Gillette
City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division
In short
City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division issues 4 permits we publish for Gillette, last verified 2026-09-14. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor License (bond required; licensing required regardless of permits) | City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division | Class A general contractor is $500.00, Class B building contractor $300.00, Class R residential contractor $150.00, Class D vocational contractor $150.00, Class F fire suppression contractor $75.00 and Class C specialty contractor $75.00. Code §5-III-7 confirms Class A, B and R at the same amounts on both new and renewal. Trade contractor and individual licenses under §§5-III-18 to 5-III-41: an electrical contractor is $150.00 new and $50.00 to renew, a master electrician $50.00 and $5.00, a journeyman electrician $25.00 and $5.00; a plumbing contractor $150.00 and $50.00, a master plumber $50.00 and $50.00, a journeyman plumber $25.00 and $25.00 and an apprentice $5.00; an HVAC mechanical contractor $150.00 and $50.00 with master, journeyman and apprentice at $50.00, $25.00 and $5.00; a gas pipefitter contractor $150.00 and $50.00 on the same individual scale; refrigeration technicians at $50.00, $25.00 and $5.00; and a residential fire suppression system license $50.00. A bond of not less than $5,000 is required in every case. | one year, renewed annually with an application fee and required documentation; approved by the Board of Examiners, which meets the second Tuesday of each month | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Required; No Fee Line in Chapter 5 (Gillette) | City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division | No fee | one-time, issued before occupancy | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit (priced by floor area, not valuation) | City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division | By building square footage under §5-IV-1(b): $30.00 for 0 to 500 square feet, $60.00 for 500 to 1,000, $100.00 for 1,000 to 2,000, $150.00 for 2,000 to 5,000, and over 5,000 square feet $150.00 plus $0.04 per square foot. Commercial plan review escalates sharply under §5-IV-1(a): the first review is $100.00, the second $200.00, the third $1,125.00 and the fourth and any additional reviews $1,500.00 each, with no charge for plan review of one and two family dwellings. A re-inspection is $60.00. Miscellaneous residential work including remodels, damage, repair or residing is $20.00 and miscellaneous commercial remodels up to 500 square feet are $30.00, with larger projects taking the square-footage table. A demolition permit is $60.00, a grading plan review and grading permit $60.00, cell and other towers $100.00, antenna co-locates $100.00, temporary job trailers $30.00 and a fire sprinkler system $30.00. Commercial re-roofing is $0.0050 per square foot. Commencing work before obtaining a permit carries an investigation fee of $100.00 or twice the permit fee, whichever is greater. Permits for work following a disaster are free of charge. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Gillette, Development Services — Building Division | $30 per sign permit, including LED signs but not video | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Contractor License (bond required; licensing required regardless of permits)
Two features make Gillette's regime more demanding than Cheyenne's or Casper's. First, the trigger: the application states that 'All Contractors, Subcontractors and Contract Labor working on infrastructure, improvements and repairs in the public right-of-way, and City projects, are required and shall hold the class of license required for the work performed,' and that 'Licensing is required regardless of the project size, duration, and whether or not a permit or inspection is required.' A contractor cannot avoid the license by staying below a permit threshold. Second, the security: unlike Cheyenne and Casper, which require insurance only, Gillette requires a bond as well — 'Applicant shall acquire a Bond in the amount of not less than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) and shall submit the Bond to the Building Inspection Division,' with the City as obligee — plus a letter of good financial standing from a financial institution or CPA, a Wyoming Secretary of State good-standing printout, and workers' compensation and unemployment registration. Lapse is immediate and severe: 'the license is immediately suspended. No inspections, permits, or Certificates of Occupancy will be issued until the bond is provided.' Insurance minimums are $1,000,000 and $2,000,000 for Class A, $500,000 and $1,000,000 for Classes B and R, and $300,000 and $600,000 for Classes C, D and F. Class scope runs from Class A, which 'may construct, alter, add to, repair, or demolish any type or size of structure permitted by the adopted codes,' down through Class B for buildings of three stories or less and commercial up to 5,000 square feet, to Class R for one and two family dwellings. Electricians need both layers — the City requires the license and notes that 'Electrical Contractors and Electricians are required to be licensed through the State of Wyoming.'
Certificate of Occupancy — Required; No Fee Line in Chapter 5 (Gillette)
Chapter 5 of the City Code (Buildings, revised June 2026) contains no fee line for a certificate of occupancy, so this record carries no fee. Section 5-I-1(D) provides that 'The fees for work under the Adopted Construction Codes are as established by City ordinance.' The ordinance's fee article, Article IV (§§5-IV-1 to 5-IV-3), prices plan review, building permits by floor area, signs, demolition, grading, towers, re-inspections and electrical, plumbing, mechanical and gas permits; that ordinance article lists no certificate of occupancy fee. The City's commercial building permit flow chart likewise ends at a 'TCO/CO CERTIFICATE OF OCCUPANCY' step issued by Building Inspection, with no fee shown. The requirement is clear, and it is enforced against contractors as a licensing matter as well as against owners. Chapter 5 lists 'Failure to obtain a Certificate of Occupancy prior to occupancy by an owner' and 'Failure to comply with the terms of a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy' among the violations that put a contractor's license at risk (§5-III-10(a)(1)). The contractor application lists 'acquiring a Certificate of Occupancy prior to habitation' among a licensee's obligations, and it ties the certificate to the bond: if a contractor's bond lapses, 'No inspections, permits, or Certificates of Occupancy will be issued until the bond is provided,' and its insurance clause says the same of a lapsed insurance certificate.
Building Permit (priced by floor area, not valuation)
Pricing by floor area rather than construction valuation is genuinely unusual and changes which projects are expensive. A high-specification restaurant fit-out in a 2,500 square foot unit pays $150.00 here, where a valuation-based city would charge on the cost of the work; a plain 20,000 square foot warehouse pays $150.00 plus $800.00. The escalation in commercial plan review is the real risk to budget: a third review costs $1,125.00, more than eleven times the first, which puts a substantial premium on getting drawings right early. Trade permits are separate and detailed. Electrical work has a $10.00 minimum, with commercial single phase at $40.00 to $50.00 by amperage and three phase at $50.00 to $60.00, plus $5.00 per sub-panel and $10.00 for each lighted sign. Plumbing has a $10.00 minimum with $2.00 per fixture, $10.00 per water heater and — directly relevant to restaurants — $10.00 for an industrial waste pre-treatment grease or sand-oil interceptor. The City has adopted the 2024 editions of the IBC, IRC, IFC, IEBC, IMC, IPC and IFG together with the 2023 National Electrical Code.
Sign Permit
At a flat $30.00 this costs less than the sign permit in Cheyenne or Casper, and the schedule's parenthetical is worth reading carefully — it 'includes LED, not video,' so an animated video display is not covered by this line and would need to be priced separately with the Building Division. Electrical work on an illuminated sign is charged on its own table: §5-IV-2 sets a $10.00 minimum electrical permit fee plus $10.00 for each lighted sign. The work must be done by the right license class — the contractor rules provide that 'A Licensed Class D – Electrical Contractor must obtain a permit for electrical work associated with a sign,' and signage is one of the named Class C specialty categories.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Gillette
- Phone
- (307) 686-5260
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Commercial Building Permit Process flow chart: 'FIRE PLANS (TO CCFD)' with the building permit application, ending at a 'TCO/CO CERTIFICATE OF OCCUPANCY' step issued by Building Inspection, with no fee shownCity of Gillette Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Contractor and individual trade license applications, revised June 25, 2026 — the six contractor classes and their fees and scope, the $5,000 bond requirement, the insurance minimums by class, the letter of good financial standing, the Board of Examiners process and the statement that licensing is required regardless of project size or whether a permit is requiredCity of Gillette Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Gillette City Code Chapter 5 (Buildings), revised June 2026 — §5-I adopting the 2024 International Building Code and naming the Fire Protection Joint Powers Board as the City's fire prevention department, §5-III contractor and trade license fees, and §5-IV-1 the square-footage building permit fee schedule, plan review escalation, re-inspection fee and unpermitted-work investigation fee, with §5-IV-2 electrical and §5-IV-3 plumbing permit feesCity of Gillette · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Wyoming Secretary of State — business FAQ, confirming no general license beyond entity registrationWyoming Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Other offices serving Gillette
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Wyoming jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
