Commercial Compliance Hub

8 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Midland?

In short

A salon or barber in Midland, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Midland Planning Division charges $600 per application for the zoning board of adjustment application. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Midland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment LicenseTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation$78 per license periodtwo years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Midland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Midland Development Services, Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Midland pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Zoning Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Midland Planning Division$600 per applicationone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Plan ReviewCity of Midland Development Services, Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Midland pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to youMidland Fire Marshal's OfficeNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Midland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a salon or barber in Midland, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $78.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Midland permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Midland?

Permits for a salon or barber in Midland, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections, City of Midland Planning Division, Midland Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Midland that other businesses do not?

1 of the 1 permit particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Midland: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.

Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License

Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Midland, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Midland permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Midland?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A auto repair shop needs Standard Zone Change and Flammable and Combustible Liquids Tank Permit, which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Midland, TX, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops2012
Childcare centres2012
Coffee shops4014
Contractors and trades7017
Fitness studios4014
Food trucks4014
Restaurants110111
Retail stores130113
Veterinary clinics1011

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Midland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.