Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in New Haven?

In short

A restaurant in New Haven, CT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of New Haven, City Plan Department charges $110 one-time, per parcel for the certificate of zoning compliance (letter of zoning compliance). 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in New Haven

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Service Establishment LicenseCity of New Haven Health Department (NHV Health)Standard Food Service Establishments (brick-and-mortar restaurants, convenience stores, grocery stores), by floor area: $200.00 for under 1,500 sq ft, $300.00 for 1,500-3,000 sq ft, $500.00 for over 3,000 sq ft, plus a $100.00 application fee and a $150.00 plan review fee for a new or renovated space. A Catering Food Service Establishment is a flat $550.00 instead. A Micro Food Service Establishment (operating from a shared kitchen, under $250,000 in annual sales) is $75.00 after its first year, with a graduated first-year fee ($75.00/$50.00/$25.00) depending on the quarter the application is submitted in, plus the same $100.00 application fee. A late fee of $150.00 applies to any category renewed after the May 1 deadline.annual — renews May 12026-09-09
Sign PermitCity of New Haven, Office of Building Inspection & Enforcement (Building Department)Priced on the same value-of-work schedule as the general Building Permit ($55.26 for the first $1,000 of estimated cost, plus $35.26 per additional $1,000), plus a $30.00 Certificate of Approval where applicable.one-time, per sign2026-09-09
Fire Marshal Inspection — Place of Assembly / Commercial KitchenNew Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficePlace of assembly operational permit: $100.00 for an establishment with a liquor license, $50.00 without. Hood Inspection for an establishment with no liquor license: $100.00. A new or altered Commercial Cooking System is a separate $100.00 plan-review fee.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Qualified Food Operatoronly if it applies to youConnecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection ProgramNo feeno fixed state renewal cycle — a replacement must be in place within 60 days of a vacancy2026-09-04
Food Service Establishment LicenseConnecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program$200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the stateset locally2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in New Haven

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of New Haven positiononly if it applies to youCity of New Haven — BusinessNo feenot applicable2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of New Haven, Office of Building Inspection & Enforcement (Building Department)Varies — formula on the New Haven pageone-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Certificate of Zoning Compliance (Letter of Zoning Compliance)only if it applies to youCity of New Haven, City Plan Department$110 one-time, per parcelone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of New Haven, Office of Building Inspection & Enforcement (Building Department)Varies — formula on the New Haven pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Trade Name (DBA) Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of New Haven, Office of the City/Town Clerk$20 one-time filingone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division$250 one-time filing for a stock corporation authorising up to 20,000 shares; a nonstock corporation is $50perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitConnecticut Department of Revenue Services$100 one-time registration; renewal is automatic and free2 years, then renews automatically at no cost if the account stays in good standing2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division$120 one-time filing, including appointment of the statutory agentperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the CT pageannual — an LLC files online between 1 January and 31 March2026-09-04
General Business License — Connecticut position (licensing by activity)only if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionNo feeset by the specific license a business actually needs2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in New Haven?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in New Haven, CT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Service Establishment License: Standard Food Service Establishments (brick-and-mortar restaurants, convenience stores, grocery stores), by floor area: $200.00 for under 1,500 sq ft, $300.00 for 1,500-3,000 sq ft, $500.00 for over 3,000 sq ft, plus a $100.00 application fee and a $150.00 plan review fee for a new or renovated space. A Catering Food Service Establishment is a flat $550.00 instead. A Micro Food Service Establishment (operating from a shared kitchen, under $250,000 in annual sales) is $75.00 after its first year, with a graduated first-year fee ($75.00/$50.00/$25.00) depending on the quarter the application is submitted in, plus the same $100.00 application fee. A late fee of $150.00 applies to any category renewed after the May 1 deadline.

Sign Permit: Priced on the same value-of-work schedule as the general Building Permit ($55.26 for the first $1,000 of estimated cost, plus $35.26 per additional $1,000), plus a $30.00 Certificate of Approval where applicable.

Fire Marshal Inspection — Place of Assembly / Commercial Kitchen: Place of assembly operational permit: $100.00 for an establishment with a liquor license, $50.00 without. Hood Inspection for an establishment with no liquor license: $100.00. A new or altered Commercial Cooking System is a separate $100.00 plan-review fee.

Food Service Establishment License: $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the New Haven permits page and the CT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in New Haven?

Permits for a restaurant in New Haven, CT come from 9 separate offices: City of New Haven — Business, City of New Haven, Office of Building Inspection & Enforcement (Building Department), City of New Haven, City Plan Department, City of New Haven Health Department (NHV Health), New Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of New Haven, Office of the City/Town Clerk, Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in New Haven that other businesses do not?

Qualified Food Operator

No state fee, because Connecticut certifies nobody itself — the exam is bought from a third-party provider such as Prometric, the National Registry of Food Safety Professionals or ServSafe, at that provider's own price. The requirement bites only at the two higher-risk tiers: every class III or class IV food service, itinerant vending or catering establishment must be owned, operated, or have on staff in a supervisory role, a qualified food operator who passed an accredited test. There is no fixed state renewal period, but the regulation is strict about continuity — if the qualified operator's position becomes vacant, a replacement must be in place within sixty days.

Shared with other businesses in New Haven

  • Food Service Establishment License — City of New Haven Health Department (NHV Health), Standard Food Service Establishments (brick-and-mortar restaurants, convenience stores, grocery stores), by floor area: $200.00 for under 1,500 sq ft, $300.00 for 1,500-3,000 sq ft, $500.00 for over 3,000 sq ft, plus a $100.00 application fee and a $150.00 plan review fee for a new or renovated space. A Catering Food Service Establishment is a flat $550.00 instead. A Micro Food Service Establishment (operating from a shared kitchen, under $250,000 in annual sales) is $75.00 after its first year, with a graduated first-year fee ($75.00/$50.00/$25.00) depending on the quarter the application is submitted in, plus the same $100.00 application fee. A late fee of $150.00 applies to any category renewed after the May 1 deadline., annual — renews May 1. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit — City of New Haven, Office of Building Inspection & Enforcement (Building Department), Priced on the same value-of-work schedule as the general Building Permit ($55.26 for the first $1,000 of estimated cost, plus $35.26 per additional $1,000), plus a $30.00 Certificate of Approval where applicable., one-time, per sign. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Fire Marshal Inspection — Place of Assembly / Commercial Kitchen — New Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Place of assembly operational permit: $100.00 for an establishment with a liquor license, $50.00 without. Hood Inspection for an establishment with no liquor license: $100.00. A new or altered Commercial Cooking System is a separate $100.00 plan-review fee., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Service Establishment License — Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program, $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state, set locally. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in New Haven, CT; what each one involves is set out on the New Haven permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CT and are covered on the CT state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in New Haven?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in New Haven, CT need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in New Haven, CT, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5500
Food trucks4232
Fitness studios1140
Retail stores1140
Auto repair shops3142
Salons and barbers3142
Veterinary clinics3142
Childcare centres3053
Contractors and trades6056

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, auto repair shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the New Haven permits page and the CT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Connecticut Public Health Code sections 19-13-B42, B48 and B49 — the qualified food operator requirement for class III and IV establishmentsConnecticut Department of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.