21 permits · verified 2026-09-30
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Weber County?
In short
A restaurant in Weber County, UT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 14 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Weber-Morgan Health Department charges $25 per worker ($15.00 state fee plus $10.00 WMHD training); a duplicate card is $5.00 for the wmhd food worker permit. 10 of the 21 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-30 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Weber County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beer License — Seasonalonly if it applies to you | Weber County Commission | $150.00 for 3 months, $300.00 for 6 months, or $450.00 for 9 months or any part of a year exceeding 6 months, carrying the privileges of a Class C (draft) license for less than a full year. | up to one year, in 3/6/9-month increments | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Food Worker Permit | Weber-Morgan Health Department | $25 per worker ($15.00 state fee plus $10.00 WMHD training); a duplicate card is $5.00 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Food Establishment Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | Weber-Morgan Health Department | New construction or an extensive remodel, by risk category: Risk 1 $425.00; Risk 2 $675.00; Risk 3 $1,050.00; Risk 4 $1,200.00. Onsite consultation or a small remodel: $100.00. Change-of-ownership review: $230.00. | one-time (new construction or extensive remodel) | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Restaurant | Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management) | $100 a year | annual (calendar year, January 1 to December 31); a license issued mid-year is prorated to year-end | 2026-09-30 |
| Beer License — Class B (Restaurant, On-Premise)only if it applies to you | Weber County Commission | $200 a year | annual | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop) | Weber-Morgan Health Department | $200–$735 a year, by risk category (2026 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026): Risk 1 $200.00; Risk 2 $400.00; Risk 3 $575.00; Risk 4 $735.00 | annual | 2026-09-30 |
| Beer License — Class C (Draft, On or Off Premise)only if it applies to you | Weber County Commission | $500 a year | annual | 2026-09-30 |
| Food Handler Card | Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division | Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once | 3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103) | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) | Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division | No fee | set locally | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Weber County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Inspection Add-On Fees (Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical)only if it applies to you | Weber County Building Inspection / Building Official | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| Land Use Permit | Weber County Planning Division | $250 one-time, per new business license application ($150.00 Planning Division base fee plus $100.00 Engineering Division fee; a re-review, where needed, adds $75.00 Planning plus $25.00 Engineering) | one-time, accompanying a new business license application | 2026-09-30 |
| Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Weber County Building Inspection / Building Official | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | one-time, per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| Beer License — Class D (Special Event)only if it applies to you | Weber County Commission | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per event, at commission-designated premises and times | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Weber-Morgan Health Department | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per event | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Onsite Wastewater (Septic) Permitonly if it applies to you | Weber-Morgan Health Department | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Home Occupationonly if it applies to you | Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management) | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | annual (calendar year, January 1 to December 31); a license issued mid-year is prorated to year-end | 2026-09-30 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
UT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax License | Utah State Tax Commission | No fee | ongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | No fee | set by the city or county | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Renewalonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $18 a year; a late renewal adds $10 | annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Weber County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 21 records listed for a restaurant in Weber County, UT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 14 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $375.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 21 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Beer License — Seasonal: $150.00 for 3 months, $300.00 for 6 months, or $450.00 for 9 months or any part of a year exceeding 6 months, carrying the privileges of a Class C (draft) license for less than a full year.
WMHD Food Establishment Plan Review: New construction or an extensive remodel, by risk category: Risk 1 $425.00; Risk 2 $675.00; Risk 3 $1,050.00; Risk 4 $1,200.00. Onsite consultation or a small remodel: $100.00. Change-of-ownership review: $230.00.
WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop): $200–$735 a year, by risk category (2026 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026): Risk 1 $200.00; Risk 2 $400.00; Risk 3 $575.00; Risk 4 $735.00
Food Handler Card: Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Weber County permits page and the UT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Weber County?
Permits for a restaurant in Weber County, UT come from 8 separate offices: Weber County Building Inspection / Building Official, Weber County Commission, Weber-Morgan Health Department, Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management), Weber County Planning Division, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Weber County Building Inspection / Building OfficialIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Inspection Add-On Fees (Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical), Building Permitweber.municipalcodeonline.com/book?type=ordinances#name=Title_12_Building_Regulations_And_Site_Permits
- Weber County CommissionIssues 4 permits on this page: Beer License — Seasonal, Beer License — Class B (Restaurant, On-Premise), Beer License — Class D (Special Event), Beer License — Class C (Draft, On or Off Premise)weber.municipalcodeonline.com/book?type=ordinances#name=Title_8_Beer
- Weber-Morgan Health DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including WMHD Food Worker Permit, WMHD Food Establishment Plan Review, WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop)477 23rd St, Ogden, UT 84401 · (801) 399-7160 (Environmental Health); (801) 399-7100 (Administration)www.webermorganhealth.gov/about/fee-schedule-2
- Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management)Issues 2 permits on this page: General Business License — Restaurant, General Business License — Home Occupation2380 Washington Blvd, Suite 240, Ogden, UT 84401 · (801) 399-8374 (shared with the Planning Division; this is the number the Business License Portal's own FAQ page lists for license questions)frontier.co.weber.ut.us/BusinessLicense/Temp/Step1
- Weber County Planning DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Land Use Permit(801) 399-8374www.webercountyutah.gov/planning/files.php
- Utah State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax License210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84134 · (801) 297-2200tax.utah.gov
- Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Handler Card, Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state)4315 South 2700 West, Taylorsville, UT 84129 · (385) 332-1499ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/retail-food-regulatory-program
- Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration), Annual Renewal160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 · (801) 530-4849corporations.utah.gov
What does a restaurant need in Weber County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 9 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Weber County: Beer License — Class B (Restaurant, On-Premise).
Beer License — Seasonal
Weber County Code § 16-3-1 sets a 'Seasonal' beer license, carrying the privileges of a Class C (draft) license for less than a full year, at $150.00 for 3 months, $300.00 for 6 months, or $450.00 for 9 months or any part of a year exceeding 6 months — issued by the Weber County Commission for unincorporated Weber County. This tier suits a restaurant or retail-store operation that only needs draft-beer privileges for part of the year rather than the full annual Class C term. It applies only in unincorporated Weber County — Powder Mountain, Snowbasin, Avon, Causey and Monte Cristo since Ogden Valley City's January 2, 2026 incorporation. Weber County Code Title 8's header note ties the county's beer-licensing power to the state's On-Premises and Off-Premises Beer Retailer Acts (Utah Code § 32B-6-701 et seq. and § 32B-7-101 et seq.).
WMHD Food Establishment Plan Review
Before building, extensively remodeling, or changing ownership of a food establishment anywhere in Weber County, the Weber-Morgan Health Department requires a plan review, priced under the 2026 fee schedule (effective July 1, 2026) by risk category: Risk 1 $425.00, Risk 2 $675.00, Risk 3 $1,050.00, and Risk 4 $1,200.00; an onsite consultation or small remodel is $100.00, and a change-of-ownership review is $230.00. WMHD's own Inspector Jargon Glossary defines 'food establishment' to include, by name, a 'child care center,' which is why a childcare centre's kitchen falls under this same plan-review scheme in addition to the separate WMHD Day Care/Group Home inspection; the specific risk-category fee for a given childcare kitchen depends on its own menu and preparation scope. WMHD serves both Weber and Morgan Counties county-wide, reaching Ogden, every other incorporated city, Ogden Valley City, and the remaining unincorporated area alike.
General Business License — Restaurant
Any restaurant or coffee shop operating in unincorporated Weber County needs this license — Weber County Code § 14-1-2 makes it unlawful to operate a business in the county without first obtaining one, and § 16-4-13's fee table sets $100.00 a year for 'any place where food or drink is prepared, served or offered for sale or sold for human consumption, on or off the premises,' a definition that covers both a restaurant and a coffee shop on its plain wording. The license runs the calendar year, January 1 through December 31, with a mid-year start prorated to year-end; a payment more than 45 days late adds a 25% penalty, and a further 25% applies after three months (§ 14-6-1); no fee is refunded once the license issues (§ 14-4-12). This requirement applies only in unincorporated Weber County — following Ogden Valley City's January 2, 2026 incorporation, that area now covers only Powder Mountain, Snowbasin, Avon, Causey and Monte Cristo; a restaurant inside any incorporated city, including Ogden Valley City, instead needs that city's own license.
Beer License — Class B (Restaurant, On-Premise)
A restaurant serving beer on-premise in unincorporated Weber County needs a Class B beer license from the Weber County Commission, priced at $200.00 a year (Weber County Code § 16-3-1 and § 16-4-3). Class B is reserved for a premises with 'sufficient food and service to amount to a bona fide restaurant business,' per § 16-3-1's own class definition. Weber County Code Title 8's header note ties this county license to the state's On-Premises Beer Retailer License part (Utah Code § 32B-6-701 et seq.) and its local-authority-to-issue provision (§ 32B-6-704). It applies only in unincorporated Weber County — Powder Mountain, Snowbasin, Avon, Causey and Monte Cristo since Ogden Valley City's January 2, 2026 incorporation — every incorporated city issues its own beer license instead. The application is investigated by the Sheriff's Office and the Weber-Morgan Health Department.
Beer License — Class C (Draft, On or Off Premise)
A draft-beer license, usable on or off premise, in unincorporated Weber County is a Class C beer license from the Weber County Commission, priced at $500.00 a year — the highest of the standing annual classes — under Weber County Code § 16-3-1 and § 16-4-3. The Seasonal license, a separate Weber County requirement, carries the same Class C privileges for less than a full year at a lower, prorated price. This license applies only in unincorporated Weber County — Powder Mountain, Snowbasin, Avon, Causey and Monte Cristo since Ogden Valley City's January 2, 2026 incorporation — every incorporated city issues its own beer license instead. Weber County Code Title 8's header note ties the county's beer-licensing power to the state's On-Premises and Off-Premises Beer Retailer Acts (Utah Code § 32B-6-701 et seq. and § 32B-7-101 et seq.); the application is investigated by the Sheriff's Office and the Weber-Morgan Health Department.
Food Handler Card
A food handler card is required, and it must come from a provider on the state's own approved list — the agriculture department publishes that list directly and states plainly that a card from an unapproved source will not be accepted by a local health department. Utah Administrative Code R392-103 sets the food handler permit fee at no more than $15, uniform statewide, payable to the local health department, and states that food handler permits are valid for 3 years statewide; a training provider may charge its own reasonable training fee on top. Confirm the provider's training price before budgeting for it.
Shared with other businesses in Weber County
- WMHD Food Worker Permit — Weber-Morgan Health Department, $25 per worker ($15.00 state fee plus $10.00 WMHD training); a duplicate card is $5.00, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop) — Weber-Morgan Health Department, $200–$735 a year, by risk category (2026 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026): Risk 1 $200.00; Risk 2 $400.00; Risk 3 $575.00; Risk 4 $735.00, annual. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, No fee, set locally. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Weber County, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Weber County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Weber County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Beer License — Seasonal, Beer License — Class B (Restaurant, On-Premise) and Beer License — Class C (Draft, On or Off Premise). A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 6 | 6 | 3 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 4 | 5 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 7 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 2 | 7 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 9 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 9 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 9 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 9 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 9 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Weber County permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Weber County Code Title 16, County Fee Schedule (§§ 16-3, 16-4 business and beer licence fees)Weber County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
- Weber County Code Title 8, BeerWeber County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
- Weber-Morgan Health Department 2026 Fee Schedule, effective July 1, 2026Weber-Morgan Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
- Weber-Morgan Health Department — Inspector Jargon Glossary (defines 'food establishment' to include a child care center; names the Child Care and Pre-school Food Handler card)Weber-Morgan Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
- Weber County Code Title 14, Business LicensingWeber County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
- Utah Department of Agriculture and Food — list of approved food handler training providers under rule R392-103Utah Department of Agriculture and Food · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
