14 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Sioux Falls?
In short
A coffee shop in Sioux Falls, SD has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services charges $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 for the articles of organization (llc). 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Sioux Falls
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services | By type and size: a wall sign, freestanding sign or electronic message center is $35.00 under 100 square feet and $50.00 over 100 square feet. A banner over 100 square feet is $35.00. An off-premise sign or billboard is $100.00 at any size. A temporary portable sign such as a wind feather or inflatable is $15.00. A window sign is free under 25 square feet and $15.00 over. Temporary reader board and sandwich board signs carry no fee. | not stated in the published fee table | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Service Establishment License | Sioux Falls Health Department | Banded by floor area under §110.029: $181.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $271.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $362.00 at 5,001 and above. The annual fee covers one full service food preparation area and each additional preparation area is $92.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $52.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $209.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $302.00 above. A grocery store selling prepackaged food is $181.00 above 250 square feet and $92.00 at or below. An annual renewal application received after December 31 carries a $75.00 late fee. A follow-up inspection is $92.00. A $30.00 discount applies where the establishment averaged 94 percent or above on the preceding year's routine inspections and the renewal application arrives before January 1. A fire inspection under §110.035 adds $28.00 for a restaurant without a beverage license. | annual, effective January 1 through December 31 under §112.015 | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Service Manager Certification | South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection | No fee | set by the accredited training provider rather than state regulation | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment License | South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection | $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top | annual — every license expires December 31 regardless of issue date, with a discounted half-year fee for openings after July 1 | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Sioux Falls
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — City of Sioux Falls position (enumerated licenses only)only if it applies to you | City of Sioux Falls Licensing Office, City Attorney's Office | No fee | not applicable to a general license; under §110.011 all licenses take effect when issued and terminate on December 31 of the year for which issued unless otherwise provided | 2026-09-14 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Sioux Falls page | not stated in the published tables | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Required; Fee Not Published Separately (Sioux Falls) | City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services | No fee | one-time, issued after final inspection | 2026-09-14 |
| Conditional Use Permit / Zoning and Subdivision Feesonly if it applies to you | City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Sioux Falls page | one-time per application | 2026-09-14 |
| Annual Fire License (inspection included) and Fire Permits | Sioux Falls Fire Rescue, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the Sioux Falls page | annual for §110.033 licenses; per permit for §110.034 system permits | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
SD registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | $55 a year filed online; paper filing costs $70 | annual — due the first day of the entity's anniversary month of formation | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of South Dakota positiononly if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax License | South Dakota Department of Revenue | No fee | no stated expiration | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Sioux Falls?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Sioux Falls, SD, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: By type and size: a wall sign, freestanding sign or electronic message center is $35.00 under 100 square feet and $50.00 over 100 square feet. A banner over 100 square feet is $35.00. An off-premise sign or billboard is $100.00 at any size. A temporary portable sign such as a wind feather or inflatable is $15.00. A window sign is free under 25 square feet and $15.00 over. Temporary reader board and sandwich board signs carry no fee.
Food Service Establishment License: Banded by floor area under §110.029: $181.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $271.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $362.00 at 5,001 and above. The annual fee covers one full service food preparation area and each additional preparation area is $92.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $52.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $209.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $302.00 above. A grocery store selling prepackaged food is $181.00 above 250 square feet and $92.00 at or below. An annual renewal application received after December 31 carries a $75.00 late fee. A follow-up inspection is $92.00. A $30.00 discount applies where the establishment averaged 94 percent or above on the preceding year's routine inspections and the renewal application arrives before January 1. A fire inspection under §110.035 adds $28.00 for a restaurant without a beverage license.
Food Establishment License: $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Sioux Falls permits page and the SD state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Sioux Falls?
Permits for a coffee shop in Sioux Falls, SD come from 7 separate offices: City of Sioux Falls Licensing Office, City Attorney's Office, City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services, Sioux Falls Fire Rescue, Fire Prevention Division, Sioux Falls Health Department, South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services, South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, South Dakota Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Sioux Falls Licensing Office, City Attorney's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — City of Sioux Falls position (enumerated licenses only)City Hall, 224 W. Ninth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 · (605) 367-8082www.siouxfalls.gov/business-permits/permits-licenses-inspections/licensing
- City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development ServicesIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy — Required; Fee Not Published Separately (Sioux Falls), Conditional Use Permit / Zoning and Subdivision Fees, Sign Permit231 N. Dakota Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 · (605) 367-8010www.siouxfalls.gov/government/departments/planning-development
- Sioux Falls Fire Rescue, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual Fire License (inspection included) and Fire Permits224 W. 9th Street, Ground Floor of City Hall, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 · (605) 367-8093www.siouxfalls.gov/health-safety/fire/permits
- Sioux Falls Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Service Establishment License521 N. Main Avenue, Suite 101, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 · (605) 367-8760www.siouxfalls.gov/health-safety/health-services
- South Dakota Secretary of State, Business ServicesIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report, General Business License — State of South Dakota position500 E Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501 · (605) 773-4845sdsos.gov/business-services/default.aspx
- South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Service Manager Certification, Food Establishment License600 East Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501 · (605) 773-4945doh.sd.gov/topics/food-lodging-safety/licensure-and-codes/food-service
- South Dakota Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax License445 East Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 · 1-800-829-9188dor.sd.gov
What does a coffee shop need in Sioux Falls that other businesses do not?
Food Service Establishment License
The compliance discount is the feature worth planning around: §110.029 gives $30.00 off the yearly invoice to an establishment that averaged 94 percent or better on the prior year's routine inspections and renews before January 1, so the discount is forfeited by a late renewal even with a clean record. The $92.00 additional preparation area charge matters for larger operations — a restaurant with two full kitchens pays the band fee plus $92.00. On the relationship to state licensing: SDCL 34-18-7 provides that 'any county or district health department or municipal health department organized under existing laws may be designated as an agent of the secretary for the purpose of administering the provisions of this chapter,' and the City's own food license application, hosted at siouxfalls.gov and headed 'South Dakota Department of Health Food License Application,' is that same statewide form administered through the City's Health Department as the local intake — consistent with the City acting as the state's own designated agent for SDCL 34-18-10 rather than a restaurant needing a second, separately issued state license on top of the fee recorded here. Two City sources conflict on the temporary event fee. The Code states: §110.031 provides that 'The following fee shall be paid by a food service establishment that operates at a fixed location for a period of time of not more than 14 consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or celebration,' and sets a single temporary event fee of $32.00 with no non-profit distinction. The City's own Temporary Food Service application, by contrast, says 'a temporary food service license is $70 ($32 for non-profit groups).' The $32.00 figure is common to both, and §110.031 as published in the Code still sets the single $32.00 fee. A commercial operator should budget $70.00 and ask the Health Department which governs.
Shared with other businesses in Sioux Falls
- Sign Permit — City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services, By type and size: a wall sign, freestanding sign or electronic message center is $35.00 under 100 square feet and $50.00 over 100 square feet. A banner over 100 square feet is $35.00. An off-premise sign or billboard is $100.00 at any size. A temporary portable sign such as a wind feather or inflatable is $15.00. A window sign is free under 25 square feet and $15.00 over. Temporary reader board and sandwich board signs carry no fee., not stated in the published fee table. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Food Service Manager Certification — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, No fee, set by the accredited training provider rather than state regulation. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Establishment License — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top, annual — every license expires December 31 regardless of issue date, with a discounted half-year fee for openings after July 1. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Sioux Falls, SD; what each one involves is set out on the Sioux Falls permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across SD and are covered on the SD state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Sioux Falls?
A coffee shop and a restaurant in Sioux Falls, SD need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Sioux Falls permits page and the SD state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Code of Ordinances, City of Sioux Falls, current through local ordinance 54-26 (7-14-2026) — §§110.026 to 110.037 (the complete licence fee schedule, including §110.028 contractor licences, §110.029 food and health licences, §110.031 temporary event fee, §110.033 annual fire licences, §110.034 one-time fire permits and §110.035 fire inspections for other licences), §110.011 (calendar-year expiry), §111.002 and §111.009 (alcohol), §112.015 (food establishment licence required), §92.172 and §92.180 (family day care home registration and exemptions), §117.123 and §117.133 (mobile food vending), §150.017 and §150.002 (building permit tables), §155.030 (sign permit) and §§160.740 to 160.758 (certificates of occupancy and zoning fees)City of Sioux Falls, codified by American Legal Publishing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Food Service inspections and permit application — the Health Department's own current page and permit application, confirming the size-banded operating permit fees, the $92.00 additional preparation area charge and the Health Department's addressCity of Sioux Falls Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Food and Lodging Safety licensure — the South Dakota Department of Health's own current page for the statewide food service establishment license under SDCL ch. 34-18, which applies alongside or in place of a municipal license depending on jurisdictionSouth Dakota Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- SDCL 34-18-7 — allowing a county, district or municipal health department to be designated as an agent of the Secretary of Health for administering Chapter 34-18's licensing provisionsSouth Dakota Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- South Dakota Department of Health — food license application, fee table by seating capacitySouth Dakota Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
