Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Salt Lake City?

In short

A restaurant in Salt Lake City, UT has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Salt Lake City Finance Department, Business Licensing Division charges $128 annual, in addition to the base license and employee fees for the business license add-on — restaurants/cafeterias. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Salt Lake City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Place of Assembly Permit (Fire)only if it applies to youSalt Lake City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau$287 a year: the Consolidated Fee Schedule amended 06/16/2026 lists 'Place of Assembly Permits' at a single $287 annual fee under § 2.12.040, with no floor-area tiers.annual2026-09-09
Food Establishment PermitSalt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau)Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155.annual2026-09-09
Business License Add-On — Restaurants/CafeteriasCity of Salt Lake City Finance Department, Business Licensing Division$128 annual, in addition to the base license and employee feesannual (renewal cycle not stated in the published fee schedule)2026-09-09
Sign PermitCity of Salt Lake City, Department of Community and Neighborhoods, Building Services DivisionPriced on the same valuation-based Building Permit Fee Schedule as the general building permit, plus a plan-checking fee of $0.15 per dollar of the calculated building permit fee (roughly a 15% surcharge) and a $17 inspection tag fee per inspection.one-time, per sign2026-09-09
Food Handler CardUtah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionFood handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103)2026-09-04
Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state)Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionNo feeset locally2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Salt Lake City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business LicenseCity of Salt Lake City Finance Department, Business Licensing DivisionVaries — formula on the Salt Lake City pageannual (renewal cycle not stated in the published fee schedule)2026-09-09
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Salt Lake City, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the Salt Lake City pageone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Salt Lake City, Department of Community and Neighborhoods, Building Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Salt Lake City pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Salt Lake City, Department of Community and Neighborhoods, Building Services DivisionNo feeone-time, no expiration2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

UT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax LicenseUtah State Tax CommissionNo feeongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-04
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$18 a year; a late renewal adds $10annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Salt Lake City?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Salt Lake City, UT, 9 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 9 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $128.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Place of Assembly Permit (Fire): $287 a year: the Consolidated Fee Schedule amended 06/16/2026 lists 'Place of Assembly Permits' at a single $287 annual fee under § 2.12.040, with no floor-area tiers.

Food Establishment Permit: Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155.

Sign Permit: Priced on the same valuation-based Building Permit Fee Schedule as the general building permit, plus a plan-checking fee of $0.15 per dollar of the calculated building permit fee (roughly a 15% surcharge) and a $17 inspection tag fee per inspection.

Food Handler Card: Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Salt Lake City permits page and the UT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Salt Lake City?

Permits for a restaurant in Salt Lake City, UT come from 8 separate offices: Salt Lake City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Salt Lake City Finance Department, Business Licensing Division, Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau), City of Salt Lake City, Department of Community and Neighborhoods, Building Services Division, City of Salt Lake City, Planning Division, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Salt Lake City that other businesses do not?

Place of Assembly Permit (Fire)

Applies to dining and service space classified as a place of public assembly under the fire code (occupant-load-dependent, per the Fire Prevention Bureau's own IFC-based standard). It is listed here for restaurants and coffee shops/cafes; retail, fitness or other high-occupancy commercial space could also be classified as assembly occupancy depending on layout and occupant load, a determination the Fire Marshal's office makes case by case.

Business License Add-On — Restaurants/Cafeterias

Risen from $124 before September 2026 (Consolidated Fee Schedule, 'Food/Restaurant/Café'). Applies to any restaurant or cafeteria; the fee schedule has no separate 'coffee shop' category, so a coffee shop preparing and serving food or beverages for immediate consumption is treated under this same line. A current, valid Salt Lake County Health Department food permit is required before this license issues.

Food Handler Card

A food handler card is required, and it must come from a provider on the state's own approved list — the agriculture department publishes that list directly and states plainly that a card from an unapproved source will not be accepted by a local health department. Utah Administrative Code R392-103 sets the food handler permit fee at no more than $15, uniform statewide, payable to the local health department, and states that food handler permits are valid for 3 years statewide; a training provider may charge its own reasonable training fee on top. Confirm the provider's training price before budgeting for it.

Shared with other businesses in Salt Lake City

  • Food Establishment Permit — Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau), Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155., annual. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Salt Lake City, Department of Community and Neighborhoods, Building Services Division, Priced on the same valuation-based Building Permit Fee Schedule as the general building permit, plus a plan-checking fee of $0.15 per dollar of the calculated building permit fee (roughly a 15% surcharge) and a $17 inspection tag fee per inspection., one-time, per sign. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, No fee, set locally. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Salt Lake City, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Salt Lake City permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Salt Lake City?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Salt Lake City, UT need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Salt Lake City, UT, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops6600
Food trucks4242
Fitness studios2151
Retail stores3152
Salons and barbers3152
Veterinary clinics3152
Auto repair shops5154
Childcare centres3063
Contractors and trades5065

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, retail stores page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Salt Lake City permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Salt Lake City Consolidated Fee Schedule, Amended 06/16/2026 by Ordinance 2026-29 (business license columns 'Effective Sept '26') — business licensing, building/electrical/plumbing/sign permit, zoning and fire fee tablesCity of Salt Lake City · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  2. Salt Lake City Fire Prevention Bureau — permitted activities and contact informationSalt Lake City Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. Utah Department of Agriculture and Food — list of approved food handler training providers under rule R392-103Utah Department of Agriculture and Food · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.