9 permits · verified 2026-10-14
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Black Hawk County?
In short
A food truck in Black Hawk County, IA has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing charges $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb for the food establishment license. 3 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Black Hawk County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits)only if it applies to you | Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors and County Auditor | The license fee is set by Iowa Code 123.36 and paid to the state with the application; for premises outside a city it equals the fee charged in the nearest incorporated city, as determined by the address assigned by the United States Postal Service. The amount depends on the license class and premises; contact the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division or the Black Hawk County Auditor for the current amount. | annual | 2026-10-14 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review and Pre-Opening Inspection (Black Hawk County Public Health)only if it applies to you | Black Hawk County Public Health | The food establishment license fee is the statewide statutory amount held in the Iowa state record and is paid with the license application to Black Hawk County Public Health; a separate plan review fee is not published on Black Hawk County Public Health's food establishment pages. Contact Environmental Health (319-291-2413) for the current amount. | plans submitted 30 days before construction or remodel; pre-opening inspection and approval before the business opens | 2026-10-14 |
| Food Establishment License | Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing | $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb | annual | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing | No fee | not stated in Iowa's own rule text | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
IA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Iowa Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — stays effective until cancelled or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Iowa positiononly if it applies to you | Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the IA page | an LLC files between 1 January and 1 April of every odd year; a corporation files in the same window of every even year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Black Hawk County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a food truck in Black Hawk County, IA, 2 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits): The license fee is set by Iowa Code 123.36 and paid to the state with the application; for premises outside a city it equals the fee charged in the nearest incorporated city, as determined by the address assigned by the United States Postal Service. The amount depends on the license class and premises; contact the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division or the Black Hawk County Auditor for the current amount.
Food Establishment Plan Review and Pre-Opening Inspection (Black Hawk County Public Health): The food establishment license fee is the statewide statutory amount held in the Iowa state record and is paid with the license application to Black Hawk County Public Health; a separate plan review fee is not published on Black Hawk County Public Health's food establishment pages. Contact Environmental Health (319-291-2413) for the current amount.
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Black Hawk County permits page and the IA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Black Hawk County?
Permits for a food truck in Black Hawk County, IA come from 6 separate offices: Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors and County Auditor, Black Hawk County Public Health, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Iowa Department of Revenue, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors and County AuditorIssues 1 permit on this page: Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits)316 East 5th Street, Waterloo, IA 50703 · 319-833-3072www.blackhawkcounty.iowa.gov/160/Applications
- Black Hawk County Public HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment Plan Review and Pre-Opening Inspection (Black Hawk County Public Health)1407 Independence Avenue, Waterloo, IA 50703 · 319-291-2413www.bhcpublichealth.org/services/food-safety
- Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and LicensingIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment License, Certified Food Protection Manager6200 Park Avenue, Suite 100, Des Moines, IA 50321 · (515) 281-3425dial.iowa.gov
- Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 · (515) 281-5204sos.iowa.gov/business
- Iowa Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit1305 East Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 · (515) 281-3114revenue.iowa.gov/permits-licensing/business-permit-registration
- Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information CenterIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — Iowa position1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200, Des Moines, IA 50315 · (515) 348-6200opportunityiowa.gov/business/small-business-entrepreneurs/small-business-resources/business-license-information-center
What does a food truck need in Black Hawk County that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Black Hawk County
- Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits) — Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors and County Auditor, The license fee is set by Iowa Code 123.36 and paid to the state with the application; for premises outside a city it equals the fee charged in the nearest incorporated city, as determined by the address assigned by the United States Postal Service. The amount depends on the license class and premises; contact the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division or the Black Hawk County Auditor for the current amount., annual. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Plan Review and Pre-Opening Inspection (Black Hawk County Public Health) — Black Hawk County Public Health, The food establishment license fee is the statewide statutory amount held in the Iowa state record and is paid with the license application to Black Hawk County Public Health; a separate plan review fee is not published on Black Hawk County Public Health's food establishment pages. Contact Environmental Health (319-291-2413) for the current amount., plans submitted 30 days before construction or remodel; pre-opening inspection and approval before the business opens. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment License — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb, annual. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, No fee, not stated in Iowa's own rule text. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across IA and are covered on the IA state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Black Hawk County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A coffee shop needs Retail Cigarette, Tobacco, Nicotine and Vapor Permit — County Approval (outside city limits), which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 4 | 0 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 4 | 0 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Black Hawk County permits page and the IA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
