Davis County
Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division
In short
Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division issues 13 permits we publish for Davis County, last verified 2026-10-02. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile Food / Food Truck Permit | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Risk 1 $350.00 a year; Risk 2 $500.00 a year; each plus a $550.00 plan review. | Annual, January 1 to December 31 | 2026-10-02 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Annual operating permit by risk category: Risk 1 $225.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Risk 3 $475.00; Risk 4 $600.00; Risk 5 $1,200.00. Plan review $750.00; site review (construction without prior plan submittal) $1,500.00; Change of Ownership/Limited-Plan Review (one combined fee line) $300.00. | Annual | 2026-10-02 |
| Body Art Facility Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Plan review $250.00; permit $200.00; temporary facility $100.00; temporary event $250.00. | Not stated in the published fee page | 2026-10-02 |
| Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice)only if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Risk 1 / Flavored Ice $200.00; Risk 2 $350.00; Flavored Ice plan/site review $50.00 each; Risk 1/2 plan review $750.00, site review $1,500.00 (shared with the general Food Establishment Plan Review fee line). | Seasonal, April 1 to October 31 | 2026-10-02 |
| Food Handler Permit | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | $25.00 combined per individual (itemized in the current regulation as a $15.00 permit plus $10.00 training); duplicate/replacement card $10.00. | Not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-02 |
| Residential Care / Childcare Food Service Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | $85 per inspection | Per inspection | 2026-10-02 |
| Onsite Wastewater (Septic) System Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Plan review $90.00 (holding tank/vault privy) to $240.00 (other alternative/experimental). Construction permit $180.00 (absorption trench) to $750.00 (holding tank), plus a $40.00 state new-system fee. Operating permit $100.00. Feasibility determination $200.00-$600.00. Miscellaneous items (extension, subdivision duplication, insufficient plans, permit extension, additional inspection, late fee) $30.00 each. | Per system | 2026-10-02 |
| Vehicle Emissions I/M Station & Technician Permitsonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Station permit $300.00; annual renewal $60.00 ($120.00 if expired); new location $50.00; new business name $125.00; permit-type transfer $125.00. Technician/Tester permit $30.00 (renewal $25.00, or $40.00 if expired; duplicate $12.00; refresher training $30.00; study guide $40.00; transfer $15.00). Certificate of Compliance numbers $3.25 each (duplicate $3.00). Chapter copy $5.00. | Annual, expires December 31 | 2026-10-02 |
| Tobacco Retailer Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | New Permit $30.00; Permit Renewal $20.00; Permit Reinstatement $30.00; Retail Tobacco Specialty Business (RTSB) plan review (required for all new RTSB applications, covers both the plan review and the new permit) $250.00. | General Tobacco Retailer permit: up to 2 calendar years. RTSB permit: up to 1 calendar year. | 2026-10-02 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Single event: Risk I $70.00, Risk II $100.00. Annual (January 1 to December 31): Risk I $200.00, Risk II $275.00. Late fee $20.00 if submitted fewer than 2 business days before the event; $50.00 on-site penalty if operating without a permit obtained beforehand. | Per event (up to 14 days), or annual (January 1 to December 31) | 2026-10-02 |
| Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | $300.00 a year; an additional $100.00 applies if a Division inspection finds adulterated food or that the kitchen was the source of a foodborne illness outbreak. | One year | 2026-10-02 |
| Tanning Facility Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | $100 a year | Annual | 2026-10-02 |
| Pool / Spa Operating Permitonly if it applies to you | Davis County Health Department, Environmental Health Division | Plan review $1,250.00 per circulation system; yearly permit $1,000.00; seasonal permit $700.00; follow-up inspection $100.00; CPO class certification $350.00. | Annual or seasonal | 2026-10-02 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Mobile Food / Food Truck Permit
A food truck operating anywhere in Davis County needs this annual permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced under the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation at $350.00 a year for a Risk 1 unit or $500.00 a year for a Risk 2 unit, each plus a $550.00 plan review. The permit must use a Davis-County-permitted commissary or approved service provider, and the license year runs January 1 through December 31. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike, so this permit applies to a truck based anywhere in the county, not only in unincorporated territory.
Food Establishment Permit
Any restaurant or coffee shop operating anywhere in Davis County — inside any of the 15 incorporated cities or in the unincorporated area — needs this annual permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced by risk category under the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation (effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024): Risk 1 $225.00, Risk 2 $350.00, Risk 3 $475.00, Risk 4 $600.00, and Risk 5 $1,200.00. A plan review for new construction is $750.00, a site review where construction proceeded without a prior plan submittal is $1,500.00, and a limited/remodel plan review or a change of ownership is billed as one combined $300.00 fee line, not two separate charges. DCHD is a single-county health department that reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike, unlike the county's own CED programs, which reach unincorporated territory only.
Body Art Facility Permit
A salon offering body art, piercing, or tattoo services anywhere in Davis County needs this permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced per the department's own live Body Art permit page: a $250.00 plan review, a $200.00 permit (paid before issuance), a $100.00 Temporary Body Art Facility permit for a single artist at one location, or a $250.00 Temporary Body Art Event permit for four or more temporary permits at one event. Without a body-art component, a salon offering only hair, nail, or skin services has no permit under this program, a scope consequence of the permit reaching only body-art activity. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Seasonal Food Establishment Permit (including Flavored Ice)
A restaurant, coffee shop, or food truck operating seasonally — including a flavored-ice stand — anywhere in Davis County, April 1 through October 31, needs this permit, priced at $200.00 for Risk 1 or Flavored Ice, or $350.00 for Risk 2, under the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation (effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024). A Flavored Ice plan or site review is $50.00 each; the Risk 1/2 plan review ($750.00) and site review ($1,500.00) are shared with the general Food Establishment Plan Review fee line recorded separately for Davis County. This record is cited only to the current, signed, Aug-20-2024-revised regulation, not to any earlier draft; DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Food Handler Permit
Anyone handling food at a restaurant, coffee shop, food truck, or childcare kitchen anywhere in Davis County needs this permit from the Davis County Health Department. The department's own live Food Handler Permit page states a combined $25.00 total; the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation itemizes the same total at §8.3 as a $15.00 Food Handler Permit plus $10.00 Food Handler Permit Training. A duplicate or replacement card is $10.00. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Residential Care / Childcare Food Service Inspection
A childcare facility licensed for 16 or fewer children that provides or prepares food anywhere in Davis County needs this inspection from the Davis County Health Department, priced at $85.00 per inspection and itemized in the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation as 'Residential Care Food Inspection: $85.00.' A childcare centre licensed for more than 16 children instead needs the standard Food Establishment Permit recorded separately for Davis County. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Onsite Wastewater (Septic) System Permit
Any of the ten covered industries building on a septic system, chiefly in unincorporated Davis County, needs this permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced per the department's own live Onsite Wastewater permit page: plan review from $90.00 (holding tank/vault privy) to $240.00 (other alternative/experimental system), a construction permit from $180.00 (absorption trench) to $750.00 (holding tank) plus a $40.00 state new-system fee, a $100.00 operating permit, a $200.00-$600.00 feasibility determination, and $30.00 each for miscellaneous items such as an extension, subdivision duplication, insufficient plans, permit extension, additional inspection, or late fee. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike, though a septic system is chiefly found where sewer service is unavailable, typically in the unincorporated county.
Vehicle Emissions I/M Station & Technician Permits
An auto-repair shop operating a vehicle-emissions inspection station anywhere in Davis County needs these permits under Davis County Code Ch. 10.12, §10.12.240: a $300.00 station permit, a $60.00 annual renewal ($120.00 if expired), a $50.00 fee for a new location, a $125.00 fee for a new business name, and a $125.00 permit-type transfer fee; an individual Technician/Tester permit is $30.00, with a $25.00 renewal ($40.00 if expired), a $12.00 duplicate, $30.00 refresher training, a $40.00 study guide, and a $15.00 transfer fee. Certificate of Compliance numbers are $3.25 each. The ordinance text is hosted at aircheckdavis.org rather than on the county's own daviscountyutah.gov domain; the county's own live Vehicle Emissions page links to that host directly, the host's own About page identifies itself as the Davis County Health Department's official I/M program site operated under contract by Opus Inspection, and Utah's own DMV County Emission Offices directory independently names Davis County Environmental Health as the official contact — all three corroborate that this is the county's own adopted ordinance text, not a generic third-party host. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Tobacco Retailer Permit
A retail store selling tobacco products anywhere in Davis County needs this permit from the Davis County Health Department. The department's own current Tobacco Retailer Permit Application, updated 10/2025, states in Section 5, 'Permit Fees': a New Permit is $30.00, a Permit Renewal is $20.00, a Permit Reinstatement is $30.00, and a Retail Tobacco Specialty Business (RTSB) plan review, required for all new RTSB applications, is $250.00 and covers both the plan review and the new permit for an RTSB. A general Tobacco Retailer permit runs up to 2 calendar years; an RTSB permit runs up to 1 calendar year. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit
A restaurant, coffee shop, or food truck serving food at a one-off event anywhere in Davis County needs this permit instead of the standing annual food-service permits recorded separately for Davis County. The current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation prices a single event at $70.00 (Risk I) or $100.00 (Risk II), or an annual temporary permit (January 1 to December 31) at $200.00 (Risk I) or $275.00 (Risk II); a $20.00 late fee applies if submitted fewer than 2 business days before the event, and a $50.00 on-site penalty applies to operating without a permit obtained beforehand. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Microenterprise Home Kitchen Permit
A home-based restaurant operation anywhere in Davis County needs this permit, priced at $300.00 a year under the current, signed Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation (effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024), with an additional $100.00 fee if a Division inspection finds the kitchen produced adulterated food or was the source of a foodborne illness outbreak. Utah Admin. Code R392-106-5 requires that a local health department set this fee at an amount that reimburses its own cost of regulating a microenterprise home kitchen — Davis County, not the state, sets the $300.00 figure, and no conflicting state-set amount exists. This record is cited to the current, signed, Aug-20-2024-revised regulation, not to any earlier draft; DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Tanning Facility Permit
A salon offering tanning services anywhere in Davis County needs this permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced at $100.00 a year on the department's own live Tanning permit page, with a pre-opening inspection required. Without tanning equipment, a salon has no permit under this program, a scope consequence of the permit reaching only tanning activity. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Pool / Spa Operating Permit
A fitness studio operating a swimming pool or spa anywhere in Davis County needs this permit from the Davis County Health Department, priced per the department's own live Pool/Spa permit page: a $1,250.00 plan review per circulation system, a $1,000.00 yearly permit, a $700.00 seasonal permit, a $100.00 follow-up inspection, and a $350.00 Certified Pool Operator class certification. Without a pool or spa, a fitness studio has no permit under this program, a scope consequence of the permit reaching only pool-operating facilities. DCHD reaches every incorporated city and the unincorporated area alike.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Davis County
- Phone
- (801) 525-5000 (general); (801) 525-5128 (Environmental Health)
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Aircheck Davis County — About page (host self-identifies as the Davis County Health Department's official I/M program site)Aircheck Davis County (Opus Inspection, under contract to DCHD) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Board of Health Food Service Sanitation Regulation, effective September 23, 1980, last revised August 20, 2024 (signed by Board Chairman Brandon Hatch and Director of Health Brian Hatch, M.P.H.)Davis County Board of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Code Ch. 10.12, Vehicle Emissions Inspection/Maintenance Program Ordinance (November 2019 text), §10.12.240 fee scheduleDavis County (hosted on aircheckdavis.org, the DCHD-contracted I/M program site operated by Opus Inspection) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Body Art Facility Permit pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Daycare Facility page (childcare food-service inspection scope)Davis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Food Handler Permit pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Home pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Onsite Wastewater (Septic) System Permit pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Pool/Spa Operating Permit pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Tanning Facility Permit pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Health Department — Vehicle Emissions I/M Program pageDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Davis County Tobacco Retailer Permit Application, Updated 10/2025 — Section 5, Permit FeesDavis County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Utah Admin. Code R392-106-5 — local health department sets the microenterprise home kitchen permit fee to recover its own regulatory costCornell Law School, Legal Information Institute (Utah Admin. Code mirror) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Utah DMV — County Emission Offices directory (names Davis County Environmental Health as the official Davis County emissions contact)Utah Department of Public Safety, Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
Other offices serving Davis County
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
- Restaurants in Davis County
- Coffee shops in Davis County
- Retail stores in Davis County
- Salons and barbers in Davis County
- Food trucks in Davis County
- Fitness studios in Davis County
- Childcare centres in Davis County
- Contractors and trades in Davis County
- Auto repair shops in Davis County
- Veterinary clinics in Davis County
Utah jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
