Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Bridgeport?

In short

A restaurant in Bridgeport, CT has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Bridgeport, Office of the Town Clerk charges $20 one-time filing; a Release Trade Name Certificate is also $20.00 for the trade name (dba) certificate. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Bridgeport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Marshal Inspection — Commercial Kitchen HoodsCity of Bridgeport Fire Department, Fire Marshal DivisionA flat $115.00 inspection fee for Commercial Kitchen Hoods (Municipal Code 8.28.10(g)). If new hood or suppression equipment is being installed, the Fire Marshal Division separately charges $50.00 per hood and $50.00 per fire-suppression system (NFPA 17/17A/FM-200 wet or dry chemical systems) for plan review, on top of its general Building Plans/Fire Alarm/Sprinkler plan-review table priced by square footage (for example $50.00 up to 1,000 sq ft, rising to $500.00 for 7,501-10,000 sq ft, plus $50.00 per additional 1,000 sq ft).not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Sign Permit (Zoning)City of Bridgeport Zoning Department$75 per sign ($60.00 base + $15.00 technology fee)one-time, per sign2026-09-09
Food Establishment LicenseCity of Bridgeport Department of Health & Social Services, Environmental Health DivisionClass 1 (limited service — the schedule's own examples are coffee shops, ice cream shops, and gas stations reheating prepackaged food), priced by floor area: $300.00 for 0-2,500 sq ft, $400.00 for 2,501+ sq ft, renewing annually July 1 to June 30 (Municipal Code 8.20.170). Classes 2-4 (simple preparation, complex preparation, and establishments serving vulnerable populations or using specialized processes — full-service restaurants generally fall in Class 3), priced identically by seating count: $230.00 for 0-50 seats, $290.00 for 51-100 seats, $425.00 for 101+ seats, renewing annually January 1 to December 31 (Municipal Code 8.20.250). A one-time $25.00 Food Handler Certification and a separate Plan Review fee (Municipal Code 8.20.560; $100.00 up to 1,000 sq ft, scaling to $250.00 or more above 4,000 sq ft, plus roughly $25.00 per additional 500 sq ft) apply on top for a new or renovated establishment.annual — cycle depends on class (see formula)2026-09-09
Qualified Food Operatoronly if it applies to youConnecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection ProgramNo feeno fixed state renewal cycle — a replacement must be in place within 60 days of a vacancy2026-09-04
Food Service Establishment LicenseConnecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program$200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the stateset locally2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bridgeport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of Bridgeport positiononly if it applies to youCity of Bridgeport, Office of Planning & Economic DevelopmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-09
Trade Name (DBA) Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Bridgeport, Office of the Town Clerk$20 one-time filing; a Release Trade Name Certificate is also $20.00one-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09
Zoning Compliance ApplicationCity of Bridgeport Zoning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Bridgeport pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Bridgeport Building DepartmentVaries — formula on the Bridgeport pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Bridgeport Building Department$125 added to every Building Department permit issued, rather than billed as its own separate applicationone-time, issued with the underlying permit, no expiration2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division$250 one-time filing for a stock corporation authorising up to 20,000 shares; a nonstock corporation is $50perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitConnecticut Department of Revenue Services$100 one-time registration; renewal is automatic and free2 years, then renews automatically at no cost if the account stays in good standing2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division$120 one-time filing, including appointment of the statutory agentperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the CT pageannual — an LLC files online between 1 January and 31 March2026-09-04
General Business License — Connecticut position (licensing by activity)only if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionNo feeset by the specific license a business actually needs2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Bridgeport?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Bridgeport, CT, 8 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $300.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Marshal Inspection — Commercial Kitchen Hoods: A flat $115.00 inspection fee for Commercial Kitchen Hoods (Municipal Code 8.28.10(g)). If new hood or suppression equipment is being installed, the Fire Marshal Division separately charges $50.00 per hood and $50.00 per fire-suppression system (NFPA 17/17A/FM-200 wet or dry chemical systems) for plan review, on top of its general Building Plans/Fire Alarm/Sprinkler plan-review table priced by square footage (for example $50.00 up to 1,000 sq ft, rising to $500.00 for 7,501-10,000 sq ft, plus $50.00 per additional 1,000 sq ft).

Food Establishment License: Class 1 (limited service — the schedule's own examples are coffee shops, ice cream shops, and gas stations reheating prepackaged food), priced by floor area: $300.00 for 0-2,500 sq ft, $400.00 for 2,501+ sq ft, renewing annually July 1 to June 30 (Municipal Code 8.20.170). Classes 2-4 (simple preparation, complex preparation, and establishments serving vulnerable populations or using specialized processes — full-service restaurants generally fall in Class 3), priced identically by seating count: $230.00 for 0-50 seats, $290.00 for 51-100 seats, $425.00 for 101+ seats, renewing annually January 1 to December 31 (Municipal Code 8.20.250). A one-time $25.00 Food Handler Certification and a separate Plan Review fee (Municipal Code 8.20.560; $100.00 up to 1,000 sq ft, scaling to $250.00 or more above 4,000 sq ft, plus roughly $25.00 per additional 500 sq ft) apply on top for a new or renovated establishment.

Food Service Establishment License: $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bridgeport permits page and the CT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Bridgeport?

Permits for a restaurant in Bridgeport, CT come from 9 separate offices: City of Bridgeport, Office of Planning & Economic Development, City of Bridgeport Fire Department, Fire Marshal Division, City of Bridgeport, Office of the Town Clerk, City of Bridgeport Zoning Department, City of Bridgeport Department of Health & Social Services, Environmental Health Division, City of Bridgeport Building Department, Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Bridgeport that other businesses do not?

Qualified Food Operator

No state fee, because Connecticut certifies nobody itself — the exam is bought from a third-party provider such as Prometric, the National Registry of Food Safety Professionals or ServSafe, at that provider's own price. The requirement bites only at the two higher-risk tiers: every class III or class IV food service, itinerant vending or catering establishment must be owned, operated, or have on staff in a supervisory role, a qualified food operator who passed an accredited test. There is no fixed state renewal period, but the regulation is strict about continuity — if the qualified operator's position becomes vacant, a replacement must be in place within sixty days.

Shared with other businesses in Bridgeport

  • Fire Marshal Inspection — Commercial Kitchen Hoods — City of Bridgeport Fire Department, Fire Marshal Division, A flat $115.00 inspection fee for Commercial Kitchen Hoods (Municipal Code 8.28.10(g)). If new hood or suppression equipment is being installed, the Fire Marshal Division separately charges $50.00 per hood and $50.00 per fire-suppression system (NFPA 17/17A/FM-200 wet or dry chemical systems) for plan review, on top of its general Building Plans/Fire Alarm/Sprinkler plan-review table priced by square footage (for example $50.00 up to 1,000 sq ft, rising to $500.00 for 7,501-10,000 sq ft, plus $50.00 per additional 1,000 sq ft)., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit (Zoning) — City of Bridgeport Zoning Department, $75 per sign ($60.00 base + $15.00 technology fee), one-time, per sign. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Food Establishment License — City of Bridgeport Department of Health & Social Services, Environmental Health Division, Class 1 (limited service — the schedule's own examples are coffee shops, ice cream shops, and gas stations reheating prepackaged food), priced by floor area: $300.00 for 0-2,500 sq ft, $400.00 for 2,501+ sq ft, renewing annually July 1 to June 30 (Municipal Code 8.20.170). Classes 2-4 (simple preparation, complex preparation, and establishments serving vulnerable populations or using specialized processes — full-service restaurants generally fall in Class 3), priced identically by seating count: $230.00 for 0-50 seats, $290.00 for 51-100 seats, $425.00 for 101+ seats, renewing annually January 1 to December 31 (Municipal Code 8.20.250). A one-time $25.00 Food Handler Certification and a separate Plan Review fee (Municipal Code 8.20.560; $100.00 up to 1,000 sq ft, scaling to $250.00 or more above 4,000 sq ft, plus roughly $25.00 per additional 500 sq ft) apply on top for a new or renovated establishment., annual — cycle depends on class (see formula). Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Service Establishment License — Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program, $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state, set locally. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bridgeport, CT; what each one involves is set out on the Bridgeport permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CT and are covered on the CT state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Bridgeport?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Bridgeport, CT need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Bridgeport, CT, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5500
Food trucks3231
Fitness studios1140
Retail stores1140
Auto repair shops3142
Salons and barbers3142
Veterinary clinics3142
Childcare centres4054
Contractors and trades7057

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, fitness studios page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bridgeport permits page and the CT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Connecticut Public Health Code sections 19-13-B42, B48 and B49 — the qualified food operator requirement for class III and IV establishmentsConnecticut Department of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.