Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Cheyenne?

In short

A fitness studio in Cheyenne, WY has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division charges $100 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Cheyenne

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fitness Studio — City Licensing Position (Cheyenne)only if it applies to youCity of Cheyenne, City Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Sign Permit (building permit plus review fee)only if it applies to youCity of Cheyenne, Planning and Development DepartmentThere is no standalone flat sign fee. The Unified Development Code requires a building permit for every sign, so the cost is the §15.08.030 valuation-based building permit fee computed on the sign's value, plus a $50.00 Sign Permit Review Fee on the planning schedule. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 is not charged here; a zoning variance, where one is needed, is $675.00.not stated in the published schedule2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cheyenne

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit / Zoning Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Cheyenne, Planning and Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Cheyenne pageone-time per application2026-09-14
Building PermitCity of Cheyenne, Compliance Department — Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Cheyenne pagenot stated in the published schedule; renewal of an expired permit costs fifteen percent of the original permit valuation2026-09-14
General Business License — City of Cheyenne position (twenty-eight enumerated categories)only if it applies to youCity of Cheyenne, City Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable to a general license; enumerated licenses expire annually, one year from the date of issuance, with a thirty-day grace period and a $25.00 late renewal fee2026-09-14
Fire Inspection and Operational Permit (fee not published)Cheyenne Fire RescueNo feenot stated in any published source2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (final certificate free; temporary and change of use charged)City of Cheyenne, Compliance Department — Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Cheyenne pagea temporary certificate is converted within thirty, sixty or ninety days on the refund scale2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Report License Taxonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionVaries — formula on the WY pageannual — due in the entity's own anniversary month of formation; may be filed up to 120 days early2026-09-04
Sales Tax Vendor LicenseWyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division$60 one-time — reinstating a forfeited license also costs $60no expiration — valid without further payment until the department revokes it2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Cheyenne?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Cheyenne, WY, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit (building permit plus review fee): There is no standalone flat sign fee. The Unified Development Code requires a building permit for every sign, so the cost is the §15.08.030 valuation-based building permit fee computed on the sign's value, plus a $50.00 Sign Permit Review Fee on the planning schedule. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 is not charged here; a zoning variance, where one is needed, is $675.00.

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cheyenne permits page and the WY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Cheyenne?

Permits for a fitness studio in Cheyenne, WY come from 6 separate offices: City of Cheyenne, Planning and Development Department, City of Cheyenne, City Clerk's Office, City of Cheyenne, Compliance Department — Building Safety, Cheyenne Fire Rescue, Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division, Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Cheyenne that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Cheyenne: Fitness Studio — City Licensing Position (Cheyenne).

Fitness Studio — City Licensing Position (Cheyenne)

The Clerk's live fee table and the twenty-eight categories at §5.04.030 list no fitness studio category, so this record carries no fee. The obligations that do reach a studio are the building permit for fit-out at the §15.08.030 valuation rates, the sign permit through the building permit route plus the $50.00 planning review, a conditional use permit at $825.00 or a site plan approval where the district requires one, and a fire inspection whose fee is not published. Categories on the Clerk's list that sit adjacent but do not reach an ordinary studio include bowling alleys and lanes at $135.00 and skating rinks at $135.00.

Shared with other businesses in Cheyenne

  • Sign Permit (building permit plus review fee) — City of Cheyenne, Planning and Development Department, There is no standalone flat sign fee. The Unified Development Code requires a building permit for every sign, so the cost is the §15.08.030 valuation-based building permit fee computed on the sign's value, plus a $50.00 Sign Permit Review Fee on the planning schedule. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 is not charged here; a zoning variance, where one is needed, is $675.00., not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cheyenne, WY; what each one involves is set out on the Cheyenne permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WY and are covered on the WY state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Cheyenne?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Fitness Studio — City Licensing Position (Cheyenne). A retail store needs Retail Store — City Licensing Position (nicotine and secondhand goods are licensed) (Cheyenne), which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Cheyenne, WY, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2111
Auto repair shops3112
Veterinary clinics3112
Coffee shops4113
Restaurants4113
Salons and barbers4113
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cheyenne permits page and the WY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business Licensing Applications — the City Clerk's own live 'Current Fee' table listing every business and activity the Clerk licenses and its fee, including the $115.00 restaurant license, the $65.00 garage and auto dealer license and the $65.00 barber and beauty shop licenseCity of Cheyenne, City Clerk's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Cheyenne Municipal Code, Supplement 73, codified through Ordinance 4662 (3-23-2026) — §5.04.030 (the twenty-eight enumerated license categories), §5.04.090 (annual expiry and the $25.00 late renewal fee), §5.08.030 (barber and beauty shop), §5.08.240 (nicotine retail), §5.20.030 (garage and car lot), §5.44.020 (contractor licensing requirement), §5.52.040 (massage establishment), §5.76.030 (transient merchant), §8.12.020 (2024 International Fire Code adoption), §8.40.040 (county health application precondition), §8.40.060 (food service establishment fee) and §8.40.070 (mobile food vendor fees), and §15.08.030 (building permit fees)City of Cheyenne · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.