boise City?

In short

A coffee shop in Boise City, ID has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Boise, Planning and Development Services charges $44.10 per letter for the zoning verification / information letter. 5 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Boise City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Sprinkler / Alternative Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression)only if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesA base plan review and inspection permit fee of $175.00, plus $4.85 for each fire sprinkler head or appliance nozzle (the wet-chemical range-hood system counting as an 'Alternative Extinguishing System' under this same fee), capped at a maximum of $4,000.00 per permit.one-time, per installation2026-09-11
Assembly License (Places of Assembly Permit)only if it applies to youCity of Boise, Office of the City Clerk$100 annualannual2026-09-11
Food and Beverage License (Eating and Drinking License)City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk$84 annualannual2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Food Establishment License (Central District Health)Central District Health$200–$250 annual — $200.00 for most permanent establishments, $250.00 for one with more than two licenses on a single premises, plus a one-time $100.00 plan review fee for a new applicationannual — every Idaho food license expires December 31, with renewal due by December 12026-09-11
Food Establishment LicenseCentral District Health$200–$250 a year, set by whichever of seven independent health districts covers the addressannual — every food license in Idaho expires 31 December, with renewal due by 1 December2026-09-04
Food Safety Exam or Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youIdaho Department of Health and Welfare, Food Protection ProgramNo fee5 years for the state exam certificate2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Boise City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Verification / Information Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$44.10 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Boise City pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$110.25 per applicationone-time, per request — staff-level review generally takes one to two months2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Boise Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ID registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Seller's PermitIdaho State Tax CommissionNo feeno fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is freeannual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Boise City?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a coffee shop in Boise City, ID, 5 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $84.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Sprinkler / Alternative Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression): A base plan review and inspection permit fee of $175.00, plus $4.85 for each fire sprinkler head or appliance nozzle (the wet-chemical range-hood system counting as an 'Alternative Extinguishing System' under this same fee), capped at a maximum of $4,000.00 per permit.

Sign Permit: $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.

Food Establishment License (Central District Health): $200–$250 annual — $200.00 for most permanent establishments, $250.00 for one with more than two licenses on a single premises, plus a one-time $100.00 plan review fee for a new application

Food Establishment License: $200–$250 a year, set by whichever of seven independent health districts covers the address

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Boise City permits page and the ID state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Boise City?

Permits for a coffee shop in Boise City, ID come from 6 separate offices: City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, Central District Health, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Food Protection Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Boise City that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Boise City

  • Fire Sprinkler / Alternative Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression) — City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, A base plan review and inspection permit fee of $175.00, plus $4.85 for each fire sprinkler head or appliance nozzle (the wet-chemical range-hood system counting as an 'Alternative Extinguishing System' under this same fee), capped at a maximum of $4,000.00 per permit., one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Assembly License (Places of Assembly Permit) — City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, $100 annual, annual. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Food and Beverage License (Eating and Drinking License) — City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, $84 annual, annual. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
  • Food Establishment License (Central District Health) — Central District Health, $200–$250 annual — $200.00 for most permanent establishments, $250.00 for one with more than two licenses on a single premises, plus a one-time $100.00 plan review fee for a new application, annual — every Idaho food license expires December 31, with renewal due by December 1. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Establishment License — Central District Health, $200–$250 a year, set by whichever of seven independent health districts covers the address, annual — every food license in Idaho expires 31 December, with renewal due by 1 December. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Safety Exam or Certified Food Protection Manager — Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Food Protection Program, No fee, 5 years for the state exam certificate. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Boise City, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Boise City permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Boise City?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 7 of these permits. A restaurant needs Conditional Use Permit, which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Boise City, ID, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants8701
Food trucks6343
Fitness studios3251
Retail stores3251
Salons and barbers3162
Auto repair shops4163
Veterinary clinics4163
Childcare centres3073
Contractors and trades5075

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, retail stores page, restaurants page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Boise City permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.