18 permits · verified 2026-10-02
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Davis County Ut?
In short
A restaurant in Davis County Ut, UT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Davis County Community & Economic Development charges $60 a year for the general business license — all other business. 10 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-02 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Davis County Ut
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Permit | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Annual operating permit by risk category: Risk 1 $225.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Risk 3 $475.00; Risk 4 $600.00; Risk 5 $1,200.00. Plan review $750.00; site review (construction without prior plan submittal) $1,500.00; Change of Ownership/Limited-Plan Review (one combined fee line) $300.00. | Annual | 2026-10-02 |
| Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice)only if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Risk 1 / Flavored Ice $200.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Flavored Ice plan/site review $50.00 each; Risk 1/2 plan review $750.00, site review $1,500.00 (shared with the general Food Establishment Plan Review fee line). | Seasonal, April 1 to October 31 | 2026-10-02 |
| Food Handler Permit | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | $25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00. | Not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-02 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Single event: Risk I $70.00, Risk II $100.00. Annual (January 1 to December 31): Risk I $200.00, Risk II $275.00. Late fee $20.00 if submitted fewer than 2 business days before the event; $50.00 on-site penalty if operating without a permit obtained beforehand. | Per event (up to 14 days), or annual (January 1 to December 31) | 2026-10-02 |
| Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | $300.00 a year; an additional $100.00 applies if a Division inspection finds adulterated food or that the kitchen was the source of a foodborne illness outbreak. | One year | 2026-10-02 |
| Beer (Retail) Licenseonly if it applies to you | Davis County Commission | Off-Premises Beer Retailer license $75.00 a year; On-Premises Beer Retailer license $100.00 a year. | Annual | 2026-10-02 |
| Food Handler Card | Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division | Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once | 3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103) | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) | Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division | No fee | set locally | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Davis County Ut
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — All Other Business | Davis County Community & Economic Development | $60 a year | Annual, expires December 31; renewal due by January 31 | 2026-10-02 |
| General Business License — Home Occupationonly if it applies to you | Davis County Community & Economic Development | $50 a year | Annual, expires December 31; renewal due by January 31 | 2026-10-02 |
| Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Community & Economic Development | Varies — formula on the Davis County Ut page | One-time, per permit | 2026-10-02 |
| Zoning / Land Use Feesonly if it applies to you | Davis County Community & Economic Development | Varies — formula on the Davis County Ut page | Per application | 2026-10-02 |
| Onsite Wastewater (Septic) System Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Varies — formula on the Davis County Ut page | Per system | 2026-10-02 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
UT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax License | Utah State Tax Commission | No fee | ongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | No fee | set by the city or county | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Renewalonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $18 a year; a late renewal adds $10 | annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Davis County Ut?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a restaurant in Davis County Ut, UT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: Annual operating permit by risk category: Risk 1 $225.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Risk 3 $475.00; Risk 4 $600.00; Risk 5 $1,200.00. Plan review $750.00; site review (construction without prior plan submittal) $1,500.00; Change of Ownership/Limited-Plan Review (one combined fee line) $300.00.
Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice): Risk 1 / Flavored Ice $200.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Flavored Ice plan/site review $50.00 each; Risk 1/2 plan review $750.00, site review $1,500.00 (shared with the general Food Establishment Plan Review fee line).
Food Handler Permit: $25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Single event: Risk I $70.00, Risk II $100.00. Annual (January 1 to December 31): Risk I $200.00, Risk II $275.00. Late fee $20.00 if submitted fewer than 2 business days before the event; $50.00 on-site penalty if operating without a permit obtained beforehand.
Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permit: $300.00 a year; an additional $100.00 applies if a Division inspection finds adulterated food or that the kitchen was the source of a foodborne illness outbreak.
Beer (Retail) License: Off-Premises Beer Retailer license $75.00 a year; On-Premises Beer Retailer license $100.00 a year.
Food Handler Card: Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Davis County Ut permits page and the UT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Davis County Ut?
Permits for a restaurant in Davis County Ut, UT come from 6 separate offices: Davis County Community & Economic Development, Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division, Davis County Commission, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Davis County Community & Economic DevelopmentIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business License — All Other Business, General Business License — Home Occupation, Building Permit, Zoning / Land Use Fees61 S. Main St., Room 304 (Licensing) / Room 221 (Planning), Farmington, UT 84025 · (801) 451-3279www.daviscountyutah.gov/ced/online-payments/business-license
- Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health DivisionIssues 6 permits on this page, including Food Establishment Permit, Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice), Food Handler Permit22 South State St., Clearfield, UT 84015 · (801) 525-5000 (general); (801) 525-5128 (Environmental Health)www.daviscountyutah.gov/health/home/1
- Davis County CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Beer (Retail) Licensewww.daviscountyutah.gov
- Utah State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax License210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84134 · (801) 297-2200tax.utah.gov
- Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Handler Card, Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state)4315 South 2700 West, Taylorsville, UT 84129 · (385) 332-1499ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/retail-food-regulatory-program
- Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration), Annual Renewal160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 · (801) 530-4849corporations.utah.gov
What does a restaurant need in Davis County Ut that other businesses do not?
1 of the 8 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Davis County Ut: Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permit.
Food Establishment Permit
Any restaurant or coffee shop operating anywhere in Davis County — inside any of the 15 incorporated cities or in the unincorporated area — needs this annual permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced by risk category under the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation (effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024): Risk 1 $225.00, Risk 2 $350.00, Risk 3 $475.00, Risk 4 $600.00, and Risk 5 $1,200.00. A plan review for new construction is $750.00, a site review where construction proceeded without a prior plan submittal is $1,500.00, and a limited/remodel plan review or a change of ownership is billed as one combined $300.00 fee line, not two separate charges. DCHD is a single-county health department that reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike, unlike the county's own CED programs, which reach unincorporated territory only.
Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permit
A home-based restaurant operation anywhere in Davis County needs this permit, priced at $300.00 a year under the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation (effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024), with an additional $100.00 fee if a Division inspection finds the kitchen produced adulterated food or was the source of a foodborne illness outbreak. Utah Admin. Code R392-106-5 requires that a local health department set this fee at an amount that reimburses its own cost of regulating a microenterprise home kitchen — Davis County, not the state, sets the $300.00 figure, and no conflicting state-set amount exists. This record is cited to the current, signed, Aug-20-2024-revised regulation, not to any earlier draft; DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Beer (Retail) License
A restaurant, coffee shop, retail store, or food truck selling or serving beer in unincorporated Davis County needs this license from the Davis County Commission, separate from the general business license: $75.00 a year for an Off-Premises Beer Retailer license, or $100.00 a year for an On-Premises Beer Retailer license, both re-confirmed against the county's own freshly re-downloaded current fee schedule. An on-premise retailer must also hold a state DABS license, and Davis County Code §5.04.350 bars a license from being granted within 600 feet of a church or school. Applies only in unincorporated Davis County — a business inside any of the county's 15 incorporated cities instead applies to that city for its own beer license. The county's own Handbook and Guide for Doing Business still quotes the underlying ordinance text using the pre-2010 'Title 32A' and pre-2022 'ABCC' names for what is now Utah Code Title 32B and the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services; that citation-hygiene issue does not affect either dollar figure above.
Food Handler Card
A food handler card is required, and it must come from a provider on the state's own approved list — the agriculture department publishes that list directly and states plainly that a card from an unapproved source will not be accepted by a local health department. Utah Administrative Code R392-103 sets the food handler permit fee at no more than $15, uniform statewide, payable to the local health department, and states that food handler permits are valid for 3 years statewide; a training provider may charge its own reasonable training fee on top. Confirm the provider's training price before budgeting for it.
Shared with other businesses in Davis County Ut
- Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice) — Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division, Risk 1 / Flavored Ice $200.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Flavored Ice plan/site review $50.00 each; Risk 1/2 plan review $750.00, site review $1,500.00 (shared with the general Food Establishment Plan Review fee line)., Seasonal, April 1 to October 31. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Handler Permit — Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division, $25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00., Not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division, Single event: Risk I $70.00, Risk II $100.00. Annual (January 1 to December 31): Risk I $200.00, Risk II $275.00. Late fee $20.00 if submitted fewer than 2 business days before the event; $50.00 on-site penalty if operating without a permit obtained beforehand., Per event (up to 14 days), or annual (January 1 to December 31). Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, No fee, set locally. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Davis County Ut, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Davis County Ut permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Davis County Ut?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 7 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permit. A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 1 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 7 | 6 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 7 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 1 | 7 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 8 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 8 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 8 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 8 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Davis County Ut permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Davis County Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation, effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024 (signed by Board Chairman Brandon Hatch and Director of Health Brian Hatch, M.P.H.)Davis County Board of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Home pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Utah Admin. Code R392-106-5 — local health department sets the microenterprise home kitchen permit fee to recover its own regulatory costCornell Law School, Legal Information Institute (Utah Admin. Code mirror) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Current Fee Schedule — codification of §2.48.050 (business license, beer license, building permit, and zoning/land-use fees), last amended Ord. No. 4-2017, §1, adopted 05/23/2017Davis County Community & Economic Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Business License Applications (current) — applicant agreement naming the unincorporated-area scopeDavis County Community & Economic Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Utah Department of Agriculture and Food — list of approved food handler training providers under rule R392-103Utah Department of Agriculture and Food · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
