14 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Fort Smith?
In short
A coffee shop in Fort Smith, AR has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division charges $45 filed online; $50 on paper for the articles of incorporation. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Fort Smith
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit | City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division | Section 6-30 prices sign erection and repair the same as any other nonresidential (commercial) construction: $15.00 for $50.00-$500.00 of cost of construction, $37.50 for $501.00-$1,000.00, $52.50 for $1,001.00-$1,500.00, $67.50 for $1,501.00-$2,000.00, then $67.50 plus $4.50 per additional $1,000.00 through $10,000.00, $103.50 plus $3.75 per $1,000.00 through $50,000.00, $253.50 plus $3.00 per $1,000.00 through $100,000.00, $403.50 plus $2.25 per $1,000.00 through $1,000,000.00, and $2,536.50 plus $1.50 per $1,000.00 above that. | one-time, per sign | 2026-09-10 |
| FOG (Fats, Oils and Grease) Generator Permit | City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program | No fee | 5 years | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program | $35 a year; multiple permit types at one address are capped at $105 total | annual, not transferable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Smith
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Fort Smith Business License (Occupational Registration) | City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License Program | Varies — formula on the Fort Smith page | annual — renewed annually by mail (first year free for a standard license) | 2026-09-10 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division | Varies — formula on the Fort Smith page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division | No fee | one-time, no expiration | 2026-09-10 |
| Zoning Verificationonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License Program | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Code Compliance Inspection and Fire System Permitsonly if it applies to you | Fort Smith Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | No fee | recurring — frequency not stated in any published schedule | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AR registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | $45 filed online; $50 on paper | perpetual, but a franchise tax report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Franchise Tax Reportonly if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | Varies — formula on the AR page | annual — due 1 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | $45 filed online; $50 on paper | perpetual, but a franchise tax report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration | $50 one-time, non-refundable | no stated expiration — a permit with twelve straight months of zero sales may be administratively closed | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Arkansas Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Fort Smith?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Fort Smith, AR, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $85.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Section 6-30 prices sign erection and repair the same as any other nonresidential (commercial) construction: $15.00 for $50.00-$500.00 of cost of construction, $37.50 for $501.00-$1,000.00, $52.50 for $1,001.00-$1,500.00, $67.50 for $1,501.00-$2,000.00, then $67.50 plus $4.50 per additional $1,000.00 through $10,000.00, $103.50 plus $3.75 per $1,000.00 through $50,000.00, $253.50 plus $3.00 per $1,000.00 through $100,000.00, $403.50 plus $2.25 per $1,000.00 through $1,000,000.00, and $2,536.50 plus $1.50 per $1,000.00 above that.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Smith permits page and the AR state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Smith?
Permits for a coffee shop in Fort Smith, AR come from 7 separate offices: City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License Program, City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division, Fort Smith Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division, Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division, Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program, Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: City of Fort Smith Business License (Occupational Registration), Zoning Verification623 Garrison Avenue, Fort Smith, AR 72901 (mail: P.O. Box 1908, Fort Smith, AR 72902) · (479) 784-2299www.fortsmithar.gov/building-business/business-license-and-guidance/apply-for-a-business-license
- City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit623 Garrison Avenue, Room 405 (Stephens Building), Fort Smith, AR 72901 · (479) 784-2206www.fortsmithar.gov/building-business/building-development/building-development-permits
- Fort Smith Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Compliance Inspection and Fire System Permits200 North 5th Street, Fort Smith, AR 72901 · (479) 783-4052www.fortsmithar.gov/government/departments/fire/about-the-fire-department/fire-marshal
- City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: FOG (Fats, Oils and Grease) Generator Permit801 Carnall Avenue, Suite 500, Fort Smith, AR 72901 · (479) 494-3938www.fortsmithar.gov/government/departments/water-utilities/environmental-quality/fats-oils-and-grease-fog/commercial-fog
- Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Annual Franchise Tax Report, Certificate of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Arkansas Secretary of State Guidance1401 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 250, Little Rock, AR 72201 · (888) 233-0325www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs
- Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Food Service Establishment Permit4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205 · (501) 661-2171healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/public-health-safety/food-protection-inspection-portal
- Arkansas Department of Finance and AdministrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit1816 West 7th Street, Little Rock, AR 72201 · (501) 682-7104www.dfa.arkansas.gov/office/taxes/excise-tax-administration/sales-use-tax
What does a coffee shop need in Fort Smith that other businesses do not?
Certified Food Protection Manager
No state fee — the certificate comes from an accredited private testing programme at that programme's price, valid five years once earned. Only one supervisory employee per establishment needs to hold it, and the requirement only became mandatory from 7 September 2019, with a year's grace given to businesses already operating at that date to come into compliance. There is no separate statewide food handler card mandate at all; only the manager-level certification is a state requirement.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Smith
- Sign Permit — City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division, Section 6-30 prices sign erection and repair the same as any other nonresidential (commercial) construction: $15.00 for $50.00-$500.00 of cost of construction, $37.50 for $501.00-$1,000.00, $52.50 for $1,001.00-$1,500.00, $67.50 for $1,501.00-$2,000.00, then $67.50 plus $4.50 per additional $1,000.00 through $10,000.00, $103.50 plus $3.75 per $1,000.00 through $50,000.00, $253.50 plus $3.00 per $1,000.00 through $100,000.00, $403.50 plus $2.25 per $1,000.00 through $1,000,000.00, and $2,536.50 plus $1.50 per $1,000.00 above that., one-time, per sign. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- FOG (Fats, Oils and Grease) Generator Permit — City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division, No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit — Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program, $35 a year; multiple permit types at one address are capped at $105 total, annual, not transferable. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Smith, AR; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Smith permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AR and are covered on the AR state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Fort Smith?
A coffee shop and a restaurant in Fort Smith, AR need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Smith permits page and the AR state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Arkansas Department of Health — food protection FAQ, the certified food protection manager requirement effective 7 September 2019Arkansas Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
