27 published records
Business licenses and permits in Orange County, California
Orange County has 34 incorporated cities and a small unincorporated area, and its county-level regulators split that geography four different ways rather than one. OC Sheriff's Department's general business license and OC Development Services' zoning, sign, occupancy and building permits reach the unincorporated area only — every incorporated city runs its own version instead. Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) serves 23 named member and contract cities plus the unincorporated area, not the other 11 cities, each of which runs its own fire department. OC Health Care Agency (HCA) Environmental Health is the CalEPA-designated Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) for hazardous materials countywide, EXCEPT the City of Anaheim, which has run its own independent CUPA since 2001 — Santa Ana, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach and Orange do not have independent CUPAs despite sometimes being described that way; the Underground Storage Tank sub-program additionally excludes the City of Orange. OC HCA's food-facility and mobile-food permits are simply countywide. OC Animal Care's business-licensing and field service reach only 14 named cities plus the unincorporated area. A Fictitious Business Name (DBA) filing with the OC Clerk-Recorder is the one function here that is genuinely countywide with no carve-out, because it is a state-mandated county recorder function under Business & Professions Code §17900. General contractor licensing (CSLB), cosmetology and salon licensing, veterinary practice licensing, and childcare facility licensing are all state functions, not county ones, and are carried at the state layer.
What are you opening in Orange County?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Setback Determination Letteronly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $633–$1,020 flat fee per sign, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule): non-illuminated $633; illuminated $1,020 — both risen from $597/$956 in FY2024-25 and $623/$1,000 in FY2025-26 | one-time for the building permit; not stated in the published fee schedule for the underlying zoning approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Building Permit Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $198 flat fee per re-inspection, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $184 in FY2024-25 and $195 in FY2025-26; combined mechanical/electrical/plumbing re-inspections get a 25% discount | one-time, per re-inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to you | Orange County Clerk-Recorder | $23 for one business name and one registrant; $7 for each additional business name; $7 for each additional registrant beyond two; abandonment $23; withdrawal $23. | 5 years from filing date; must be republished and refiled if it lapses | 2026-09-27 |
| Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $7,000–$10,000 T&M (time-and-materials) deposit per application, by track: standard $7,000; Coastal Development $8,500; Advisory Committee review $10,000 (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not stated in the published fee schedule; the resulting entitlement does not expire on its own unless conditioned otherwise in the approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Conceptonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $600 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $500 T&M deposit per certificate (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not applicable (revocable) | 2026-09-27 |
| Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $1,143 T&M deposit, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,035 in FY2024-25 and $1,098 in FY2025-26 | time-limited by its own terms as a temporary certificate; the standard certificate replaces it once issued | 2026-09-27 |
| Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvementonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Plan-check and inspection fees are calculated from the project's construction valuation on the sliding scale set out in the FY2024-27 OC Development Services Fee Schedule; the exact per-bracket dollar table was not extracted reliably enough to republish line by line. Confirm the fee for a specific project's valuation directly against the published fee schedule or with OC Development Services. | per project; permit expiration per the County Building Code | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Orange County?
Setback Determination Letter
A written determination of a parcel's required setbacks in unincorporated Orange County costs a $300 T&M deposit, flat across FY2024-25, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27. This is a smaller, narrower request than the combined Zoning Research/Verification Letter and Approval in Concept letter ($600), which covers zoning designation and development rights generally rather than setbacks specifically.
Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)
A new, altered or relocated sign larger than 6 square feet in unincorporated Orange County needs a building permit for its construction: a flat $633 for a non-illuminated sign or $1,020 for an illuminated sign in FY2026-27, the current and final year of the county's three-year fee schedule (they were $597/$956 in FY2024-25 and $623/$1,000 in FY2025-26). Both figures are flat fees, not valuation-based, and neither carries a per-item add-on. Under Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-114.7 (Exempt signs), signs that are less than six square feet in area are 'permitted without permits'. This fee is separate from any zoning-level Sign Permit review that may also apply depending on the district and sign type; the county's own fee schedule does not price that zoning review as a clean standalone line, so no separate zoning-review fee is published here. A sign tied to a master sign program or a Site Development Permit may carry its own expiration, set in that program or permit.
Building Permit Re-inspection Fee
A building, mechanical, electrical or plumbing inspection in unincorporated Orange County that fails and must be repeated costs a flat re-inspection fee that rises each year of the county's three-year schedule: $184 in FY2024-25, $195 in FY2025-26 and $198 in FY2026-27, the current figure. Combining multiple trade re-inspections (mechanical, electrical, plumbing) into one visit earns a 25% discount off the combined total. An earlier reading of this fee schedule reported a constant $200 T&M deposit for this line, which was incorrect — it is a flat fee, not a deposit, and it rises annually rather than staying fixed.
Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statement
Any of the ten industries trading under a name other than the owner's own legal name must file a Fictitious Business Name statement with the OC Clerk-Recorder, regardless of whether the business sits inside one of the 34 cities or the unincorporated area — this is the one function among the Orange County records that applies countywide with no carve-out, because it implements a state statute through the county recorder. The filing costs $23 for one business name and one registrant, plus $7 for each additional business name and $7 for each additional registrant beyond two. It must then be published once a week for four consecutive weeks in an adjudicated newspaper within 45 calendar days of filing; missing that window makes the statement expire automatically and requires refiling with the fee paid again. The statement is valid five years from the filing date. Abandoning or withdrawing a statement each costs $23. A corporation, LLC or partnership operating exactly under its own registered legal name does not need this filing.
Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)
Which zoning entitlement a business needs in unincorporated Orange County — permitted by right, a Site Development Permit (SDP), or a discretionary Use Permit — is set district by district in the Zoning Code's Master Land Use Tables under Sec. 7-9-134.4, not by industry alone. 'Automobile/Vehicle Service and Repair, Minor' typically needs an SDP while 'Major' repair or vehicle washing needs a Use Permit or is barred outright depending on the district; 'Commercial Recreation – Indoor' (fitness centers), 'General Personal Services' (barber shops and beauty salons) and 'Eating and Drinking Establishments' each need an SDP in at least one district table. Both permit types share the same fee tiers on the FY2024-27 schedule, unchanged across all three fiscal years: a $7,000 T&M deposit standard, $8,500 if the parcel is in the Coastal Zone, or $10,000 if Advisory Committee review applies. A California ABC alcohol license applicant must also file a zoning-conformance affidavit with the state; in unincorporated OC that affidavit rides on whichever of these entitlements the 'Eating and Drinking Establishments' use classification already requires for the site — there is no separate county alcohol fee. These fees are deposits against actual staff time, not flat charges, so the amount billed can run higher or lower than the deposit.
Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Concept
OC Development Services prices a written zoning research or verification letter together with an Approval in Concept letter as a single combined $600 T&M deposit line item on its FY2024-27 fee schedule, constant across all three fiscal years — there is no separate $300 fee for Approval in Concept alone. A business in unincorporated Orange County can use this to confirm a parcel's zoning designation, allowed uses or development rights before committing to a site, without triggering the much larger Use Permit or Site Development Permit deposit. It is optional; a business may instead rely on the Zoning Code's Master Land Use Tables directly, at its own risk of misreading them.
Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard
A new business occupying a space, or an existing business changing hands or changing use, in unincorporated Orange County needs a Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) confirming the use matches its zoning approval. The standard, non-temporary certificate is a $500 T&M deposit, flat across FY2024-25, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27. A separate, higher and rising fee applies to a Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy, listed as its own Orange County record — the two are not the same fee and should not be confused.
Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)
A business that needs to occupy space in unincorporated Orange County before final zoning sign-off is complete can obtain a Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy instead of waiting for the standard certificate. This fee is higher than the standard certificate's $500 and rises every year of the county's three-year schedule: $1,035 in FY2024-25, $1,098 in FY2025-26 and $1,143 in FY2026-27, the current figure. An earlier reading of this fee schedule reported a flat $325 for this line, which was incorrect on both the amount and the claim that it stayed constant across the three years.
Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvement
New commercial construction, tenant improvement or a change of use requiring building alterations in unincorporated Orange County needs a building or grading permit from OC Development Services, priced on the project's construction valuation under a sliding-scale table in the FY2024-27 fee schedule. The bracket-by-bracket dollar amounts of that table are not reproduced here; the OC Development Services Fee Schedule sets the valuation-based (not flat) mechanism and is unchanged across FY2024-25, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27, so the figure for a given project's valuation is read from that schedule. Two related flat fees are listed as separate Orange County records: the re-inspection fee and, for childcare, the Family Day Care special-investigation fee. Electrical, plumbing and mechanical work performed under this permit still requires the contractor to hold a current California CSLB license (see the state-layer contractor record).
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- OC Development Services Fee Schedule, FY2024-25 through FY2026-27 (adopted May 21, 2024, effective July 21, 2024)OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- County of Orange Comprehensive Zoning Code (Nov. 4, 2025 revision, posted 2026-03-30) — Sec. 7-9-104/7-9-114/7-9-134.4/7-9-146.6OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- Fictitious Business Name (fees, 5-year term, publication requirement)Orange County Clerk-Recorder · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- OC Development Services Permitting Services FAQs (home occupation citation; certificate of use and occupancy)OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
Who issues business permits in Orange County?
Permitting in Orange County is split across 5 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Orange County issuing agencies
- OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Zoning entitlements (Use Permits, Site Development Permits, verification letters), sign permits, certificates of use and occupancy, and building/grading permits — unincorporated Orange County only · Family Day Care and other special-investigation inspections — unincorporated Orange County only11 permits
- OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health DivisionFood facility and mobile food facility permits — countywide, including within every city · Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA): hazardous materials disclosure, hazardous waste generator fees, storage tanks, body art facility permits — countywide EXCEPT the City of Anaheim (its own independent CUPA); the Underground Storage Tank sub-program additionally excludes the City of Orange10 permits
- Orange County Fire AuthorityFire-code operational permits, plan checks, and fire clearances — the 23 member/contract cities (Aliso Viejo, Buena Park, Cypress, Dana Point, Garden Grove, Irvine, La Palma, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Tustin, Villa Park, Westminster, Yorba Linda) plus the unincorporated area only4 permits
- OC Animal CareAnimal Facility Business License and Animal Permit (keeping more than 3 dogs and/or 3 cats) — Anaheim, Brea, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Huntington Beach, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Orange, Placentia, San Juan Capistrano, Tustin, Villa Park, Yorba Linda, plus the unincorporated area only (14 cities, not all 34)1 permit
- Orange County Clerk-RecorderFictitious Business Name (DBA) statements — countywide, every city and the unincorporated area alike1 permit
Other California jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
