10 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Davenport?
In short
A food truck in Davenport, IA has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Davenport, City Clerk's Office charges $55 annual for the mobile food unit license. 2 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Davenport
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile Food Unit License | City of Davenport, City Clerk's Office | $55 annual | annual — April 1 through March 31 | 2026-09-10 |
| Mobile Food Unit Special Occurrence Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Davenport, City Clerk's Office | $100 per event application | one-time, per approved event dates | 2026-09-10 |
| Food Establishment License | Scott County Health Department | Food Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $0 for schools; $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up. Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address. | annual | 2026-09-10 |
| Food Establishment License | Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing | $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb | annual | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing | No fee | not stated in Iowa's own rule text | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
IA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Iowa Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — stays effective until cancelled or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Iowa positiononly if it applies to you | Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the IA page | an LLC files between 1 January and 1 April of every odd year; a corporation files in the same window of every even year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Davenport?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a food truck in Davenport, IA, 4 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $205.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment License: Food Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $0 for schools; $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up. Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address.
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Davenport permits page and the IA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Davenport?
Permits for a food truck in Davenport, IA come from 6 separate offices: City of Davenport, City Clerk's Office, Scott County Health Department, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Iowa Department of Revenue, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Davenport, City Clerk's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Mobile Food Unit License, Mobile Food Unit Special Occurrence Permit226 West 4th Street, Davenport, IA 52801 · (563) 326-6163www.davenportiowa.com/services/licenses/business_licenses
- Scott County Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment License600 W. 4th Street, Davenport, IA 52801-1003 · (563) 326-8618www.scottcountyiowa.gov/health/food/licensing
- Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and LicensingIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment License, Certified Food Protection Manager6200 Park Avenue, Suite 100, Des Moines, IA 50321 · (515) 281-3425dial.iowa.gov
- Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 · (515) 281-5204sos.iowa.gov/business
- Iowa Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit1305 East Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 · (515) 281-3114revenue.iowa.gov/permits-licensing/business-permit-registration
- Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information CenterIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — Iowa position1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200, Des Moines, IA 50315 · (515) 348-6200opportunityiowa.gov/business/small-business-entrepreneurs/small-business-resources/business-license-information-center
What does a food truck need in Davenport that other businesses do not?
2 of the 5 permits particular to a food truck here apply to no other business type we cover in Davenport: Mobile Food Unit License and Mobile Food Unit Special Occurrence Permit.
Mobile Food Unit License
The Mobile Cart (Food Truck) Vendor section of the City's own Business Licenses page states a $55 annual mobile food unit license, applicable whether the vendor operates on public right-of-way or private property. Issuance requires proof of auto and liability insurance, proof of a valid Scott County Health Department permit (recorded separately above), and passing a fire inspection performed by Davenport Fire personnel — the fire inspection itself carries no separately published fee. This city license is separate from, and sits on top of, the Scott County Health Department food license.
Mobile Food Unit Special Occurrence Permit
Only needed when a business wants a mobile food unit set up in the public right-of-way (street) directly in front of its own establishment, rather than at a standard vending location — the $100 application triggers a notice to every business within 200 feet and a possible protest before City Council gives final approval at a regular meeting.
Shared with other businesses in Davenport
- Food Establishment License — Scott County Health Department, Food Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $0 for schools; $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up. Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address., annual. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment License — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb, annual. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, No fee, not stated in Iowa's own rule text. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across IA and are covered on the IA state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Davenport?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Unit License and Mobile Food Unit Special Occurrence Permit. A coffee shop needs Tent Permit and City Business License — Title 5 Categories and Exemptions (Davenport), which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Davenport permits page and the IA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Business Licenses — the City's own 'multi-business license fee code structure' framing, the April 1-March 31 license period with a 10% penalty after May 1 and half-year new-license pricing from October 1, and the full list of named license categories (retail/transient merchant, gasoline station/public garage, alarms, billboards/signs/canopies, cigarette/tobacco/vapor, closing-out sales, auctions, live entertainment, metal recyclers/salvage, pawnbrokers/secondhand/junk/antique dealers, public amusements/dancehalls, mobile food/mobile ice cream vendors, massage/reflexology, tent permits, tree trimmers)City of Davenport, Finance Department (Revenue Division) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
