19 permits · verified 2026-09-27
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Orange County?
In short
A salon or barber in Orange County, CA has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 16 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) charges $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) for the setback determination letter. 6 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-27 |
| Body Art Facility Permit (tattoo, piercing, permanent cosmetics)only if it applies to you | OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division | $45–$471 FY2026-27: Body Art Facility $399/year; Permanent Cosmetic or Body Piercing Facility $296/year; Temporary Body Art Facility (per booth) $181; Body Art Practitioner Registration $148; Body Art Facility Plan Check $471 one-time; Mechanical Stud/Clasp Ear Piercing Notification $45; Temporary Event Sponsor $444; Reinstatement of an expired/suspended registration $74 | annual for the facility permit and practitioner registration; per-event for temporary permits | 2026-09-27 |
| Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License | California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology | $50 application and initial license | 2 years | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Setback Determination Letteronly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | one-time for the building permit; not stated in the published fee schedule for the underlying zoning approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Building Permit Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $198 flat fee per re-inspection, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $184 in FY2024-25 and $195 in FY2025-26; combined mechanical/electrical/plumbing re-inspections get a 25% discount | one-time, per re-inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to you | Orange County Clerk-Recorder | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | 5 years from filing date; must be republished and refiled if it lapses | 2026-09-27 |
| Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | not stated in the published fee schedule; the resulting entitlement does not expire on its own unless conditioned otherwise in the approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Conceptonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $600 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $500 T&M deposit per certificate (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not applicable (revocable) | 2026-09-27 |
| Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $1,143 T&M deposit, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,035 in FY2024-25 and $1,098 in FY2025-26 | time-limited by its own terms as a temporary certificate; the standard certificate replaces it once issued | 2026-09-27 |
| Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvementonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | per project; permit expiration per the County Building Code | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
CA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $20 per filing, biennial | biennial | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $70 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $100 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually | 2026-09-03 |
| Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $25 per filing, annual | annual | 2026-09-03 |
| Seller's Permitonly if it applies to you | California Department of Tax and Fee Administration | No fee — no fee to apply | no expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | California Franchise Tax Board | Varies — formula on the CA page | annual, until the entity is cancelled | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — California position (city or county, not state) | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | No fee | set by the issuing city or county | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Orange County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a salon or barber in Orange County, CA, 3 apply to every business of this type and 16 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $550.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Body Art Facility Permit (tattoo, piercing, permanent cosmetics): $45–$471 FY2026-27: Body Art Facility $399/year; Permanent Cosmetic or Body Piercing Facility $296/year; Temporary Body Art Facility (per booth) $181; Body Art Practitioner Registration $148; Body Art Facility Plan Check $471 one-time; Mechanical Stud/Clasp Ear Piercing Notification $45; Temporary Event Sponsor $444; Reinstatement of an expired/suspended registration $74
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Orange County?
Permits for a salon or barber in Orange County, CA come from 7 separate offices: OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building), OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division, Orange County Clerk-Recorder, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board, California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Issues 9 permits on this page, including Setback Determination Letter, Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County), Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)pwds.oc.gov
- OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Body Art Facility Permit (tattoo, piercing, permanent cosmetics)1241 E Dyer Rd, Suite 120, Santa Ana, CA 92705 · 714-433-6000ochealthinfo.com
- Orange County Clerk-RecorderIssues 1 permit on this page: Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementwww.ocrecorder.com
- California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Statement of Information (LLC), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation(916) 657-5448bizfileonline.sos.ca.gov
- California Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permitonlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov
- California Franchise Tax BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxwww.ftb.ca.gov
- California Board of Barbering and CosmetologyIssues 1 permit on this page: Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment Licensewww.barbercosmo.ca.gov
What does a salon or barber need in Orange County that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Orange County: Body Art Facility Permit (tattoo, piercing, permanent cosmetics) and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License.
Body Art Facility Permit (tattoo, piercing, permanent cosmetics)
A salon offering tattooing, body piercing or permanent cosmetics — not an ordinary hair, nail or skin salon — needs an OC HCA body art facility permit, priced separately from an ordinary salon's zoning classification: $399 a year for a standard body art facility, $296 for a permanent-cosmetic or piercing-only facility, $181 per booth for a temporary facility, $148 for a practitioner's own registration, and $471 for the one-time facility plan check, all FY2026-27 figures. A simple mechanical stud or clasp ear-piercing service needs only a $45 notification rather than the full facility permit. This program runs on OC HCA's same Environmental Health administrative structure as its hazardous-materials CUPA program; whether it excludes Anaheim in the same way is not stated on the fee schedule itself, so a body art business in Anaheim should confirm with OC HCA or Anaheim Fire & Rescue directly rather than assume either program applies.
Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License
$50 covers the application and the initial license together — it is one combined fee, not two — and renewal is $40 every two years, with a $20 delinquency fee. The establishment license is separate from every practitioner license held by the people working there. Three rules catch owners out: only the owner may apply, only one license is issued per address, and the license is valid only for the location and the owners named on it. Moving premises, selling the business, or adding or removing a partner all require a fresh application rather than an amendment. A mobile unit is licensed separately at $50 plus a $100 initial inspection and license fee. A license left unrenewed for five years is cancelled outright.
Shared with other businesses in Orange County
- Home Occupation Standards — Zoning Code Sec. 7-9-104 (Unincorporated Orange County) — OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building), No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, contractors and trades, fitness studios and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Orange County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the Orange County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Orange County?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Body Art Facility Permit (tattoo, piercing, permanent cosmetics) and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License. A fitness studio needs Fire Code Operational Permit — Assembly Occupancy, which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Environmental Health Fees — Hazardous Materials Management, FY2026-27OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- County of Orange Comprehensive Zoning Code (Nov. 4, 2025 revision, posted 2026-03-30) — Sec. 7-9-104/7-9-114/7-9-134.4/7-9-146.6OC Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- California Code of Regulations title 16 section 998, Schedule of Fees, as published by the Board of Barbering and CosmetologyCalifornia Board of Barbering and Cosmetology · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- California Business and Professions Code section 7415 — two-year license term for barbering and cosmetology licensesCalifornia Legislative Information · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
