Commercial Compliance Hub

8 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Midland?

In short

A veterinary clinic in Midland, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Midland Planning Division charges $600 per application for the zoning board of adjustment application. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Midland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to youTexas Department of Licensing and RegulationNo feenot yet in effect — rules being written2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Midland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Midland Development Services, Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Midland pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Zoning Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Midland Planning Division$600 per applicationone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Plan ReviewCity of Midland Development Services, Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Midland pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to youMidland Fire Marshal's OfficeNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Midland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Midland, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Midland permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Midland?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in Midland, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections, City of Midland Planning Division, Midland Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in Midland that other businesses do not?

1 of the 1 permit particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Midland: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.

Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027

Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Midland, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Midland permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Midland?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs Standard Zone Change and Flammable and Combustible Liquids Tank Permit, which a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Midland, TX, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops2012
Childcare centres2012
Coffee shops4014
Contractors and trades7017
Fitness studios4014
Food trucks4014
Restaurants110111
Retail stores130113
Salons and barbers1011

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Midland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.