11 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Midland?
In short
A coffee shop in Midland, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Midland Planning Division charges $600 per application for the zoning board of adjustment application. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Midland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Service Establishment Permit | Midland Health Services, Environmental Health | $150–$250 per year, by employee count | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | Midland Health Services, Environmental Health | $50 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Midland Health Services, Environmental Health | $70 per permit | 14 days or less | 2026-08-24 |
| Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Midland Health Services, Environmental Health | $105 per season | 1 April to 30 September | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Midland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Midland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $600 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review | City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Midland page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Midland Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Midland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a coffee shop in Midland, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Service Establishment Permit: $150–$250 per year, by employee count
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Midland permits page and the TX state page.
Is Midland expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Midland sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Farmers Market Permit: Midland charges $50. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. 1 charges less and 6 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Midland?
Permits for a coffee shop in Midland, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections, Midland Health Services, Environmental Health, City of Midland Planning Division, Midland Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and InspectionsIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Plan Reviewwww.midlandtexas.gov/1424/PermitMidland
- Midland Health Services, Environmental HealthIssues 4 permits on this page: Food Service Establishment Permit, Farmers Market Permit, Temporary Food Permit, Seasonal Food Permit3303 West Illinois, Space 22, Midland, TX 79703 · 432-681-7613www.midlandtexas.gov/749/Environmental-Services
- City of Midland Planning DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Board of Adjustment Applicationwww.midlandtexas.gov/1113/Fee-Schedule
- Midland Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Protection System Permit1500 W Wall Street, Midland, TX 79701 · 432-685-7333www.midlandtexas.gov/255/Fire-Marshals-Office
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Midland that other businesses do not?
Food Service Establishment Permit
$150 for one to five employees, $200 for six to ten and $250 for eleven or more — the same scale covers a restaurant or on-premises consumption business, a retail food store or grocery, and a warehouse distributor. That makes Midland among the cheapest cities in this dataset for a small kitchen: a five-employee restaurant pays $150 where Frisco would charge $300 and Dallas $773. Two things to watch. The late penalty is unusually harsh — 25% of the permit fee PER DAY past the due date, on top of the fee itself — and there are no refunds on permit fees at all. A permit application must be submitted for each establishment, and an incomplete form will not be processed.
Seasonal Food Permit
$105 for a fixed season running 1 April to 30 September — the dates are set by the form, not chosen by the applicant, so a business trading outside that window needs a different permit. Cheaper than an annual food service permit at any employee band, and the right instrument for a summer operation.
Shared with other businesses in Midland
- Farmers Market Permit — Midland Health Services, Environmental Health, $50 per year, one year. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Temporary Food Permit — Midland Health Services, Environmental Health, $70 per permit, 14 days or less. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Midland, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Midland permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Midland?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant needs Vendor Permit, Preliminary Plat Application, Planned District Zone Change and 4 more, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 11 | 4 | 0 | 7 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 13 | 4 | 0 | 9 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 0 | 4 | 7 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Midland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Environmental Health Permit Application — Regulated Program Types and Annual Permit FeesMidland Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
