Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Boise City?

In short

A auto repair shop in Boise City, ID has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Boise, Planning and Development Services charges $110.25 per application for the zoning certificate. 3 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

The permits at a glance

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License (no single universal licence issued by the City of Boise)only if it applies to youCity of Boise, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$110.25 per applicationone-time, per request — staff-level review generally takes one to two months2026-09-11
Zoning Verification / Information Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$44.10 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesBanded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition.one-time, per project — Planning & Zoning Commission review generally takes six or more months2026-09-11
Repair Garage Permit (Boise Fire)City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division$140 per 3-year term3 years2026-09-11
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesTable No. 1-A of the Boise City Building Code Fee Schedule, banded by project valuation: $1-$2,000 = $26.37 for the first $500 plus $2.95 for each additional $100 or fraction; $2,001-$25,000 = $70.76 for the first $2,000 plus $12.71 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $25,001-$50,000 = $362.80 for the first $25,000 plus $9.30 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $50,001-$100,000 = $595.30 for the first $50,000 plus $6.35 per additional $1,000 or fraction; over $100,000 = $913.09 for the first $100,000 plus $5.17 per additional $1,000 or fraction. Commercial plan review is a further 65% of the building permit fee. Where no other construction is underway, establishing a certificate of occupancy alone costs a flat $175.00. New non-residential construction separately triggers a citywide impact fee per 1,000 sq ft of new floor area, effective October 1, 2025: Retail $4,968.32, Office $1,197.04, Industrial $266.01, plus a 1% surcharge on the assessed impact fees.one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services$110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
General Business Licence (not required by Idaho)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $120 in person or by mailperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youIdaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division$20 only if filed on paper in person — filing online is freeannual — due by the close of the entity's own anniversary month2026-09-04
Seller's PermitIdaho State Tax CommissionNo feeno fixed expiration — may be revoked after twelve straight months of reported zero sales2026-09-04
Automotive Repair Shop Licence (not required by Idaho)only if it applies to youIdaho Transportation Department, Division of Motor VehiclesNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Boise City?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Boise City, ID, 3 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $140.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:

Conditional Use Permit: Banded by lot acreage: less than 1 acre $908.25; 1 to 5 acres $1,097.25; 5 to 10 acres $1,370.25; 10 to 20 acres $2,730.00; over 20 acres $3,585.75 — plus $15.75 for each residential unit where applicable, capped at a $5,000.00 total addition.

Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy: Table No. 1-A of the Boise City Building Code Fee Schedule, banded by project valuation: $1-$2,000 = $26.37 for the first $500 plus $2.95 for each additional $100 or fraction; $2,001-$25,000 = $70.76 for the first $2,000 plus $12.71 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $25,001-$50,000 = $362.80 for the first $25,000 plus $9.30 per additional $1,000 or fraction; $50,001-$100,000 = $595.30 for the first $50,000 plus $6.35 per additional $1,000 or fraction; over $100,000 = $913.09 for the first $100,000 plus $5.17 per additional $1,000 or fraction. Commercial plan review is a further 65% of the building permit fee. Where no other construction is underway, establishing a certificate of occupancy alone costs a flat $175.00. New non-residential construction separately triggers a citywide impact fee per 1,000 sq ft of new floor area, effective October 1, 2025: Retail $4,968.32, Office $1,197.04, Industrial $266.01, plus a 1% surcharge on the assessed impact fees.

Sign Permit: $110.25 for a routine administrative-level on-premise sign permit (the same fee line also covers a Zoning Certificate or Home Occupation application). A Public Hearing Level Sign Program costs $176.40, an Administrative Commission Level sign review $137.55, and a Temporary Sign Permit $22.05.

Which offices issue these permits in Boise City?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Boise City, ID come from 6 separate offices: City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk, City of Boise, Planning and Development Services, City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Idaho State Tax Commission, Idaho Transportation Department, Division of Motor Vehicles. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

  • City of Boise, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License (no single universal licence issued by the City of Boise)150 N Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 972-8150www.cityofboise.org/departments/city-clerk
  • City of Boise, Planning and Development ServicesIssues 5 permits on this page, including Zoning Certificate, Zoning Verification / Information Letter, Conditional Use Permit150 N Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 608-7100www.cityofboise.org/departments/planning-and-development-services
  • City of Boise Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Repair Garage Permit (Boise Fire)(208) 570-6559www.cityofboise.org/departments/fire/fire-prevention
  • Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business Licence (not required by Idaho), Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report450 North 4th Street, Boise, ID 83702 · (208) 334-2301sos.idaho.gov/business-forms
  • Idaho State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permit(208) 334-7633tax.idaho.gov/taxes/sales-use/permits
  • Idaho Transportation Department, Division of Motor VehiclesIssues 1 permit on this page: Automotive Repair Shop Licence (not required by Idaho)(208) 334-8681itd.idaho.gov/dmv/vehicle-dealers

Is anything about these requirements changing?

No fee applies to a universal Boise business licence, because none exists. The City Clerk's own licensing structure organizes every licence Boise issues into five categories — Animal, Food & Beverage, Security Services, Vehicles/Business Drivers, and Vendor/Other — and none of them is a catch-all licence for simply operating a business. A retail store, salon, fitness studio, veterinary clinic, contractor's office, or auto repair shop that serves no alcohol, gathers no crowd over 50 people, runs no mobile vending cart, and installs no private security alarm needs no City Clerk licence at all. Idaho Code sections 50-301 and 50-307 give Boise the legal authority to license trades and businesses generally, but Boise's own Title 3 uses that authority only for the specific, named activities recorded elsewhere in this file (food and beverage service, mobile vending, large-occupancy assembly, and similar).

An administrative, staff-level land-use compliance review, reviewed against the Zoning Code's own allowed-use standards for uses the City's own page names by example — including 'neighborhood cafes,' cottage villages, trade schools, storage uses, duplex/triplex/fourplex conversions, certain demolitions, and a standalone child daycare facility caring for 7 or more children outside a home. A home daycare caring for 7 to 12 children instead needs only a lighter 'Zoning Compliance Review' under the Planning Division's own child daycare requirements page, which does not itself publish a separate dollar figure for that specific step — not published in the document this project could retrieve, so it is disclosed here rather than assumed to match this $110.25 figure. Where a zoning district does not list daycare (or another proposed use) as an outright allowed use, the fuller Conditional Use Permit recorded separately below applies instead.

A genuine, confirmed flat fee directly from the Planning Division's own current fee schedule, priced separately from and below the fuller $110.25 Zoning Certificate reviewed above — this simpler letter confirms a property's zoning designation and allowed-use status without itself constituting a full compliance review.

Required whenever a proposed use is classified as a conditional (rather than outright allowed) use in its zoning district — a real possibility for a standalone child daycare facility, an auto repair shop, or a veterinary clinic depending on the specific district, per the City's own Table of Allowed Uses. This is a substantially larger fee and a substantially longer review process than the administrative Zoning Certificate recorded above, and applies only when the district-specific use table requires it rather than to every business in these industries.

A genuine, confirmed, city-specific fire-code fee for the auto-repair industry, priced on Boise Fire's own current fee schedule and confirmed on its own dedicated Repair Garage Permit page, which requires prevention-plan drawings and a statement of operations describing materials used and stored on site.

A genuine, confirmed valuation-based fee table dated October 2021 on its own face, the version on file at the time of this project's research (Planning and Development Services' own fees page confirms the current schedule is 'kept on file' there rather than reprinted on the page itself). The standalone $175.00 certificate-of-occupancy fee applies only when no other construction beyond minor electrical, plumbing, or mechanical trade-permit work is underway; a full building permit's own plan review and inspection otherwise establishes occupancy as part of that same process. New non-residential construction also triggers the City's own per-1,000-sq-ft impact fee (Retail/Office/Industrial), a real, confirmed, separate charge from the building permit fee itself — this project could not find a published document mapping each of this project's ten industries onto one of those three land-use categories, so a business owner should confirm the applicable category directly with Planning and Development Services before budgeting for new construction.

A genuine, confirmed fee directly from the Planning Division's own current application fee schedule. Most on-premise signs for a restaurant, retail store, salon, fitness studio, auto repair shop, or veterinary clinic are handled at the $110.25 administrative level; a comprehensive multi-sign program for a larger development or shopping center is priced separately and substantially higher.

No fee, and Idaho's own small-business portal says so in as many words: Idaho does not have a state business licence, and registering an entity with the Secretary of State is a registration rather than a licence. City-level licensing varies widely, and many Idaho cities require none at all.

A hundred dollars online against $120 on paper — the paper fee is really the online base plus a $20 manual-processing surcharge, and a paper form must additionally be typed rather than handwritten. A corporation costs the identical amount either way.

The same $100 online, $120 on paper as an LLC. Expedited service adds $40 on top of either channel, and same-day service adds $100.

Filing this online costs nothing at all; the only version that carries a fee is a paper filing accepted in person at the Boise office, priced at the same $20 manual-processing charge that applies across the Secretary of State's other paper filings. The due date tracks each entity's own formation anniversary rather than one shared calendar date. Missing it triggers a notice of intent to dissolve, and the entity then has sixty days to cure before administrative dissolution follows; reinstatement remains possible for up to ten years after that.

No fee — the tax commission states plainly that applying for any of its seller's permits is free, and its own rule text confirms no fee is required for the initial permit. A temporary permit, capped at ninety days and limited to three uses a year before a regular permit is required, is likewise free.

No fee, and the transportation department's own dealer page states the boundary directly: a dealer licence is triggered by selling five or more titled vehicles in a calendar year, and vehicle repair-only businesses do not require dealer licensing. The professional licensing division's complete roster of boards and commissions has no automotive or mechanic category either, across every one of its groupings. A repair shop needs only the ordinary registrations that apply to any Idaho business, such as the sales tax permit above if it sells parts.

Sources

Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Licensing — the City Clerk's own overview of Boise's five licence categories (Animal, Food and Alcohol Beverage, Security Services, Vehicle Licensing, Other)City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Boise City Licensing Fees — the City Clerk's own current, complete fee table for every licence category, including Eating and Drinking Licence $42.00, Assembly Licence $180.00, Sidewalk Cafe Licence $116.75, Vendor Licence $141.00/$70.75, Temporary Merchant Licence $66.50, and Special Event Permit $237.00City of Boise, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Planning Division Application Fee Schedule (effective October 1, 2022) — Zoning Certificate/Sign Permit/Home Occupation $110.25, Zoning Verification/Information Letter $44.10, Conditional Use Permit banded by acreage ($908.25-$3,585.75), and related planning feesCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  4. Requirements for Child Daycare — zoning thresholds for home daycare (Zoning Compliance Review, 7-12 children) versus outside-the-home facilities (Zoning Certificate or Conditional Use Permit, 7+ children), plus a required Fire Department inspectionCity of Boise, Planning and Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  5. Fire Permits and Service Fees (effective October 1, 2024, FY2025) — the complete current fire permit fee table, including Mobile Food Preparation Vehicles Permit $45.00, Places of Assembly Permit $180.00, Repair Garages and Motor Fuel-Dispensing Permit $140.00, and Inspections Required by Other Agencies $140.00City of Boise Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  6. Repair Garage Permit — Fire Prevention permit application requirements for operating a repair garageCity of Boise Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  7. Boise City Building Code Fee Schedule (October 2021) — Table No. 1-A valuation-based building permit fee table, the 65% commercial plan review surcharge, the standalone $175 certificate-of-occupancy fee, and the joint Planning/Fire Fire Sprinkler and Alternative Extinguishing Systems Plan Review and Inspection Permit Fee ($175 base plus $4.85 per head, capped at $4,000)City of Boise, Planning and Development Services / Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  8. Boise City Impact Fee Schedule effective October 1, 2025 — non-residential impact fees per 1,000 sq ft by land-use category (Retail $4,968.32, Office $1,197.04, Industrial $266.01), plus a 1% capital-improvement-plan surchargeCity of Boise · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  9. Idaho small business portal — stating outright that Idaho has no state business licenceState of Idaho · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  10. Idaho Secretary of State — LLC certificate of organization form and feeIdaho Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  11. Idaho Secretary of State — articles of incorporation form and feeIdaho Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  12. Idaho Secretary of State — SOSBiz filing portal, free annual reports filed onlineIdaho Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  13. Idaho State Tax Commission — who needs a seller's permit, free to obtainIdaho State Tax Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  14. Idaho Transportation Department — vehicle dealer licensing, triggered by selling five or more vehicles a yearIdaho Transportation Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.