20 permits · verified 2026-09-27
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Orange County?
In short
A restaurant in Orange County, CA has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 14 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) charges $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) for the setback determination letter. 7 of the 20 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel | OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division | New Food Facility Construction, one-time, by square footage (FY2026-27): under 2,000 sq ft $1,599; 2,000-5,999 sq ft $2,047; 6,000-29,999 sq ft $2,174; 30,000+ sq ft $2,686. Food Establishment Remodel plan check, by area of the remodel: 1-100 sq ft $640; 101-1,000 sq ft $985; over 1,000 sq ft $1,879. | one-time per project | 2026-09-27 |
| Food Facility Health Permit — restaurant, coffee shop, caterer | OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division | $482–$2,043 annual permit, FY2026-27, by prep level and seats: Minimal Prep (e.g. bars) $482 (≤60 seats) / $600 (61-100) / $633 (>100); Limited Prep $792 (≤30) / $918 (31-60) / $998 (61-100) / $1,097 (101-150) / $1,241 (151-200) / $1,305 (>200); Complex Prep $1,238 (≤30) / $1,436 (31-60) / $1,560 (61-100) / $1,717 (101-150) / $1,944 (151-200) / $2,043 (>200); Caterer (Complex Prep) $1,148/$1,391/$1,455 by square footage; each additional food-prep area $512; seasonal facility $404; bed & breakfast $320 | annual | 2026-09-27 |
| Food Facility Permit | California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch | No fee | set by the local enforcement agency | 2026-09-03 |
| Food Handler Card | California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch | $15 statutory maximum for at least one accredited course | 3 years | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Orange County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Setback Determination Letteronly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | one-time for the building permit; not stated in the published fee schedule for the underlying zoning approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Building Permit Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $198 flat fee per re-inspection, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $184 in FY2024-25 and $195 in FY2025-26; combined mechanical/electrical/plumbing re-inspections get a 25% discount | one-time, per re-inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to you | Orange County Clerk-Recorder | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | 5 years from filing date; must be republished and refiled if it lapses | 2026-09-27 |
| Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | not stated in the published fee schedule; the resulting entitlement does not expire on its own unless conditioned otherwise in the approval | 2026-09-27 |
| Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Conceptonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $600 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standard | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $500 T&M deposit per certificate (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) | not applicable (revocable) | 2026-09-27 |
| Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)only if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | $1,143 T&M deposit, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,035 in FY2024-25 and $1,098 in FY2025-26 | time-limited by its own terms as a temporary certificate; the standard certificate replaces it once issued | 2026-09-27 |
| Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvementonly if it applies to you | OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) | Varies — formula on the Orange County page | per project; permit expiration per the County Building Code | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
CA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $20 per filing, biennial | biennial | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $70 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $100 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually | 2026-09-03 |
| Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $25 per filing, annual | annual | 2026-09-03 |
| Seller's Permitonly if it applies to you | California Department of Tax and Fee Administration | No fee — no fee to apply | no expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | California Franchise Tax Board | Varies — formula on the CA page | annual, until the entity is cancelled | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — California position (city or county, not state) | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | No fee | set by the issuing city or county | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Orange County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 20 records listed for a restaurant in Orange County, CA, 6 apply to every business of this type and 14 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $515.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 20 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel: New Food Facility Construction, one-time, by square footage (FY2026-27): under 2,000 sq ft $1,599; 2,000-5,999 sq ft $2,047; 6,000-29,999 sq ft $2,174; 30,000+ sq ft $2,686. Food Establishment Remodel plan check, by area of the remodel: 1-100 sq ft $640; 101-1,000 sq ft $985; over 1,000 sq ft $1,879.
Food Facility Health Permit — restaurant, coffee shop, caterer: $482–$2,043 annual permit, FY2026-27, by prep level and seats: Minimal Prep (e.g. bars) $482 (≤60 seats) / $600 (61-100) / $633 (>100); Limited Prep $792 (≤30) / $918 (31-60) / $998 (61-100) / $1,097 (101-150) / $1,241 (151-200) / $1,305 (>200); Complex Prep $1,238 (≤30) / $1,436 (31-60) / $1,560 (61-100) / $1,717 (101-150) / $1,944 (151-200) / $2,043 (>200); Caterer (Complex Prep) $1,148/$1,391/$1,455 by square footage; each additional food-prep area $512; seasonal facility $404; bed & breakfast $320
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Orange County?
Permits for a restaurant in Orange County, CA come from 7 separate offices: OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building), OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division, Orange County Clerk-Recorder, California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Issues 8 permits on this page, including Setback Determination Letter, Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated), Building Permit Re-inspection Feepwds.oc.gov
- OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel, Food Facility Health Permit — restaurant, coffee shop, caterer1241 E Dyer Rd, Suite 120, Santa Ana, CA 92705 · 714-433-6000ochealthinfo.com
- Orange County Clerk-RecorderIssues 1 permit on this page: Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementwww.ocrecorder.com
- California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug BranchIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Facility Permit, Food Handler Cardwww.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DFDCS/Pages/FDBPrograms/FoodSafetyProgram/RetailFood.aspx
- California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Statement of Information (LLC), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation(916) 657-5448bizfileonline.sos.ca.gov
- California Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permitonlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov
- California Franchise Tax BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxwww.ftb.ca.gov
What does a restaurant need in Orange County that other businesses do not?
Food Facility Plan Check — new construction and remodel
OC HCA reviews plans and performs a pre-operational inspection before a food facility is newly built or remodeled, in every city and the unincorporated area alike. New construction costs $1,599 to $2,686 depending on the facility's square footage, and a remodel costs $640 to $1,879 depending on the size of the area remodeled, both FY2026-27 figures. This applies to restaurants, coffee shops and food-selling retail stores alike, in addition to (not instead of) the facility's own annual food facility permit.
Food Facility Health Permit — restaurant, coffee shop, caterer
Every restaurant, cafe, bar or caterer in Orange County needs an annual food facility health permit from OC HCA Environmental Health, whether it sits inside one of the 34 cities or the unincorporated area — HCA Environmental Health runs the program countywide. The FY2026-27 fee depends on menu complexity and seat count: Minimal Prep facilities such as bars pay $482 to $633; Limited Prep facilities pay $792 to $1,305; Complex Prep facilities (cooking with cooling, reheating or hot holding) pay $1,238 to $2,043. A caterer using Complex Prep pays $1,148 to $1,455 by square footage instead of seats. A second-or-later re-inspection or plan-check revision is billed hourly at $128 per quarter-hour ($192 after normal business hours). Plan check for new construction or a remodel is priced separately (recorded below). Alcohol sales are licensed by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, not OC HCA. HCA's published food permit materials cited here do not address whether a licensed childcare center's on-site kitchen needs this permit; ask HCA Environmental Health.
Shared with other businesses in Orange County
- Food Facility Permit — California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch, No fee, set by the local enforcement agency. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Handler Card — California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch, $15 statutory maximum for at least one accredited course, 3 years. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Orange County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the Orange County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Orange County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A coffee shop needs Mobile Food Facility Permit (food truck, cart), which a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 4 | 0 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 6 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Environmental Health Fees — Food and Pool, FY2026-27OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- Food Facility Health PermitOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
