Commercial Compliance Hub

Washington County

Southwest Utah Public Health Department

In short

Southwest Utah Public Health Department issues 12 permits we publish for Washington County, last verified 2026-10-01. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment PermitSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$220–$660 a year, by risk category, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1 $220.00; Risk 2 $325.00; Risk 3 $450.00; Risk 4 $660.00not stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-01
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentTier/Risk 1 $60.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Tier/Risk 2 $85.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Seasonal (up to 6 months) Tier 1 $125.00; Tier 2 $180.00. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.Per event, or up to 6 months under the seasonal tier2026-10-01
Food Handler Card / Food Safety Manager CertificationSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentFood Handler Card $25.00, valid 3 years; duplicate card $5.00. Food Safety Manager Exam Proctor Fee $25.00, including one retake. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.3 years (Food Handler Card); per exam (Food Safety Manager Proctor Fee)2026-10-01
Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$250.00 annual operational permit, plus plan review for a new or remodeled pool: $800.00 typical, $1,200.00 complex. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.Annual, after plan review for new or remodeled construction2026-10-01
Food Establishment Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$400–$660 one-time, per project, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1/2 $400.00; Risk 3/4 $660.00One-time, per project2026-10-01
Mobile Food Establishment PermitSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentMobile establishment plan review $380.00 (one-time); primary permit Tier 1 $350.00 a year; primary permit Tier 2 $500.00 a year. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.Annual, after a one-time $380.00 plan review for a new unit2026-10-01
Food Establishment Conditional Permit (Change of Ownership)only if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$220 flat, one-time, per change of ownershipOne-time, per change of ownership2026-10-01
Home Daycare Food Service Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$130 flat, per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-01
Body Art Facility Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$255.00 annual facility permit, plus a $250.00 plan review for a new facility. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.Annual, after a one-time plan review for a new facility2026-10-01
Tanning Facility Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$195 a yearannual2026-10-01
Commercial Septic System Permitsonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentConventional system $910.00 (plus a $40.00 state UDEQ fee). Failed-system repair $350.00. Alternative/experimental system $1,260.00 (plus a $40.00 state UDEQ fee), with a $115.00 annual renewal. Liquid-waste hauler vehicle permit $80.00 a year. Subdivision plan review $250.00. Site visit, per lot, $85.00. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.One-time per installation for a conventional system; annual renewal for an alternative/experimental system or a hauler-vehicle permit2026-10-01
Tobacco Retailer Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$20 every 2 years2 years2026-10-01

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Food Establishment Permit

Any restaurant or coffee shop anywhere in Washington County — inside any of the 15 incorporated cities and towns or in the unincorporated area — needs this permit from the Southwest Utah Public Health Department, priced from $220.00 to $660.00 by risk category (Risk 1 through Risk 4), per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule, which states an effective date of May 1, 2026 and remains the current schedule with no later version published. SWUPHD is a five-county local health department serving Washington, Iron, Kane, Beaver, and Garfield Counties jointly, so its reach within Washington County is genuinely county-wide, unlike the county's own Community Development programs, which reach unincorporated territory only. A business inside an incorporated city also needs that city's own separate business license, which this permit does not substitute for.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit

A restaurant, coffee shop, or food truck serving food at a fair, festival, or other one-off event anywhere in Washington County needs this permit instead of the annual Food Establishment or Mobile Food Establishment permits listed separately. The SWUPHD Fee Schedule, effective May 1, 2026, prices it at $60.00 for Tier/Risk 1 or $85.00 for Tier/Risk 2 (each plus $25.00 if applied for on-site), or, for a seasonal operation running up to six months, $125.00 at Tier 1 or $180.00 at Tier 2. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Food Handler Card / Food Safety Manager Certification

Anyone handling food at a restaurant, coffee shop, or food truck anywhere in Washington County needs a Food Handler Card from SWUPHD: $25.00, valid for 3 years, with a $5.00 duplicate-card fee, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. A Food Safety Manager Exam Proctor Fee, $25.00 and including one retake, applies separately to a manager-level certification exam. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit

A fitness studio operating a swimming pool or spa anywhere in Washington County needs this permit from SWUPHD: $250.00 a year, plus a plan review for a new or remodeled pool of $800.00 for a typical project or $1,200.00 for a complex one, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. Without a pool or spa, a fitness studio needs no permit under this program. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Food Establishment Plan Review

Before building, remodeling, or changing ownership of a restaurant or coffee shop anywhere in Washington County, SWUPHD reviews the plans and charges a one-time fee of $400.00 for a Risk 1 or 2 establishment or $660.00 for a Risk 3 or 4 establishment, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. This review is a prerequisite to the annual Food Establishment Permit listed separately. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns, because it is a five-county district rather than a jurisdiction limited to unincorporated territory.

Mobile Food Establishment Permit

A food truck or a mobile coffee-shop unit operating anywhere in Washington County needs its own annual permit from SWUPHD: $350.00 a year at Tier 1 or $500.00 a year at Tier 2, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026, after a one-time $380.00 mobile-establishment plan review for a new unit. A one-off event instead uses the Temporary Food Establishment Permit listed separately. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Food Establishment Conditional Permit (Change of Ownership)

When a restaurant or coffee shop in Washington County changes ownership, the new operator pays SWUPHD a $220.00 Food Establishments Conditional Permit fee, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026, in place of a new full plan review while the existing facility continues to operate under the same conditions. This is separate from the annual Food Establishment Permit listed separately, which the new operator still carries forward. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Home Daycare Food Service Permit

A home-based daycare in Washington County that provides food service needs this permit from SWUPHD, priced at $130.00 flat, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. The childcare facility's own license is issued by the State of Utah, Office of Licensing; SWUPHD's role for a home daycare is limited to this food-service permit. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns, because it is a five-county health district rather than a jurisdiction limited to unincorporated territory.

Body Art Facility Permit

A salon offering body art, piercing, or tattoo services anywhere in Washington County needs this permit from SWUPHD: $255.00 a year, plus a $250.00 plan review for a new facility, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. Without a body-art component, a salon offering only hair, nail, or skin services needs no permit under this program. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Tanning Facility Permit

A salon offering tanning services anywhere in Washington County needs this permit from SWUPHD, priced at $195.00 a year, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. Without tanning equipment, a salon needs no permit under this program. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns, because it is a five-county health district rather than a jurisdiction limited to unincorporated territory.

Commercial Septic System Permits

Any of the ten covered industries on a septic system anywhere in Washington County needs a permit from SWUPHD before installation: a conventional system is $910.00 plus a $40.00 state UDEQ fee, a failed-system repair is $350.00, and an alternative or experimental system is $1,260.00 plus the same $40.00 state fee, with a $115.00 annual renewal, all per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. A liquid-waste hauler vehicle permit is $80.00 a year, a subdivision plan review is $250.00, and a per-lot site visit is $85.00. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Tobacco Retailer Permit

A retail store selling tobacco products anywhere in Washington County needs a Tobacco Retailer Permit from SWUPHD, priced at $20.00 every 2 years, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. A late fee of $60.00 a month, capped at $120.00, applies to a lapsed renewal under the same schedule. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns, because it is a five-county health district rather than a jurisdiction limited to unincorporated territory.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Washington County
Phone
(435) 673-3528

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Southwest Utah Public Health Department — Mission (five-county service area; established 1974 as one of Utah's thirteen local health departments)Southwest Utah Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
  2. Southwest Utah Public Health Department Fee Schedule, effective May 1, 2026Southwest Utah Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02

Other offices serving Washington County

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Utah jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.