Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a food truck in Cedar Rapids?

In short

A food truck in Cedar Rapids, IA has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing charges $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb for the food establishment license. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a food truck in Cedar Rapids

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment LicenseLinn County Public HealthFood Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up (schools pay $0). Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit (food truck or push cart) is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address.annual2026-09-10
Mobile Food Vendor LicenseCity of Cedar Rapids, City Clerk's Office$550 for an annual license, $300 for a six-month license, or $100 for a one-week license. $50 of the application fee is non-refundable if the license is denied or the application is withdrawn before issuance.annual, or six-month and one-week short-term options2026-09-10
Mobile Cooking Unit Fire InspectionCity of Cedar Rapids Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$25–$100 per unit — $25.00 for a fire inspection alone, or $100.00 if it includes an LPG-tank inspectionannual — a tag is issued for each inspected unit2026-09-10
Food Establishment LicenseIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing$150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climbannual2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and LicensingNo feenot stated in Iowa's own rule text2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cedar Rapids

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of Cedar Rapids Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Cedar Rapids, City Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

IA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitIowa Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — stays effective until cancelled or revoked2026-09-04
General Business License — Iowa positiononly if it applies to youIowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information CenterNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the IA pagean LLC files between 1 January and 1 April of every odd year; a corporation files in the same window of every even year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Cedar Rapids?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a food truck in Cedar Rapids, IA, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment License: Food Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up (schools pay $0). Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit (food truck or push cart) is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address.

Mobile Food Vendor License: $550 for an annual license, $300 for a six-month license, or $100 for a one-week license. $50 of the application fee is non-refundable if the license is denied or the application is withdrawn before issuance.

Mobile Cooking Unit Fire Inspection: $25–$100 per unit — $25.00 for a fire inspection alone, or $100.00 if it includes an LPG-tank inspection

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Cedar Rapids permits page and the IA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Cedar Rapids?

Permits for a food truck in Cedar Rapids, IA come from 7 separate offices: City of Cedar Rapids, City Clerk's Office, Linn County Public Health, City of Cedar Rapids Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Iowa Department of Revenue, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a food truck need in Cedar Rapids that other businesses do not?

2 of the 5 permits particular to a food truck here apply to no other business type we cover in Cedar Rapids: Mobile Food Vendor License and Mobile Cooking Unit Fire Inspection.

Food Establishment License

Linn County is one of the ten Iowa counties with a delegated local health department rather than falling under the state Food Safety Bureau's direct jurisdiction, confirmed both by Iowa DIAL's own Food Inspection Jurisdictions page and by Linn County Public Health's own licensing programme and fee schedule — a genuinely distinct local authority from Des Moines' Polk County, which remains under direct state jurisdiction. Applications must be submitted at least 30 days before the anticipated opening date and include a menu, floor plan and equipment schedule for new construction, and a Certified Food Protection Manager certificate where available; plan review itself carries no separate fee. Do not confuse this agency with 'linncohealth.org,' which is Linn County, Missouri, not this one.

Mobile Food Vendor License

Requires a completed online license application (paper applications are no longer accepted as of the City Clerk's June 2025 Customer Self Service rollout), a copy of the operator's Linn County Public Health food service license, a Certificate of Liability Insurance and, for drivable vehicles, a copy of the vehicle registration and colour photographs of the unit. Mobile food vendors may not sell alcoholic beverages or merchandise. This is the City Clerk's vehicle-as-a-business license and is separate from both the Linn County Public Health food establishment license recorded above and the Fire Marshal's Office mobile-cooking-unit fire inspection recorded below.

Mobile Cooking Unit Fire Inspection

The Fire Marshal's Office's own application form states the fee 'must be included when the application is submitted prior to City Clerk issuance of business license,' making this a genuinely separate prerequisite fee that sits in front of, not folded into, the City Clerk's own Mobile Food Vendor License fee recorded above. Inspection covers the fire extinguisher, the kitchen hood's extinguishing system and, where an LPG tank is present, its condition and securement. The published permit form is dated Revised 01/2019, so confirm the current fee directly with the Fire Marshal's Office (319-286-5166) before budgeting for it.

Shared with other businesses in Cedar Rapids

  • Food Establishment License — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb, annual. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, No fee, not stated in Iowa's own rule text. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Cedar Rapids, IA; what each one involves is set out on the Cedar Rapids permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across IA and are covered on the IA state page.

How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Cedar Rapids?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Vendor License and Mobile Cooking Unit Fire Inspection. A coffee shop needs nothing here that a food truck does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Cedar Rapids, IA, compared with a food truck
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a food truckOnly a food truck needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops3320
Restaurants3320
Auto repair shops3053
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades4054
Fitness studios1051
Retail stores0050
Salons and barbers2052
Veterinary clinics2052

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cedar Rapids permits page and the IA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Food Establishment License Application (including Mobile Units) — complete fee schedule: Food Service Establishment banded by gross sales ($150/$300/$400), Retail Food Establishment banded differently at the same figures, a $150 secondary-licence add-on, and a flat $250 Mobile Food Unit feeLinn County Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  2. Vendor Licenses — Mobile Food Vendor licence fee table ($550 annual / $300 six-month / $100 one-week), the Linn County Public Health food-licence submission requirement, and the Transient Merchant licence ($100 one-week)City of Cedar Rapids, City Clerk's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  3. Mobile Cooking Units permit application (Revised 01/2019) — Fire Marshal's Office fee of $25.00 (fire inspection only) or $100.00 (fire inspection including LPG inspection), required before City Clerk issuance of the mobile food vendor business licenseCity of Cedar Rapids Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.