Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Gillette?

In short

A salon or barber in Gillette, WY has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division charges $30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not video for the sign permit. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Gillette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Salon and Barber Shop — State Board Licenses Apply (Gillette)only if it applies to youCity of Gillette, City ClerkNo feenot applicable locally; the state salon license is annual2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division$30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not videonot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Salon LicenseWyoming Board of Cosmetology$75 a year to renew; opening a new salon adds a $225 application fee, the same figure charged to relocate an existing oneannual — every salon license expires December 312026-09-04
Barber Shop LicenseWyoming Board of Barber Examiners$85 a year to renew; a new shop or a change of location each add a $100 application feeannual — a shop must apply to renew by June 30, and the license expires outright if not renewed by July 312026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Gillette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of Gillette position (enumerated licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Gillette, City ClerkNo feenot applicable to a general license; enumerated licenses are valid for the calendar year in which granted under §10-1(3)(b)2026-09-14
Commercial Site Plan / Zoning Variance and Planning Applicationsonly if it applies to youCity of Gillette, Development Services — City Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Gillette pageone-time per application2026-09-14
Fire Inspection and Permits (joint powers department; fees not published)Campbell County Fire Department (Gillette/Wright/Campbell County Fire Protection Joint Powers Board)No feea business life safety survey is annual, per the department's own list of inspection types ('Life Safety Survey (annual business)'); construction acceptance inspections are one-time2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy — Required; No Fee Line in Chapter 5 (Gillette)City of Gillette, Development Services — Building DivisionNo feeone-time, issued before occupancy2026-09-14
Building Permit (priced by floor area, not valuation)City of Gillette, Development Services — Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Gillette pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Report License Taxonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionVaries — formula on the WY pageannual — due in the entity's own anniversary month of formation; may be filed up to 120 days early2026-09-04
Sales Tax Vendor LicenseWyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division$60 one-time — reinstating a forfeited license also costs $60no expiration — valid without further payment until the department revokes it2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Gillette?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a salon or barber in Gillette, WY, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $220.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Gillette permits page and the WY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Gillette?

Permits for a salon or barber in Gillette, WY come from 8 separate offices: City of Gillette, City Clerk, City of Gillette, Development Services — City Planning Division, Campbell County Fire Department (Gillette/Wright/Campbell County Fire Protection Joint Powers Board), City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division, Wyoming Board of Cosmetology, Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners, Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division, Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Gillette that other businesses do not?

3 of the 4 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Gillette: Salon and Barber Shop — State Board Licenses Apply (Gillette), Salon License and Barber Shop License.

Salon and Barber Shop — State Board Licenses Apply (Gillette)

Chapter 10 of the City Code, the City's licensing ordinance, lists no salon, barber, tattoo or body art license, so this record carries no fee at city level — a contrast with Cheyenne, which charges $65.00 annually for a barber or beauty shop and $165.00 for body art, and Casper, which charges $25.00 for body art. The state licenses instead, and through two separate boards: the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology charges $75.00 per year for a salon license with a $225.00 application fee, while barber shops fall to the Board of Barber Examiners at $85.00 annually with a $100.00 new shop application. A salon's Gillette obligations are the building permit priced by floor area, the sign permit at $30.00, planning approval where required and Campbell County Fire Department inspection.

Salon License

A late renewal adds a penalty on a rising scale — $20, $40 or $60 depending on how many days past December 31 it runs.

Barber Shop License

Barbering is licensed separately from cosmetology, by its own board, even though both share the same Cheyenne office and administrative staff. A combined salon-and-barbershop must hold both licenses at once rather than one covering both trades. A late renewal adds a flat $40 penalty.

Shared with other businesses in Gillette

  • Sign Permit — City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division, $30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not video, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Gillette, WY; what each one involves is set out on the Gillette permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WY and are covered on the WY state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Gillette?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon and Barber Shop — State Board Licenses Apply (Gillette), Salon License and Barber Shop License. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — City Licensing Chapter Position (Gillette), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Gillette, WY, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2131
Auto repair shops3132
Retail stores3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Coffee shops4133
Restaurants4133
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044
Food trucks3043

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Gillette permits page and the WY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Gillette City Code Chapter 10 (Licenses and Permits), revised June 2025 by Ordinance No. 4062 — the complete list of licensed activities, including §10-2 itinerant vendors and door-to-door solicitors at $50.00, §10-3 pawnbrokers at $100.00, §10-4 sexually oriented businesses at $250.00, §10-5 mobile food vendors at $75.00, §10-6 circus and amusement ride permits at $100.00 per day and §10-7 special event permits at $25.00, together with §10-1's calendar-year term and $750.00 penaltyCity of Gillette · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Wyoming Board of Cosmetology rules — salon license fees and annual December 31 expirationWyoming Board of Cosmetology · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners rules — barbershop license fees and the June 30 renewal deadlineWyoming Board of Barber Examiners · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.