6 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Corpus Christi?
In short
A childcare centre in Corpus Christi, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District charges $150 per permit or per inspection for the school based food establishment permit. 1 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Corpus Christi
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| School Based Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $150 per permit or per inspection | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Supervised Daycare Safety Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $100 per inspection | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Corpus Christi?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a childcare centre in Corpus Christi, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 1 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
Which offices issue these permits in Corpus Christi?
Permits for a childcare centre in Corpus Christi, TX come from 4 separate offices: Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health DistrictIssues 2 permits on this page: School Based Food Establishment Permit, Supervised Daycare Safety Inspection1702 Horne Road, Corpus Christi, TX 78416www.cctexas.com/departments/health-district
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Corpus Christi that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Corpus Christi: Supervised Daycare Safety Inspection and Child Care License.
Supervised Daycare Safety Inspection
$100 for a supervised daycare inspection, and the same $100 for a foster home inspection. This is a local environmental health inspection and is separate from the license a child care operation holds from Texas Health and Human Services — passing one does not satisfy the other.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
Shared with other businesses in Corpus Christi
- School Based Food Establishment Permit — Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, $150 per permit or per inspection, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Corpus Christi?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Supervised Daycare Safety Inspection and Child Care License. A restaurant needs Farmer's Market Fee, On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Inspection, Temporary Food Establishment Permit and 3 more, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 7 | 1 | 2 | 6 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Corpus Christi permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fee Schedule — Corpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health DistrictCorpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health District (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
