Killeen
City of Killeen Development Services
In short
City of Killeen Development Services issues 21 permits we publish for Killeen, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $100 per structure | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Lawn Irrigation Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $75 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-Roof Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $0.03 per square foot, minimum $50 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Solar Panel Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $100 base fee plus $5 per panel, with plan review at $335 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Mobile Home Park License | City of Killeen Development Services | $180–$1,500 per year, by unit count | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Short-Term Rental Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $200 per unit, permit and inspection | renewed annually at $100 per unit | 2026-08-24 |
| Donation Container Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $25 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Trade Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $50–$90 per unit, by trade | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Flood Plain Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $300 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| After Hours Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $200 for the first two hours, then $145 per hour or fraction of an hour | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Premises Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $80–$120 individual or group sign | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Remodel and Repair Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $0.24 per square foot, minimum $200 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Landscape Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $220 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $80–$245 above or below ground | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Dealer's Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $125 per permit, per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $0.20 per square foot, minimum $200 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Construction Registration | City of Killeen Development Services | $80 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Killeen Development Services | $90 per issuance | does not expire; a partial or temporary certificate runs 30 days | 2026-08-24 |
| Tent Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $75 per permit | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Credit Access Business Registration | City of Killeen Development Services | $65 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Billboard Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $375 per permit | annual registration of $60 per sign thereafter | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Commercial Demolition Permit
$100 per structure commercial, against $70 residential. Flat regardless of size or height, unlike San Antonio and Abilene which band demolition by storeys.
Lawn Irrigation Permit
$75, and explicitly NOT covered by the all-in building permit — the schedule names lawn irrigation in its list of exclusions, so a commercial site landscaping a new build pays this on top.
Re-Roof Permit
Three cents a square foot with a $50 floor. On a 20,000 sq ft commercial roof that is $600 — cheaper than Grand Prairie's 1% of work value but dearer than Abilene's flat $200 per roof structure.
Solar Panel Permit
$100 plus $5 a panel, and then $335 for plan review — the review costs more than the permit on any array under 47 panels. A 100-panel commercial installation comes to $935 all in.
Mobile Home Park License
$180 a year for 1-20 units, $300 for 21-50, $500 for 51-120, $800 for 121-200, $1,200 for 201-300 and $1,500 above 301. Killeen is one of the few cities in this dataset that licenses mobile home parks as a standing annual obligation with published bands.
Short-Term Rental Permit
$200 per unit for the permit and inspection, then $100 per unit a year to renew — the renewal is half the initial fee, which is unusual: Arlington charges $500 both times and Frisco $300 both times. A re-inspection is $75.
Donation Container Permit
$25 to place a donation container. Killeen adopted a dedicated donation container ordinance in September 2024 — a niche obligation, but one that catches retail landlords and charities who assume a bin in a car park needs no permit.
Commercial Trade Permit
Where a trade is permitted on its own rather than inside a building permit: building $90 per unit, electrical $50, mechanical $50 and plumbing $50. Plan review is $185, and the schedule states it applies when two or more permit types are requested at the same time — so pulling three trades together costs $185 once, not three times. A partial inspection is $35 and a failed inspection of any kind is a $50 penalty.
Flood Plain Permit
$300 for lots other than one and two-family, which are $150. Double the residential rate and double Abilene's flat $150, though Grand Prairie charges $300 to $500 on acreage bands for the same thing.
After Hours Inspection
$200 covers the first two hours and each further hour or part of one is $145 — one of the steepest hourly after-hours rates in this dataset, against Pasadena's $70 for each hour past the first three. Worth comparing against closing for a morning.
On-Premises Sign Permit
$80 for an individual wall or ground sign and $120 for a group sign. A temporary on-premises sign is $75 and a portable sign $75 annually. Replacing a sign certification tag is $15. Killeen prices by sign type rather than area or value, which makes a large shopfront sign cheap here relative to Abilene's $200 minimum.
Commercial Remodel and Repair Permit
Killeen charges MORE to remodel than to build new — $0.24 a square foot against $0.20 — which is the reverse of most Texas cities and worth knowing when comparing a fit-out against new construction. Plan review is $0.04 a square foot either way. As with new construction, the fee bundles structure, electrical, mechanical and plumbing with the inspections.
Commercial Landscape Permit
$220 for a commercial or multi-family lot, against $120 for one and two-family. A flat fee rather than the acreage bands San Antonio and Arlington use — cheaper on a large site, dearer on a small one. Landscape is explicitly excluded from the all-in building permit, so budget it separately.
Commercial Swimming Pool Permit
$245 for a below-ground pool and $80 above ground. This is the construction permit; the schedule sets no annual operating permit for a public pool, unlike Arlington, Frisco and Abilene — so if you are operating rather than building one, confirm with Bell County Public Health what applies.
Food Dealer's Permit
$125 a year, with a $45 late fee, charged by Killeen Development Services. Read this alongside the county: Bell County Public Health separately permits retail food establishments across Bell County, priced by employee count from $300 for one to six employees up to $650 for 201 or more. Neither document references the other and the city publishes no environmental health page explaining how they relate, so confirm with both before budgeting for only one. On the evidence published, a Killeen restaurant should expect to hold the county health permit as well as this city permit.
Commercial Building Permit
Twenty cents a square foot with a $200 floor, and the schedule is explicit about what that buys: permits for structure, electrical, mechanical, plumbing and the required inspections, all in one. It does NOT cover fences, storage buildings, accessory structures, lawn irrigation, temporary poles, landscape, whole-house water softeners, swimming pools or plan review — those are permitted and charged separately. Plan review is a further $0.04 a square foot. A $10 technology and application fee is added to most permits.
Construction Registration
$80 a year to register as a contractor with the city. Cheap against Pasadena's $75 initial plus $75 annual with a $300,000 insurance requirement, and against Fort Worth's $168.75. A Construction Board of Appeals request is $275.
Certificate of Occupancy
$90 for a new certificate — one of the cheapest in this dataset, against $200 in San Antonio and $100 in Arlington and Frisco. The escalation on temporary certificates is where Killeen gets expensive: $100 for the first 30 days, $200 for a second 30-day extension and $270 for a third or any subsequent one. Running three extensions costs $570 on top of the original.
Tent Permit
$75. Killeen permits a tent through Development Services rather than the fire department — the same choice San Antonio makes, and the opposite of Abilene and Pasadena where it sits on the fire schedule.
Credit Access Business Registration
$65 a year — between San Antonio's $50 and Waco's $100 for the same registration. Payday and title lenders register with the city on top of their state authorisation.
Billboard Permit
$375 for the permit and then $60 per sign every year to keep it registered — the recurring half is what operators forget. An off-premises temporary sign permit is $85 a year, with each additional sign tag in the same calendar year costing $1.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Killeen
- Phone
- (254) 501-7762
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Development Services permit fees — Adopted Annual Budget, effective 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026City of Killeen · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
