6 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Corpus Christi?
In short
A coffee shop in Corpus Christi, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 3 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District charges $12 per permit for the food handler permit. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Corpus Christi
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $52–$200 single event or two years of events | 14 consecutive days, or 2 years for the multiple-event permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Retail Food Establishment Permit | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $245–$773 per year, by employee count | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Permit | Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District | $12 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Corpus Christi?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a coffee shop in Corpus Christi, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 3 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $12.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $52–$200 single event or two years of events
Retail Food Establishment Permit: $245–$773 per year, by employee count
Which offices issue these permits in Corpus Christi?
Permits for a coffee shop in Corpus Christi, TX come from 3 separate offices: Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health DistrictIssues 3 permits on this page: Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Retail Food Establishment Permit, Food Handler Permit1702 Horne Road, Corpus Christi, TX 78416www.cctexas.com/departments/health-district
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Corpus Christi that other businesses do not?
Retail Food Establishment Permit
Four bands on employee count: $245 for 1 to 10, $403 for 11 to 25, $589 for 26 to 50 and $773 for 51 or more. On top of the permit, a new establishment pays a $100 initial inspection, conducted before it opens to verify compliance with health and safety standards, and a reinspection after a failed visit is $200 — twice the first inspection. A change of name or ownership is an amendment at $125. Employee-count banding means a labour-intensive operation pays more than a high-turnover automated one, the reverse of the turnover banding used in McKinney and Round Rock.
Food Handler Permit
$12, one of the cheapest food handler permits on record here and $2 above Carrollton's $10 state-accredited certification. The schedule does not state a term. Budget it per member of staff rather than per site. Note the statutory limit: Texas Health and Safety Code section 438.046, as amended by Senate Bill 582, provides that a local health jurisdiction may not charge a fee for — or require or issue — a local food handler card to a worker who shows proof of completing a course accredited by the American National Standards Institute or by Texas DSHS. If your staff already hold an accredited certificate, this fee should not apply to them.
Shared with other businesses in Corpus Christi
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, $52–$200 single event or two years of events, 14 consecutive days, or 2 years for the multiple-event permit. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Corpus Christi?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store needs Farmer's Market Fee, Swimming Pool Inspection and On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Inspection, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 6 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Corpus Christi permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fee Schedule — Corpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health DistrictCorpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health District (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District food establishment ordinance, filed with Texas DSHS 10 March 2026Corpus Christi–Nueces County Public Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
