21 permits · verified 2026-09-27
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Orange County?
In short
A retail store in Orange County, CA has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 15 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) charges $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) for the setback determination letter. 7 of the 21 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-27 |
| Food Facility Health Permit — Food Market Retail | OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division | $278–$2,805 annual permit, FY2026-27, by size and prep level: Food Market Retail (no prep) $278 (<2,000 sq ft) / $382 (≥2,000 sq ft); with Limited Food Prep $765 / $1,046 / $1,412 / $1,512 by size tier; with one Food Prep Area $1,424 / $1,942 / $2,621 / $2,805 by size tier | annual | 2026-09-27 |
| Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel | OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division | New Food Facility Construction, one-time, by square footage (FY2026-27): under 2,000 sq ft $1,599; 2,000-5,999 sq ft $2,047; 6,000-29,999 sq ft $2,174; 30,000+ sq ft $2,686. Food Establishment Remodel plan check, by area of the remodel: 1-100 sq ft $640; 101-1,000 sq ft $985; over 1,000 sq ft $1,879. | one-time per project | 2026-09-27 |
| Food Facility Permit | California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch | No fee | set by the local enforcement agency | 2026-09-03 |
| Food Handler Card | California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch | $15 statutory maximum for at least one accredited course | 3 years | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Setback Determination Letteronly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | one-time for the building permit; not stated in the published fee schedule for the underlying zoning approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Building Permit Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $198 flat fee per re-inspection, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $184 in FY2024-25 and $195 in FY2025-26; combined mechanical/electrical/plumbing re-inspections get a 25% discount | one-time, per re-inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to you | Orange County Clerk-Recorder | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | 5 years from filing date; must be republished and refiled if it lapses | 2026-09-27 |
| Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | not stated in the published fee schedule; the resulting entitlement does not expire on its own unless conditioned otherwise in the approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Conceptonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $600 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $500 T&M deposit per certificate (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not applicable (revocable) | 2026-09-27 |
| Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $1,143 T&M deposit, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,035 in FY2024-25 and $1,098 in FY2025-26 | time-limited by its own terms as a temporary certificate; the standard certificate replaces it once issued | 2026-09-27 |
| Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvementonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | per project; permit expiration per the County Building Code | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
CA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $20 per filing, biennial | biennial | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $70 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $100 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually | 2026-09-03 |
| Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $25 per filing, annual | annual | 2026-09-03 |
| Seller's Permitonly if it applies to you | California Department of Tax and Fee Administration | No fee — no fee to apply | no expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | California Franchise Tax Board | Varies — formula on the CA page | annual, until the entity is cancelled | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — California position (city or county, not state) | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | No fee | set by the issuing city or county | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Orange County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 21 records listed for a retail store in Orange County, CA, 6 apply to every business of this type and 15 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $515.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 21 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Facility Health Permit — Food Market Retail: $278–$2,805 annual permit, FY2026-27, by size and prep level: Food Market Retail (no prep) $278 (<2,000 sq ft) / $382 (≥2,000 sq ft); with Limited Food Prep $765 / $1,046 / $1,412 / $1,512 by size tier; with one Food Prep Area $1,424 / $1,942 / $2,621 / $2,805 by size tier
Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel: New Food Facility Construction, one-time, by square footage (FY2026-27): under 2,000 sq ft $1,599; 2,000-5,999 sq ft $2,047; 6,000-29,999 sq ft $2,174; 30,000+ sq ft $2,686. Food Establishment Remodel plan check, by area of the remodel: 1-100 sq ft $640; 101-1,000 sq ft $985; over 1,000 sq ft $1,879.
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Orange County?
Permits for a retail store in Orange County, CA come from 7 separate offices: OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building), OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division, Orange County Clerk-Recorder, California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Issues 9 permits on this page, including Setback Determination Letter, Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County), Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)pwds.oc.gov
- OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Facility Health Permit — Food Market Retail, Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel1241 E Dyer Rd, Suite 120, Santa Ana, CA 92705 · 714-433-6000ochealthinfo.com
- Orange County Clerk-RecorderIssues 1 permit on this page: Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementwww.ocrecorder.com
- California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug BranchIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Facility Permit, Food Handler Cardwww.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DFDCS/Pages/FDBPrograms/FoodSafetyProgram/RetailFood.aspx
- California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Statement of Information (LLC), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation(916) 657-5448bizfileonline.sos.ca.gov
- California Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permitonlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov
- California Franchise Tax BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxwww.ftb.ca.gov
What does a retail store need in Orange County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 5 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Orange County: Food Facility Health Permit — Food Market Retail.
Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County)
No fee applies. A home-based version of any of these industries in unincorporated Orange County must meet a set of zoning performance standards rather than obtain a separate permit: no exterior evidence of the business; the activity confined to the enclosed living area; no offensive noise, dust, smoke or odor; no more than one client on the premises at a time; no change to the dwelling's residential character; no signs of any kind; required residential parking maintained; and no cannabis distribution or manufacturing from the home. The adopted County of Orange Comprehensive Zoning Code (as posted March 30, 2026) sets these standards at Sec. 7-9-104 ('Home occupations'), which permits home occupations as an accessory use in any district that lists them as permitted; OC Development Services' FAQ page still cites the older section number 7-9-146.6 for the same standards. Cottage food operations must additionally comply with state rules and may not sell prepared food on-site. A use the standards bar outright can still reach the property through the discretionary Use Permit process instead.
Food Facility Health Permit — Food Market Retail
A retail store selling any food — even only prepackaged goods, with no preparation on-site — needs its own OC HCA food facility permit under the Food Market Retail category, separate from the restaurant permit. A store with no on-site prep pays $278 under 2,000 square feet or $382 at 2,000 square feet or more (FY2026-27). Adding limited food preparation (for example slicing deli meat) raises the fee to $765-$1,512 by size tier, and a single dedicated food-prep area raises it further to $1,424-$2,805. Ordinary retail with no food sales needs no permit under this program at all. This is countywide, the same as the restaurant permit.
Food Facility Permit
California writes one statewide standard and delegates the permit. No food facility may open without one, but section 114381(d) puts the price in local hands: any fee "shall be determined by the local governing body" and may only cover the actual cost of enforcement. So there is a statewide RULE and no statewide FEE — no amount is recorded here because the state sets none. The figure that applies to you is your county environmental health department's, and it varies widely between counties. The permit is non-transferable, tied to the specific person, location and activity, and must be displayed. Cottage food operations, child day care facilities and community care facilities sit outside the definition of a food facility.
Shared with other businesses in Orange County
- Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel — OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division, New Food Facility Construction, one-time, by square footage (FY2026-27): under 2,000 sq ft $1,599; 2,000-5,999 sq ft $2,047; 6,000-29,999 sq ft $2,174; 30,000+ sq ft $2,686. Food Establishment Remodel plan check, by area of the remodel: 1-100 sq ft $640; 101-1,000 sq ft $985; over 1,000 sq ft $1,879., one-time per project. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Handler Card — California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch, $15 statutory maximum for at least one accredited course, 3 years. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Orange County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the Orange County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Orange County?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store also needs Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County) and Food Facility Health Permit — Food Market Retail. A restaurant needs Food Facility Health Permit — restaurant, coffee shop, caterer, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- County of Orange Comprehensive Zoning Code (Nov. 4, 2025 revision, posted 2026-03-30) — Sec. 7-9-104/7-9-114/7-9-134.4/7-9-146.6OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- OC Development Services Permitting Services FAQs (home occupation citation; certificate of use and occupancy)OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- Environmental Health Fees — Food and Pool, FY2026-27OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- Food Facility Health PermitOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- California Health and Safety Code section 114381 — food facility permit required, fee determined by the local governing bodyCalifornia Legislative Information · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
