Commercial Compliance Hub

22 permits · verified 2026-09-27

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Orange County?

In short

A auto repair shop in Orange County, CA has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 20 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building) charges $300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27) for the setback determination letter. 11 of the 22 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Orange County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Hazardous Materials Business Plan / Disclosureonly if it applies to youOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division$394–$1,048 annual disclosure fee, FY2026-27, tiered by chemical count: 1 chemical $394; 2-10 $565; 11-14 $600; 15-20 $647; 21-49 $805; 50-99 $871; 100-199 $964; 200+ $1,048annual disclosure update required at minimum2026-09-27
Underground Storage Tank Program (permit, plan check, removal)only if it applies to youOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division$225–$3,995 FY2026-27: Permit to Operate $725 per tank; Vaulted Tank $225; Tank Installation plan check (up to 3 tanks) $3,995 plus $666 per additional tank; Tank Removal/Closure (up to 10 hours) $1,923; Tank Modification $1,237Permit to Operate is annual; plan-check and removal/modification fees are one-time per project2026-09-27
Fire Code Operational Permits — Auto Repair Shoponly if it applies to youOrange County Fire AuthorityAnnual, FY2025-26 (issuance / reissuance): Repair and Service Garage $257/$194; Repair and Service Garage under 5,000 sq ft (Package) $237/$194; Spraying or Dipping Operation (paint booth) $375/$85; Hot Work (welding/cutting) $138/$85; Flammable Liquids (Class I) $198/$107; Combustible Liquids (Class II/IIIA) $198/$107; Compressed Gas (by hazard class) $138-$198/$85-$107; Refrigeration Equipment (large A/C-recovery systems) $315/$151.annual2026-09-27
Hazardous Waste Generator Feeonly if it applies to youOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division$237–$1,188 annual fee, FY2026-27, tiered by employee count: 0-10 employees $348; 11-25 $440; 26-50 $592; 51-100 $629; 101-250 $634; 251-500 $885; 500+ $1,188; Special Generator $237annual2026-09-27
Aboveground Storage Tank Program (TIUGA / APSA)only if it applies to youOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division$296–$481 annual fee, FY2026-27: TIUGA $296; APSA Tier I $296; APSA Tier II $370; APSA non-qualified $481annual2026-09-27
Fire Plan Check — Motor Vehicle Repair Garage / Spray Boothonly if it applies to youOrange County Fire AuthorityOne-time, effective September 1, 2025: 'S1 — Motor Vehicle Repair Garages' plan check $1,153 plus inspection $408 ($1,561 combined); Spray booth/spraying area plan check $945 plus inspection $349 ($1,294 combined).one-time per project2026-09-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Orange County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Setback Determination Letteronly if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)$300 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27)one-time2026-09-27
Sign Building Permit (illuminated / non-illuminated)only if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Varies — formula on the Orange County pageone-time for the building permit; not stated in the published fee schedule for the underlying zoning approval2026-09-27
Building Permit Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)$198 flat fee per re-inspection, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $184 in FY2024-25 and $195 in FY2025-26; combined mechanical/electrical/plumbing re-inspections get a 25% discountone-time, per re-inspection2026-09-27
Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to youOrange County Clerk-RecorderVaries — formula on the Orange County page5 years from filing date; must be republished and refiled if it lapses2026-09-27
Use Permit / Site Development Permit (zoning entitlement)only if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Varies — formula on the Orange County pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; the resulting entitlement does not expire on its own unless conditioned otherwise in the approval2026-09-27
Zoning Research/Verification Letter, Approval in Conceptonly if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)$600 T&M deposit per letter (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27)one-time2026-09-27
Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning) — standardOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)$500 T&M deposit per certificate (flat across FY2024-25/25-26/26-27)not applicable (revocable)2026-09-27
Temporary Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning)only if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)$1,143 T&M deposit, FY2026-27 (the current year of the schedule); $1,035 in FY2024-25 and $1,098 in FY2025-26time-limited by its own terms as a temporary certificate; the standard certificate replaces it once issued2026-09-27
Commercial Building/Grading Permit — New Construction, Tenant Improvementonly if it applies to youOC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building)Varies — formula on the Orange County pageper project; permit expiration per the County Building Code2026-09-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$20 per filing, biennialbiennial2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$70 one-time filingno expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$100 one-time filingno expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually2026-09-03
Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$25 per filing, annualannual2026-09-03
Seller's Permitonly if it applies to youCalifornia Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationNo fee — no fee to applyno expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller2026-09-03
Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youCalifornia Franchise Tax BoardVaries — formula on the CA pageannual, until the entity is cancelled2026-09-03
General Business License — California position (city or county, not state)California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionNo feeset by the issuing city or county2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Orange County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 22 records listed for a auto repair shop in Orange County, CA, 2 apply to every business of this type and 20 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $500.00. That is a floor, not a total. 11 of the 22 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Hazardous Materials Business Plan / Disclosure: $394–$1,048 annual disclosure fee, FY2026-27, tiered by chemical count: 1 chemical $394; 2-10 $565; 11-14 $600; 15-20 $647; 21-49 $805; 50-99 $871; 100-199 $964; 200+ $1,048

Underground Storage Tank Program (permit, plan check, removal): $225–$3,995 FY2026-27: Permit to Operate $725 per tank; Vaulted Tank $225; Tank Installation plan check (up to 3 tanks) $3,995 plus $666 per additional tank; Tank Removal/Closure (up to 10 hours) $1,923; Tank Modification $1,237

Fire Code Operational Permits — Auto Repair Shop: Annual, FY2025-26 (issuance / reissuance): Repair and Service Garage $257/$194; Repair and Service Garage under 5,000 sq ft (Package) $237/$194; Spraying or Dipping Operation (paint booth) $375/$85; Hot Work (welding/cutting) $138/$85; Flammable Liquids (Class I) $198/$107; Combustible Liquids (Class II/IIIA) $198/$107; Compressed Gas (by hazard class) $138-$198/$85-$107; Refrigeration Equipment (large A/C-recovery systems) $315/$151.

Hazardous Waste Generator Fee: $237–$1,188 annual fee, FY2026-27, tiered by employee count: 0-10 employees $348; 11-25 $440; 26-50 $592; 51-100 $629; 101-250 $634; 251-500 $885; 500+ $1,188; Special Generator $237

Aboveground Storage Tank Program (TIUGA / APSA): $296–$481 annual fee, FY2026-27: TIUGA $296; APSA Tier I $296; APSA Tier II $370; APSA non-qualified $481

Fire Plan Check — Motor Vehicle Repair Garage / Spray Booth: One-time, effective September 1, 2025: 'S1 — Motor Vehicle Repair Garages' plan check $1,153 plus inspection $408 ($1,561 combined); Spray booth/spraying area plan check $945 plus inspection $349 ($1,294 combined).

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Orange County?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Orange County, CA come from 7 separate offices: OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division, OC Development Services (OC Public Works — Planning and Building), Orange County Fire Authority, Orange County Clerk-Recorder, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Orange County that other businesses do not?

5 of the 6 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Orange County: Underground Storage Tank Program (permit, plan check, removal), Fire Code Operational Permits — Auto Repair Shop, Hazardous Waste Generator Fee and 2 more.

Hazardous Materials Business Plan / Disclosure

A business that uses, handles or stores hazardous materials at or above 55 gallons (liquid), 500 pounds (solid) or 200 cubic feet (gas) — or any lesser amount exceeding a listed extremely hazardous substance's federal threshold — must file a hazardous materials business plan and pay this annual disclosure fee to OC HCA Environmental Health, the county's CalEPA-designated CUPA. This program reaches every city in Orange County EXCEPT Anaheim, which has run its own independent CUPA through Anaheim Fire & Rescue since July 1, 2001 — a business in Anaheim files with Anaheim Fire & Rescue instead, not OC HCA. Santa Ana, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach and Orange are sometimes mischaracterized as having their own independent CUPAs; they do not, and Santa Ana's own government page confirms it relies on OC HCA. The FY2026-27 fee is tiered by chemical count, from $394 for one chemical to $1,048 for 200 or more. Named exemptions include: medical gases (oxygen, nitrogen, nitrous oxide) held by a veterinarian at 1,000 cubic feet or less; lubricating oil where each type is 55 gallons or less and the total of all types is 275 gallons or less at any time (relevant to auto-repair shops); hazardous material solely contained in a consumer product for direct public distribution; in-transit material under active shipping papers for 30 days or less with no bulk storage; and propane used for personal heating at a place of business. Hazardous waste must always be disclosed regardless of these thresholds.

Underground Storage Tank Program (permit, plan check, removal)

An auto-repair shop with an underground fuel or fluid storage tank needs a Permit to Operate ($725 per tank, or $225 for a vaulted tank) and separately pays for tank installation plan check ($3,995 for up to three tanks, plus $666 per additional tank), removal or closure ($1,923 for up to 10 hours) or modification ($1,237), all FY2026-27 figures. The Underground Storage Tank sub-program has a narrower exclusion than the rest of OC HCA's CUPA program: it excludes BOTH the City of Anaheim and the City of Orange, not Anaheim alone — a tank in either city is regulated by that city's own fire department rather than OC HCA.

Fire Code Operational Permits — Auto Repair Shop

An auto-repair shop in one of OCFA's 23 member/contract cities or the unincorporated area holds a separate annual operational fire permit for each hazardous activity it performs on-site, FY2025-26 fees: a base Repair and Service Garage permit at $257 issuance/$194 reissuance ($237/$194 for a package under 5,000 square feet), plus, as applicable, Spraying or Dipping (paint booth) at $375/$85, Hot Work at $138/$85, Flammable Liquids at $198/$107, Combustible Liquids at $198/$107, Compressed Gas at $138-$198/$85-$107 depending on hazard class, and Refrigeration Equipment at $315/$151. A shop needing multiple of these holds multiple permits at their combined cost. A 0.17% cost-recovery adjustment took effect June 25, 2026, after these figures were adopted; they remain accurate to within a fraction of a percent. Outside OCFA's 23-city footprint, the shop's own city fire department issues these permits instead, under its own fee schedule, out of scope here.

Hazardous Waste Generator Fee

An auto-repair shop generating hazardous waste — used oil, solvents, batteries, refrigerants and similar byproducts of routine repair work — pays OC HCA's annual hazardous waste generator fee, tiered by employee count from $348 (10 or fewer employees) to $1,188 (over 500 employees) in FY2026-27, or $237 under the Special Generator category for a qualifying smaller-volume generator. This applies everywhere in the county except Anaheim, which collects its own equivalent fee through its independent CUPA. This fee is separate from, and in addition to, the hazardous materials disclosure fee recorded above.

Aboveground Storage Tank Program (TIUGA / APSA)

An auto-repair shop with an aboveground fuel or fluid storage tank pays an annual fee under OC HCA's Tanks in Underground Areas (TIUGA) or Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) categories: $296 for TIUGA or APSA Tier I, $370 for APSA Tier II, or $481 for a non-qualified APSA facility, all FY2026-27 figures. This program follows OC HCA's general CUPA scope — countywide except Anaheim — rather than the narrower Anaheim-and-Orange exclusion that applies specifically to the underground storage tank sub-program.

Fire Plan Check — Motor Vehicle Repair Garage / Spray Booth

Building or substantially remodeling an auto-repair shop, or installing a paint spray booth, in one of OCFA's 23 member/contract cities or the unincorporated area requires an OCFA fire plan check before the operational permits above are issued: $1,153 plan check plus $408 inspection ($1,561 combined) for a motor-vehicle repair garage under fee code S1, or $945 plan check plus $349 inspection ($1,294 combined) for a spray booth or spraying area, both effective September 1, 2025. Effective August 1, 2026, OCFA requires plan-review application fees to be paid at the time of submittal, before the application enters the review queue, rather than billed later in the process. Outside OCFA's 23-city footprint, the applicable fire authority is that city's own.

The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Orange County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the Orange County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Orange County?

The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Underground Storage Tank Program (permit, plan check, removal), Fire Code Operational Permits — Auto Repair Shop, Hazardous Waste Generator Fee and 2 more. A veterinary clinic needs Animal Facility Business License — Veterinary Hospitals (Orange County) and Veterinary Premises Registration, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Orange County, CA, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Veterinary clinics3152
Contractors and trades4153
Childcare centres4064
Coffee shops5065
Fitness studios2062
Food trucks4064
Restaurants4064
Retail stores5065
Salons and barbers3063

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Orange County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Environmental Health Fees — Hazardous Materials Management, FY2026-27OC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  2. Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) — states the program covers the county 'except for the city of Anaheim' and lists Participating AgenciesOC Health Care Agency, Environmental Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  3. Orange County Health Care Agency — confirms Santa Ana relies on OC HCA rather than an independent CUPACity of Santa Ana · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  4. Hazardous Materials Section — 'AFR is the only fire department in Orange County recognized by the state as a Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA),' effective since July 1, 2001Anaheim Fire & Rescue · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  5. Fee Schedule — Prevention Field Services, effective September 1, 2025Orange County Fire Authority · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  6. Member Cities (the 23 cities OCFA serves by contract or joint-powers membership)Orange County Fire Authority · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  7. Letter to partner cities: 0.17% cost-recovery adjustment to the Community Risk Reduction fee schedule, effective June 25, 2026Orange County Fire Authority · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  8. Fee Schedule — Planning & Development (plan check), effective September 1, 2025Orange County Fire Authority · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.