Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-10-02

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Davis County Ut?

In short

A childcare centre in Davis County Ut, UT has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Davis County Community & Economic Development charges $60 a year for the general business license — all other business. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-02 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Davis County Ut

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Handler PermitDavis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division$25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00.Not stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-02
Residential Care / Childcare Food Service Inspectiononly if it applies to youDavis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division$85 per inspectionPer inspection2026-10-02
Child Care Centre LicenseUtah Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Background Checks$62 license fee, plus $200 for a new centre and $1.75 for every child of licensed capacityannual — the same fee applies at renewal as at first issue2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Davis County Ut

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — All Other BusinessDavis County Community & Economic Development$60 a yearAnnual, expires December 31; renewal due by January 312026-10-02
General Business License — Home Occupationonly if it applies to youDavis County Community & Economic Development$50 a yearAnnual, expires December 31; renewal due by January 312026-10-02
Building Permitonly if it applies to youDavis County Community & Economic DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Davis County Ut pageOne-time, per permit2026-10-02
Zoning / Land Use Feesonly if it applies to youDavis County Community & Economic DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Davis County Ut pagePer application2026-10-02
Onsite Wastewater (Septic) System Permitonly if it applies to youDavis County Health Department, Environmental Health DivisionVaries — formula on the Davis County Ut pagePer system2026-10-02

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

UT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-04
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$18 a year; a late renewal adds $10annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Davis County Ut?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a childcare centre in Davis County Ut, UT, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Handler Permit: $25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00.

Child Care Centre License: $62 license fee, plus $200 for a new centre and $1.75 for every child of licensed capacity

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Davis County Ut permits page and the UT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Davis County Ut?

Permits for a childcare centre in Davis County Ut, UT come from 4 separate offices: Davis County Community & Economic Development, Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Background Checks. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Davis County Ut that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Davis County Ut: Residential Care / Childcare Food Service Inspection and Child Care Centre License.

Residential Care / Childcare Food Service Inspection

A childcare facility licensed for 16 or fewer children that provides or prepares food anywhere in Davis County needs this inspection from the Davis County Health Department, priced at $85.00 per inspection and itemized in the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation as 'Residential Care Food Inspection: $85.00.' A childcare centre licensed for more than 16 children instead needs the standard Food Establishment Permit recorded separately for Davis County. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.

Child Care Centre License

The base license fee is a flat $62 whether a facility is a family home or a centre, but a centre pays two further charges a home does not: $200 as a one-time fee for a new centre or a change of location, and $1.75 for every child of approved capacity, applied at both first issue and renewal — a fifty-child centre pays $87.50 on that line alone. A family or home-based provider pays only the flat $62. Renewing more than thirty days late adds a $31 penalty plus, for a centre, seventy-five cents per child. Fingerprinting for a required background check is billed separately, at $42 per person.

Shared with other businesses in Davis County Ut

  • Food Handler Permit — Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division, $25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00., Not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Davis County Ut, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Davis County Ut permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Davis County Ut?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Residential Care / Childcare Food Service Inspection and Child Care Centre License. A coffee shop needs Food Establishment Permit, Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice), Temporary Food Establishment Permit and 3 more, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Davis County Ut, UT, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops7126
Food trucks7126
Restaurants8127
Auto repair shops3033
Contractors and trades5035
Fitness studios1031
Retail stores3033
Salons and barbers3033
Veterinary clinics2032

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Davis County Ut permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Davis County Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation, effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024 (signed by Board Chairman Brandon Hatch and Director of Health Brian Hatch, M.P.H.)Davis County Board of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
  2. Davis County Health Department — Daycare Facility page (childcare food-service inspection scope)Davis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
  3. Utah Division of Licensing and Background Checks — child care licensing fee schedule, effective 1 July 2025Utah Division of Licensing and Background Checks · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.