12 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Boise City?
In short
A fitness studio in Boise City, ID has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Boise, Planning and Development Services charges $44.10 per letter for the zoning verification / information letter. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Boise City
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | Banded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition. | one-time, per project — Planning & Zoning Commission review generally takes six or more months | 2026-09-11 |
| Assembly License (Places of Assembly Permit)only if it applies to you | City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk | $100 annual | annual | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Boise City
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Verification / Information Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | $44.10 per letter | one-time, per request | 2026-09-11 |
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Boise City page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Planning and Development Services | $110.25 per application | one-time, per request — staff-level review generally takes one to two months | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business License — City of Boise Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ID registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Seller's Permit | Idaho State Tax Commission | No fee | no fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $120 in person or by mail | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Idaho state positiononly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is free | annual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Boise City?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Boise City, ID, 2 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Conditional Use Permit: Banded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition.
Sign Permit: $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Boise City permits page and the ID state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Boise City?
Permits for a fitness studio in Boise City, ID come from 4 separate offices: City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesIssues 5 permits on this page, including Zoning Verification / Information Letter, Conditional Use Permit, Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy150 N Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 608-7100www.cityofboise.org/departments/planning-and-development-services
- City of Boise, Office of the City ClerkIssues 2 permits on this page: Assembly License (Places of Assembly Permit), General Business License — City of Boise Position150 N Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 972-8150www.cityofboise.org/departments/city-clerk
- Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business License — Idaho state position, Annual Report450 North 4th Street, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 334-2301sos.idaho.gov/business-forms
- Idaho State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permit(208) 334-7633tax.idaho.gov/taxes/sales-use/permits
What does a fitness studio need in Boise City that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Boise City
- Conditional Use Permit — City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, Banded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition., one-time, per project — Planning & Zoning Commission review generally takes six or more months. Also required for childcare centres, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Assembly License (Places of Assembly Permit) — City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, $100 annual, annual. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Sign Permit — City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Boise City, ID; what each one involves is set out on the Boise City permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ID and are covered on the ID state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Boise City?
A fitness studio and a retail store in Boise City, ID need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 2 | 1 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, retail stores page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Boise City permits page and the ID state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
