14 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Mcallen?
In short
A fitness studio in Mcallen, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department charges $48 per permit, all types for the permit renewal fee. 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Mcallen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to you | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | $4 each, for one to five devices | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Plumbing Permit | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | $39.60 base fee, plus $4.80 per fixture, floor drain or trap | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Mechanical Permit | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | $39.60 base fee, plus $15.60 for the first $1,000 of unit value and $3.20 for each additional $1,000 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to you | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | $55.86 per permit | one year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months | 2026-10-09 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Mcallen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Mcallen page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Permit Renewal Feeonly if it applies to you | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | $48 per permit, all types | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Mcallen page | one-time, per application | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Mcallen page | one year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Remodel and Alteration Permit | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Mcallen page | one year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department | $79.80 per sign | one year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Mcallen?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a fitness studio in Mcallen, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Commercial Plumbing Permit: $39.60 base fee, plus $4.80 per fixture, floor drain or trap
Commercial Mechanical Permit: $39.60 base fee, plus $15.60 for the first $1,000 of unit value and $3.20 for each additional $1,000
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Mcallen permits page and the TX state page.
Is Mcallen expensive for a fitness studio?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Mcallen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Sign Permit: Mcallen charges $79.80. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Lubbock to $114 in Amarillo, with a median of $88. 1 charges less and 3 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Sign Permit varies by $39 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Mcallen?
Permits for a fitness studio in Mcallen, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections DepartmentIssues 10 permits on this page, including Commercial Electrical Permit, Permit Renewal Fee, Backflow Prevention Device Permitonlinepermits.mcallen.net/Portal/default.aspx
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Mcallen that other businesses do not?
1 of the 5 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Mcallen: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Commercial Mechanical Permit
$39.60 base plus $15.60 on the first $1,000 of unit value and $3.20 for each further $1,000 — the schedule prices mechanical work on equipment value.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Mcallen
- Backflow Prevention Device Permit — City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, $4 each, for one to five devices, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Commercial Plumbing Permit — City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, $39.60 base fee, plus $4.80 per fixture, floor drain or trap, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Swimming Pool Permit — City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, $55.86 per permit, one year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Mcallen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Mcallen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Mcallen?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Swimming Pool Permit and Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 3 | 2 | 0 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 5 | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 3 | 2 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page, salons and barbers page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Mcallen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Permit fee schedule — effective 1 October 2016, page footer updated November 2019City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspection Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
