Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Gillette?

In short

A fitness studio in Gillette, WY has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division charges $30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not video for the sign permit. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Gillette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fitness Studio — City Licensing Chapter Position (Gillette)only if it applies to youCity of Gillette, City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division$30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not videonot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Gillette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of Gillette position (enumerated licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Gillette, City ClerkNo feenot applicable to a general license; enumerated licenses are valid for the calendar year in which granted under §10-1(3)(b)2026-09-14
Commercial Site Plan / Zoning Variance and Planning Applicationsonly if it applies to youCity of Gillette, Development Services — City Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Gillette pageone-time per application2026-09-14
Fire Inspection and Permits (joint powers department; fees not published)Campbell County Fire Department (Gillette/Wright/Campbell County Fire Protection Joint Powers Board)No feea business life safety survey is annual, per the department's own list of inspection types ('Life Safety Survey (annual business)'); construction acceptance inspections are one-time2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy — Required; No Fee Line in Chapter 5 (Gillette)City of Gillette, Development Services — Building DivisionNo feeone-time, issued before occupancy2026-09-14
Building Permit (priced by floor area, not valuation)City of Gillette, Development Services — Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Gillette pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Report License Taxonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionVaries — formula on the WY pageannual — due in the entity's own anniversary month of formation; may be filed up to 120 days early2026-09-04
Sales Tax Vendor LicenseWyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division$60 one-time — reinstating a forfeited license also costs $60no expiration — valid without further payment until the department revokes it2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Gillette?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Gillette, WY, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Gillette permits page and the WY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Gillette?

Permits for a fitness studio in Gillette, WY come from 6 separate offices: City of Gillette, City Clerk, City of Gillette, Development Services — City Planning Division, Campbell County Fire Department (Gillette/Wright/Campbell County Fire Protection Joint Powers Board), City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division, Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division, Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Gillette that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Gillette: Fitness Studio — City Licensing Chapter Position (Gillette).

Fitness Studio — City Licensing Chapter Position (Gillette)

Chapter 10 of the City Code, the City's licensing ordinance, lists no fitness or health club category, so this record carries no fee. A studio's Gillette obligations are the building permit priced by floor area — favourable for a studio, since a 4,000 square foot space is $150.00 regardless of fit-out cost — the $30.00 sign permit, a commercial site plan at $340.00 or another planning application where the district requires one, and Campbell County Fire Department inspection.

Shared with other businesses in Gillette

  • Sign Permit — City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division, $30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not video, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Gillette, WY; what each one involves is set out on the Gillette permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WY and are covered on the WY state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Gillette?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Fitness Studio — City Licensing Chapter Position (Gillette). A auto repair shop needs Auto Repair Shop — City Licensing Chapter Position (Gillette) and Auto Repair Shop Licensing — Wyoming Position, which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Gillette, WY, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3112
Retail stores3112
Veterinary clinics3112
Coffee shops4113
Restaurants4113
Salons and barbers4113
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Gillette permits page and the WY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Gillette City Code Chapter 10 (Licenses and Permits), revised June 2025 by Ordinance No. 4062 — the complete list of licensed activities, including §10-2 itinerant vendors and door-to-door solicitors at $50.00, §10-3 pawnbrokers at $100.00, §10-4 sexually oriented businesses at $250.00, §10-5 mobile food vendors at $75.00, §10-6 circus and amusement ride permits at $100.00 per day and §10-7 special event permits at $25.00, together with §10-1's calendar-year term and $750.00 penaltyCity of Gillette · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.