14 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Fort Smith?
In short
A restaurant in Fort Smith, AR has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division charges $45 filed online; $50 on paper for the articles of incorporation. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Fort Smith
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit | City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division | Section 6-30 prices sign erection and repair the same as any other nonresidential (commercial) construction: $15.00 for $50.00-$500.00 of cost of construction, $37.50 for $501.00-$1,000.00, $52.50 for $1,001.00-$1,500.00, $67.50 for $1,501.00-$2,000.00, then $67.50 plus $4.50 per additional $1,000.00 through $10,000.00, $103.50 plus $3.75 per $1,000.00 through $50,000.00, $253.50 plus $3.00 per $1,000.00 through $100,000.00, $403.50 plus $2.25 per $1,000.00 through $1,000,000.00, and $2,536.50 plus $1.50 per $1,000.00 above that. | one-time, per sign | 2026-09-10 |
| FOG (Fats, Oils and Grease) Generator Permit | City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program | No fee | 5 years | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program | $35 a year; multiple permit types at one address are capped at $105 total | annual, not transferable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Smith
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Fort Smith Business License (Occupational Registration) | City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License Program | Varies — formula on the Fort Smith page | annual — renewed annually by mail (first year free for a standard license) | 2026-09-10 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division | Varies — formula on the Fort Smith page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division | No fee | one-time, no expiration | 2026-09-10 |
| Zoning Verificationonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License Program | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Code Compliance Inspection and Fire System Permitsonly if it applies to you | Fort Smith Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | No fee | recurring — frequency not stated in any published schedule | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AR registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | $45 filed online; $50 on paper | perpetual, but a franchise tax report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Franchise Tax Reportonly if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | Varies — formula on the AR page | annual — due 1 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | $45 filed online; $50 on paper | perpetual, but a franchise tax report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration | $50 one-time, non-refundable | no stated expiration — a permit with twelve straight months of zero sales may be administratively closed | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Arkansas Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Fort Smith?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Fort Smith, AR, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $85.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Section 6-30 prices sign erection and repair the same as any other nonresidential (commercial) construction: $15.00 for $50.00-$500.00 of cost of construction, $37.50 for $501.00-$1,000.00, $52.50 for $1,001.00-$1,500.00, $67.50 for $1,501.00-$2,000.00, then $67.50 plus $4.50 per additional $1,000.00 through $10,000.00, $103.50 plus $3.75 per $1,000.00 through $50,000.00, $253.50 plus $3.00 per $1,000.00 through $100,000.00, $403.50 plus $2.25 per $1,000.00 through $1,000,000.00, and $2,536.50 plus $1.50 per $1,000.00 above that.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Smith permits page and the AR state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Smith?
Permits for a restaurant in Fort Smith, AR come from 7 separate offices: City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License Program, City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety Division, Fort Smith Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division, Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services Division, Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program, Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Smith Planning Department, Business License ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: City of Fort Smith Business License (Occupational Registration), Zoning Verification623 Garrison Avenue, Fort Smith, AR 72901 (mail: P.O. Box 1908, Fort Smith, AR 72902) · (479) 784-2299www.fortsmithar.gov/building-business/business-license-and-guidance/apply-for-a-business-license
- City of Fort Smith Building Services Department, Building Safety DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit623 Garrison Avenue, Room 405 (Stephens Building), Fort Smith, AR 72901 · (479) 784-2206www.fortsmithar.gov/building-business/building-development/building-development-permits
- Fort Smith Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Compliance Inspection and Fire System Permits200 North 5th Street, Fort Smith, AR 72901 · (479) 783-4052www.fortsmithar.gov/government/departments/fire/about-the-fire-department/fire-marshal
- City of Fort Smith Utility Department, Environmental Quality DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: FOG (Fats, Oils and Grease) Generator Permit801 Carnall Avenue, Suite 500, Fort Smith, AR 72901 · (479) 494-3938www.fortsmithar.gov/government/departments/water-utilities/environmental-quality/fats-oils-and-grease-fog/commercial-fog
- Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Annual Franchise Tax Report, Certificate of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Arkansas Secretary of State Guidance1401 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 250, Little Rock, AR 72201 · (888) 233-0325www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs
- Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Food Service Establishment Permit4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205 · (501) 661-2171healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/public-health-safety/food-protection-inspection-portal
- Arkansas Department of Finance and AdministrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit1816 West 7th Street, Little Rock, AR 72201 · (501) 682-7104www.dfa.arkansas.gov/office/taxes/excise-tax-administration/sales-use-tax
What does a restaurant need in Fort Smith that other businesses do not?
Sign Permit
Both permanent and portable signs are reviewed by the Planning Division and the Building Safety Division, using the same intake form as any other building permit. The City's Sign Permits page states that the permit fee is doubled if work begins before the permit is obtained. Code of Ordinances Sec. 6-30 states: 'Sign erection and repair: Same as nonresidential fee', which points to the nonresidential cost-of-construction table quoted above.
FOG (Fats, Oils and Grease) Generator Permit
A local requirement for restaurants, coffee shops, bakeries, cafeterias and similar food-service facilities. The City's FOG-Commercial page states that the FOG Program is a requirement of the Consent Decree issued by the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Justice, carried out by issuing permits to foodservice and/or preparation facilities that generate and discharge FOG. The FOG Permit Application Form (Ordinance 89-16) states no application fee, and a fee for the FOG permit itself is not published in the City's FOG documents. The City's Pretreatment program charges and fees document (City Code § 25-216) sets $82.00 a month plus per-sample sampling and analysis fees for each industrial user and does not say whether that charge applies to a FOG-only food-service permit; contact the Environmental Quality Division (479-494-3938) for the cost. The application also asks a facility with a grease control device which permitted FOG hauler it uses.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Smith
- Certified Food Protection Manager — Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program, No fee, 5 years. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit — Arkansas Department of Health, Food Protection Program, $35 a year; multiple permit types at one address are capped at $105 total, annual, not transferable. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Smith, AR; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Smith permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AR and are covered on the AR state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Fort Smith?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Fort Smith, AR need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Smith permits page and the AR state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Code of Ordinances, ch. 6, art. II, Sec. 6-30 (Fee schedule) — the nonresidential/commercial construction-cost fee table ($15.00 at $50-$500 up to $2,536.50 plus $1.50 per $1,000 above $1,000,001) its line stating 'Sign erection and repair: Same as nonresidential fee,' the temporary certificate of occupancy fee and the plan review feeCity of Fort Smith, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Permit Application (Building Safety Division) — the single intake form covering Single Family/Duplex/Multi-Family/Commercial/Sign/Demolition/Roof permit types, requiring a copy of the City of Fort Smith Business Registration for each contractorCity of Fort Smith, Building Services Department, Building Safety Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- Sign Permits — permanent and portable sign application requirements, confirming the fee doubles if work begins before the permit issues, with no base fee amount publishedCity of Fort Smith, Building Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- FOG Permit Application Form (Ordinance # 89-16) — Application for Fats, Oils and Grease (FOG) Wastewater Discharge Permit, naming Full/Limited Service Restaurant, Snack/Coffee/Donut/Ice Cream Shop and other NAICS-coded food-service categories, with no application fee stated on the formCity of Fort Smith, Utility Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- FOG-Commercial — describing the FOG Program as an EPA/DOJ Consent Decree requirement and linking the FOG Generator Permit, Ordinance 89-16, and Pretreatment Fees documentsCity of Fort Smith, Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- FOG - Permit Distribution — confirming the FOG Program was established by City Ordinance 89-16 and naming the Environmental Monitoring Supervisor as the FOG permit contactCity of Fort Smith, Utility Department, Environmental Quality Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- Pretreatment program charges and fees (City Code § 25-216) — $82.00/month industrial-user charge plus itemised sampling and analysis fees (metals, BOD5, COD, TSS, oil and grease, cyanide, flash point, pH) and the $2,000/year septic tank discharge permit feeCity of Fort Smith, Utility Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
