Orange County
OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)
In short
OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) issues 11 permits we publish for Orange County, last verified 2026-09-27. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor Licensing — State CSLB License Applies (Orange County)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-27 |
| Setback Determination Letteronly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-27 |
| Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $633–$1,020 flat fee per sign, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule): non-illuminated $633; illuminated $1,020 — both risen from $597/$956 in FY2024-25 and $623/$1,000 in FY2025-26 | one-time for the building permit; not stated in the published fee schedule for the underlying zoning approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Building Permit Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $198 flat fee per re-inspection, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $184 in FY2024-25 and $195 in FY2025-26; combined mechanical/electrical/plumbing re-inspections get a 25% discount | one-time, per re-inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $7,000–$10,000 T&M (time-and-materials) deposit per application, by track: standard $7,000; Coastal Development $8,500; Advisory Committee review $10,000 (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not stated in the published fee schedule; the resulting entitlement does not expire on its own unless conditioned otherwise in the approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Conceptonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $600 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $500 T&M deposit per certificate (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not applicable (revocable) | 2026-09-27 |
| Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $1,143 T&M deposit, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,035 in FY2024-25 and $1,098 in FY2025-26 | time-limited by its own terms as a temporary certificate; the standard certificate replaces it once issued | 2026-09-27 |
| Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvementonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Plan-check and inspection fees are calculated from the project's construction valuation on the sliding scale set out in the FY2024-27 OC Development Services Fee Schedule; the exact per-bracket dollar table was not extracted reliably enough to republish line by line. Confirm the fee for a specific project's valuation directly against the published fee schedule or with OC Development Services. | per project; permit expiration per the County Building Code | 2026-09-27 |
| Family Day Care Special Investigation Feeonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $1,086 per investigation, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,030 in FY2024-25 and $1,071 in FY2025-26 | one-time per investigation | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Contractor Licensing — State CSLB License Applies (Orange County)
Under Business and Professions Code §7028, every contractor must hold a license from the California Contractors State License Board (CSLB), and acting as a contractor without one is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a $5,000 fine and up to six months in county jail on a first conviction; under that statute there is no county fee for a contractor license. OC Development Services' role in unincorporated Orange County is permitting the construction work itself (see the building permit record) — it checks that the contractor holds a current CSLB license as part of permit issuance rather than licensing the contractor directly. A contractor whose business address sits in the unincorporated area may separately need OC Sheriff's general business license, whose category list and fee are not published on the Sheriff's own pages; inside any of the 34 cities, that city's own business license applies instead.
Setback Determination Letter
A written determination of a parcel's required setbacks in unincorporated Orange County costs a $300 T&M deposit, flat across FY2024-25, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27. This is a smaller, narrower request than the combined Zoning Research/Verification Letter and Approval in Concept letter ($600), which covers zoning designation and development rights generally rather than setbacks specifically.
Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County)
No fee applies. A home-based version of any of these industries in unincorporated Orange County must meet a set of zoning performance standards rather than obtain a separate permit: no exterior evidence of the business; the activity confined to the enclosed living area; no offensive noise, dust, smoke or odor; no more than one client on the premises at a time; no change to the dwelling's residential character; no signs of any kind; required residential parking maintained; and no cannabis distribution or manufacturing from the home. The adopted County of Orange Comprehensive Zoning Code (as posted March 30, 2026) sets these standards at Sec. 7-9-104 ('Home occupations'), which permits home occupations as an accessory use in any district that lists them as permitted; OC Development Services' FAQ page still cites the older section number 7-9-146.6 for the same standards. Cottage food operations must additionally comply with state rules and may not sell prepared food on-site. A use the standards bar outright can still reach the property through the discretionary Use Permit process instead.
Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)
A new, altered or relocated sign larger than 6 square feet in unincorporated Orange County needs a building permit for its construction: a flat $633 for a non-illuminated sign or $1,020 for an illuminated sign in FY2026-27, the current and final year of the county's three-year fee schedule (they were $597/$956 in FY2024-25 and $623/$1,000 in FY2025-26). Both figures are flat fees, not valuation-based, and neither carries a per-item add-on. Under Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-114.7 (Exempt signs), signs that are less than six square feet in area are 'permitted without permits'. This fee is separate from any zoning-level Sign Permit review that may also apply depending on the district and sign type; the county's own fee schedule does not price that zoning review as a clean standalone line, so no separate zoning-review fee is published here. A sign tied to a master sign program or a Site Development Permit may carry its own expiration, set in that program or permit.
Building Permit Re-inspection Fee
A building, mechanical, electrical or plumbing inspection in unincorporated Orange County that fails and must be repeated costs a flat re-inspection fee that rises each year of the county's three-year schedule: $184 in FY2024-25, $195 in FY2025-26 and $198 in FY2026-27, the current figure. Combining multiple trade re-inspections (mechanical, electrical, plumbing) into one visit earns a 25% discount off the combined total. An earlier reading of this fee schedule reported a constant $200 T&M deposit for this line, which was incorrect — it is a flat fee, not a deposit, and it rises annually rather than staying fixed.
Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)
Which zoning entitlement a business needs in unincorporated Orange County — permitted by right, a Site Development Permit (SDP), or a discretionary Use Permit — is set district by district in the Zoning Code's Master Land Use Tables under Sec. 7-9-134.4, not by industry alone. 'Automobile/Vehicle Service and Repair, Minor' typically needs an SDP while 'Major' repair or vehicle washing needs a Use Permit or is barred outright depending on the district; 'Commercial Recreation – Indoor' (fitness centers), 'General Personal Services' (barber shops and beauty salons) and 'Eating and Drinking Establishments' each need an SDP in at least one district table. Both permit types share the same fee tiers on the FY2024-27 schedule, unchanged across all three fiscal years: a $7,000 T&M deposit standard, $8,500 if the parcel is in the Coastal Zone, or $10,000 if Advisory Committee review applies. A California ABC alcohol license applicant must also file a zoning-conformance affidavit with the state; in unincorporated OC that affidavit rides on whichever of these entitlements the 'Eating and Drinking Establishments' use classification already requires for the site — there is no separate county alcohol fee. These fees are deposits against actual staff time, not flat charges, so the amount billed can run higher or lower than the deposit.
Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Concept
OC Development Services prices a written zoning research or verification letter together with an Approval in Concept letter as a single combined $600 T&M deposit line item on its FY2024-27 fee schedule, constant across all three fiscal years — there is no separate $300 fee for Approval in Concept alone. A business in unincorporated Orange County can use this to confirm a parcel's zoning designation, allowed uses or development rights before committing to a site, without triggering the much larger Use Permit or Site Development Permit deposit. It is optional; a business may instead rely on the Zoning Code's Master Land Use Tables directly, at its own risk of misreading them.
Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard
A new business occupying a space, or an existing business changing hands or changing use, in unincorporated Orange County needs a Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) confirming the use matches its zoning approval. The standard, non-temporary certificate is a $500 T&M deposit, flat across FY2024-25, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27. A separate, higher and rising fee applies to a Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy, listed as its own Orange County record — the two are not the same fee and should not be confused.
Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)
A business that needs to occupy space in unincorporated Orange County before final zoning sign-off is complete can obtain a Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy instead of waiting for the standard certificate. This fee is higher than the standard certificate's $500 and rises every year of the county's three-year schedule: $1,035 in FY2024-25, $1,098 in FY2025-26 and $1,143 in FY2026-27, the current figure. An earlier reading of this fee schedule reported a flat $325 for this line, which was incorrect on both the amount and the claim that it stayed constant across the three years.
Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvement
New commercial construction, tenant improvement or a change of use requiring building alterations in unincorporated Orange County needs a building or grading permit from OC Development Services, priced on the project's construction valuation under a sliding-scale table in the FY2024-27 fee schedule. The bracket-by-bracket dollar amounts of that table are not reproduced here; the OC Development Services Fee Schedule sets the valuation-based (not flat) mechanism and is unchanged across FY2024-25, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27, so the figure for a given project's valuation is read from that schedule. Two related flat fees are listed as separate Orange County records: the re-inspection fee and, for childcare, the Family Day Care special-investigation fee. Electrical, plumbing and mechanical work performed under this permit still requires the contractor to hold a current California CSLB license (see the state-layer contractor record).
Family Day Care Special Investigation Fee
OC Development Services charges a special-investigation fee, under the same fee-schedule line covering family day care, sober-living and similar inspections, when a state-licensed family day care operating in unincorporated Orange County needs a county zoning/building compliance investigation as part of its state licensing process. The fee is $1,030 in FY2024-25, $1,071 in FY2025-26 and $1,086 in FY2026-27, the current figure — this line item was independently confirmed exact, unlike several other lines on the same fee schedule PDF. Primary childcare facility licensing itself (staff ratios, health and safety standards) is a California Department of Social Services function, recorded at the state layer, not a county one.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Orange County
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
- Website
- pwds.oc.gov/
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Business and Professions Code §7028 (contractor's state license required; misdemeanor to act as an unlicensed contractor)California Legislative Information · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- County of Orange Comprehensive Zoning Code (Nov. 4, 2025 revision, posted 2026-03-30) — Sec. 7-9-104/7-9-114/7-9-134.4/7-9-146.6OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- OC Development Services Fee Schedule, FY2024-25 through FY2026-27 (adopted May 21, 2024, effective July 21, 2024)OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- OC Development Services Permitting Services FAQs (home occupation citation; certificate of use and occupancy)OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
Other offices serving Orange County
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
California jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
