Commercial Compliance Hub

Nampa

City of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk

In short

City of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk issues 4 permits we publish for Nampa, last verified 2026-09-11. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Massage Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk$100.00 license fee (new or renewal) plus a $42.00 background check fee, for a total of $142.00 per application; the document does not state how often the background check specifically must be repeated, unlike the City Clerk's separate Peddler/Solicitor License application, which states its own $42.00 background fee is required every other year.not stated as a fixed renewal cycle in the published application; both 'New License' and 'Renewal' are priced identically at $100.002026-09-11
Veterinary Facility Municipal License (not found)only if it applies to youCity of Nampa, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Peddler/Solicitor License (mobile food vendor/food truck)City of Nampa, Office of the City ClerkLicense Fee of $25.00 for 3 months, $50.00 for 6 months, or $100.00 per year, plus a $42.00 fingerprint-based background check fee required every other year.3 months, 6 months, or annual, at the applicant's choice2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Nampa Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Nampa, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Massage Establishment License

A city-specific license applying to massage establishments and the individual massage therapists employed there — not to a plain hair or nail salon offering no massage services. The application requires listing every massage therapist employed at the establishment, their state license numbers, and notifying the City Clerk's Office in writing within two business days of any change in employed therapists. Idaho's own DOPL Barber or Cosmetology Establishment License, recorded at the state layer, remains the trade-specific credential for a salon that does not offer massage therapy.

Veterinary Facility Municipal License (not found)

No fee applies. The Planning & Zoning Fee Schedule's own 'Kennel License' line is explicitly labeled '(Non-Commercial)' — a private pet-ownership product, not a veterinary-clinic business credential — and the City Clerk's own license-category list contains no separate veterinary-premises license. Idaho's own veterinary board, recorded at the state layer, likewise licenses only individual veterinarians and technicians with no facility or premises credential, so a veterinary practice's local obligations in Nampa are the same generic building, zoning, and sign requirements recorded elsewhere in this file.

Peddler/Solicitor License (mobile food vendor/food truck)

This generic City Clerk license, not a dedicated mobile-vendor product, is Nampa's current local layer for a food truck or mobile food vendor. The City's own current application states this directly: 'All Mobile Food Trucks must contact Planning and Zoning to obtain a Temporary Use Permit,' 'If a food product or food item is being sold, a copy of your certificate from the Southwest District Health department is required,' and 'Mobile Vendors & Food Trucks require Proof of Current Fire Inspection.' A local news report describes a proposed dedicated 'Mobile Food Vendor License' that the City Council postponed to gather vendor input before revising; the Peddler/Solicitor license shown here is the one on the City Clerk's current Licenses page, and no fee figure here comes from that report.

General Business License — City of Nampa Position

The City of Nampa's FAQ pages state that 'the City of Nampa does not have a city-wide business license' and that 'The City of Nampa does not issue general business licenses. Licenses are only required for specific types of businesses, including those that sell alcohol, door-to-door sales, pawnbrokers, alarm installers, private investigators, private security, motor escorts, and gem dealers.' The City Clerk's Licenses page lists only specific-activity licenses and permits (alcohol, amusement, animal, concessions, massage establishment, motor escort, pawnbroker, peddler/solicitor, private security/investigator/alarm, special event, tree removal/pruner and used precious metal/gem dealer). Per those FAQ pages, there is no city-wide business license fee for a plain restaurant, retail store, salon, fitness studio, veterinary clinic, contractor's office or auto repair shop that does not engage in one of those specific activities.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Nampa
Phone
(208) 468-5415

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. FAQ — 'Does the City require businesses to be licensed?' stating the City of Nampa has no city-wide business licenseCity of Nampa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. FAQ — 'I am looking to start a business in Nampa. What type of license do I need?' confirming no general business license and listing the specific activities that are licensedCity of Nampa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Licenses — the City Clerk's own complete list of every license/permit the City issuesCity of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  4. Massage Establishment License Application (revised 11/22/2024) — the City Clerk's own current fee ($100 new/renewal, $42 background), citing N.C.C. 5-7-13City of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  5. Mobile Food Vendors (Food Trucks) — the City's own page describing the Temporary Use Permit and Solicitor's License required of food trucksCity of Nampa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  6. Peddlers License Application (revised 06/25/2025) — the City Clerk's own current fee schedule ($25/3mo, $50/6mo, $100/yr plus $42 background fee every other year) and requirement that mobile food trucks obtain a Temporary Use Permit and Southwest District Health certificateCity of Nampa, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11

Other offices serving Nampa

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Idaho jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.