Commercial Compliance Hub

Corpus Christi

Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District

In short

Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District issues 8 permits we publish for Corpus Christi, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Farmer's Market Feeonly if it applies to youCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$50 per permitnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
School Based Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$150 per permit or per inspectionnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
Swimming Pool Inspectiononly if it applies to youCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$200 per inspectionnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Inspectiononly if it applies to youCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$500 per inspectionnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$52–$200 single event or two years of events14 consecutive days, or 2 years for the multiple-event permit2026-08-24
Retail Food Establishment PermitCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$245–$773 per year, by employee count1 year2026-08-24
Food Handler PermitCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$12 per permitnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
Supervised Daycare Safety Inspectiononly if it applies to youCorpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District$100 per inspectionnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Farmer's Market Fee

$50, half the $100 state ceiling and half what McKinney and Williamson County charge. Section 437.0065 requires such a permit to run for at least a year and to cover sales at every farmers market, farm stand and farm in the jurisdiction, so this is a cheap way into the whole county's markets.

School Based Food Establishment Permit

Public schools are charged $150 per inspection with two inspections required per calendar year, so $300 a year in practice. A for-profit or private school pays $150 for the permit. The distinction is between a public school being inspected and a private one being permitted, and the schedule prices them differently for that reason.

Swimming Pool Inspection

$200 for a swimming pool inspection, against Garland's $300 annual pool permit — but these are different things, an inspection rather than a permit, and the schedule does not say how often the district requires one. Confirm the frequency before treating $200 as an annual cost.

On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Inspection

$500, the largest single item on this schedule and the one most likely to be missed in a budget. It applies to premises on a septic system rather than mains sewer, which in Nueces County is common outside the city core. Brazos County charges $570 for the equivalent new commercial application, so the figure is in line rather than exceptional — but it is a cost that only appears once you know the site is not on the sewer.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit

$52 for a single event of up to fourteen consecutive days, or $200 for a multiple-event permit valid for two years. The two-year permit is unusually generous — most Texas jurisdictions that offer a multi-event option cap it at a calendar year — so at four events it is already cheaper than buying single permits, and it lasts twice as long as Round Rock's equivalent.

Retail Food Establishment Permit

Four bands on employee count: $245 for 1 to 10, $403 for 11 to 25, $589 for 26 to 50 and $773 for 51 or more. On top of the permit, a new establishment pays a $100 initial inspection, conducted before it opens to verify compliance with health and safety standards, and a reinspection after a failed visit is $200 — twice the first inspection. A change of name or ownership is an amendment at $125. Employee-count banding means a labour-intensive operation pays more than a high-turnover automated one, the reverse of the turnover banding used in McKinney and Round Rock.

Food Handler Permit

$12, one of the cheapest food handler permits on record here and $2 above Carrollton's $10 state-accredited certification. The schedule does not state a term. Budget it per member of staff rather than per site. Note the statutory limit: Texas Health and Safety Code section 438.046, as amended by Senate Bill 582, provides that a local health jurisdiction may not charge a fee for — or require or issue — a local food handler card to a worker who shows proof of completing a course accredited by the American National Standards Institute or by Texas DSHS. If your staff already hold an accredited certificate, this fee should not apply to them.

Supervised Daycare Safety Inspection

$100 for a supervised daycare inspection, and the same $100 for a foster home inspection. This is a local environmental health inspection and is separate from the license a child care operation holds from Texas Health and Human Services — passing one does not satisfy the other.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Corpus Christi
Phone
Not verified — use the website

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District food establishment ordinance, filed with Texas DSHS 10 March 2026Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Fee Schedule — Corpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health DistrictCorpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health District (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Texas jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.