Commercial Compliance Hub

New Haven

New Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office

In short

New Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office issues 2 permits we publish for New Haven, last verified 2026-09-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Day-Care Center Operational Permit (Fire Marshal)New Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Fire Marshal Inspection — Place of Assembly / Commercial KitchenNew Haven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficePlace of assembly operational permit: $100.00 for an establishment with a liquor license, $50.00 without. Hood Inspection for an establishment with no liquor license: $100.00. A new or altered Commercial Cooking System is a separate $100.00 plan-review fee.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Day-Care Center Operational Permit (Fire Marshal)

Listed on the Fire Marshal's Office FY 2020-21 BOA-approved fee schedule under 'Operational Permits — To Operate an occupancy per use of special hazards' as 'Day-Care Center,' $50.00. The Fire Marshal's Office 'Permits, Licenses, and Fees' page now links a '2025 - 2026 BOA Fee List'; confirm the current figure directly with the Fire Marshal's Office (203-946-6232). Stacks on top of the Health Department's own daycare inspection fee and the Connecticut Office of Early Childhood's state license recorded at the state layer — the City Plan Department's own schedule prices no New Haven-specific zoning fee for child care use beyond the general Certificate of Zoning Compliance recorded above.

Fire Marshal Inspection — Place of Assembly / Commercial Kitchen

These figures are from the Fire Marshal's Office FY 2020-21 BOA-approved fee schedule; the Office's 'Permits, Licenses, and Fees' page now links a '2025 - 2026 BOA Fee List,' so confirm current figures with the Fire Marshal's Office (203-946-6232) before budgeting. This is in addition to the Health Department's own Food Service Establishment License and its plan review fee recorded above — a restaurant or coffee shop installing a commercial kitchen hood or suppression system clears both a health-driven and a fire-driven review.

Contact

Jurisdiction
New Haven
Phone
(203) 946-6232

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. New Haven Fire Department — department overview and Fire Marshal's Office contactCity of New Haven, Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  2. Permits, License User Fee Update, FY 2020-21 BOA Approved — Fire Department and Fire Marshal's Office fees under Ordinance § 17-201(4), including the Day-Care Center operational permit ($50.00) and place-of-assembly/hood-inspection feesCity of New Haven, Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08

Other offices serving New Haven

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Connecticut jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.