7 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Corpus Christi?
In short
A food truck in Corpus Christi, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District charges $50 per permit for the farmer's market fee. 2 of the 7 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Corpus Christi
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmer's Market Feeonly if it applies to you | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $50 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $52–$200 single event or two years of events | 14 consecutive days, or 2 years for the multiple-event permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Permit | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $12 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State) | Texas Department of State Health Services | $309–$876 application fee, by food-handling type | one year from the pre-licensing inspection | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Corpus Christi?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 7 records listed for a food truck in Corpus Christi, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $12.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 7 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $52–$200 single event or two years of events
Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State): $309–$876 application fee, by food-handling type
Which offices issue these permits in Corpus Christi?
Permits for a food truck in Corpus Christi, TX come from 4 separate offices: Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Department of State Health Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health DistrictIssues 3 permits on this page: Farmer's Market Fee, Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Food Handler Permit1702 Horne Road, Corpus Christi, TX 78416www.cctexas.com/departments/health-district
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Department of State Health ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State)www.dshs.texas.gov
What does a food truck need in Corpus Christi that other businesses do not?
1 of the 4 permits particular to a food truck here applies to no other business type we cover in Corpus Christi: Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State).
Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State)
Since 1 July 2026 one DSHS permit covers every Texas jurisdiction, replacing separate permits from each local health department. Three tiers by food handling: Type I (no time/temperature controlled foods) $309 with no pre-licensing inspection fee; Type II (limited TCS handling) $618 plus a $400 pre-licensing inspection; Type III (full preparation) $876 plus a $500 pre-licensing inspection. The license expires one year from the successfully completed pre-licensing inspection, not from the application date. Temporary food dealer permits could not be issued to mobile vendors in Texas after 30 June 2026.
Shared with other businesses in Corpus Christi
- Farmer's Market Fee — Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, $50 per permit, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, $52–$200 single event or two years of events, 14 consecutive days, or 2 years for the multiple-event permit. Also required for coffee shops, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Handler Permit — Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, $12 per permit, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Corpus Christi?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 3 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State). A retail store needs Swimming Pool Inspection, On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Inspection and Retail Food Establishment Permit, which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 6 | 3 | 1 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Corpus Christi permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mobile Food Vendors - Texas DSHSTexas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
