15 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Stamford?
In short
A restaurant in Stamford, CT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Stamford, Office of the Town Clerk charges $20 one-time filing; a later renewal, amendment or cancellation filing is priced identically at $20 under the same statute for the trade name (dba) certificate. 2 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Stamford
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit | City of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning Board | No fee | one-time, per sign | 2026-09-09 |
| Food Establishment License | City of Stamford, Department of Health | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Qualified Food Operatoronly if it applies to you | Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program | No fee | no fixed state renewal cycle — a replacement must be in place within 60 days of a vacancy | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Service Establishment License | Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program | $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state | set locally | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Stamford
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trade Name (DBA) Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Stamford, Office of the Town Clerk | $20 one-time filing; a later renewal, amendment or cancellation filing is priced identically at $20 under the same statute | not stated (Connecticut law does not set a fixed expiration for the certificate itself) | 2026-09-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Certificate of Completion | City of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau) | No fee | one-time, no expiration | 2026-09-09 |
| Fire Alarm System / Fire Suppression System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Stamford Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | one-time, per system installed | 2026-09-09 |
| General Business License — City of Stamford Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Stamford — Business Information | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-09 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau) | No fee | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Zoning Permit / Special Permit | City of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning Board | No fee | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
CT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division | $250 one-time filing for a stock corporation authorising up to 20,000 shares; a nonstock corporation is $50 | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Connecticut Department of Revenue Services | $100 one-time registration; renewal is automatic and free | 2 years, then renews automatically at no cost if the account stays in good standing | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division | $120 one-time filing, including appointment of the statutory agent | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the CT page | annual — an LLC files online between 1 January and 31 March | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Connecticut position (licensing by activity)only if it applies to you | Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division | No fee | set by the specific license a business actually needs | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Stamford?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Stamford, CT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 9 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Service Establishment License: $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Stamford permits page and the CT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Stamford?
Permits for a restaurant in Stamford, CT come from 9 separate offices: City of Stamford, Office of the Town Clerk, City of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau), City of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning Board, City of Stamford Fire Marshal's Office, City of Stamford — Business Information, City of Stamford, Department of Health, Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Stamford, Office of the Town ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: Trade Name (DBA) CertificateStamford Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard, Ground Floor, Stamford, CT 06901www.stamfordct.gov/government/town-clerk
- City of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau)Issues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy / Certificate of Completion, Building Permit (Commercial)Stamford Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard, Stamford, CT 06901 · (203) 977-4164www.stamfordct.gov/government/operations/building-department
- City of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning BoardIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Permit / Special PermitStamford Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard, Stamford, CT 06901 · (203) 977-4716www.stamfordct.gov/government/operations/land-use-bureau-planning-zoning-housing-epb
- City of Stamford Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Alarm System / Fire Suppression System PermitStamford Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard, 7th Floor, Stamford, CT 06901 · (203) 977-4651www.stamfordct.gov/government/public-safety-health-welfare/fire-department/fire-marshal
- City of Stamford — Business InformationIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — City of Stamford Positionwww.stamfordct.gov/business
- City of Stamford, Department of HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment License(203) 977-5833www.stamfordct.gov/government/health-department
- Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Incorporation, Certificate of Organization (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Connecticut position (licensing by activity)165 Capitol Avenue, Suite 1000, Hartford, CT 06106portal.ct.gov/sots
- Connecticut Department of Revenue ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 1, Hartford, CT 06103 · (860) 297-5962portal.ct.gov/drs
- Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Qualified Food Operator, Food Service Establishment License410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134 · (860) 509-7297portal.ct.gov/dph/food-protection-program/food-service-licensing
What does a restaurant need in Stamford that other businesses do not?
Sign Permit
The fee is not published — listed only as its own 'Sign Permits' project type on the OpenGov portal's home page, alongside (and possibly overlapping with) the general Zoning Permit category described above, which the portal separately says also covers signs. Confirm with Land Use ((203) 977-4716) or the Building Department ((203) 977-4164) which single application actually applies before filing twice.
Qualified Food Operator
No state fee, because Connecticut certifies nobody itself — the exam is bought from a third-party provider such as Prometric, the National Registry of Food Safety Professionals or ServSafe, at that provider's own price. The requirement bites only at the two higher-risk tiers: every class III or class IV food service, itinerant vending or catering establishment must be owned, operated, or have on staff in a supervisory role, a qualified food operator who passed an accredited test. There is no fixed state renewal period, but the regulation is strict about continuity — if the qualified operator's position becomes vacant, a replacement must be in place within sixty days.
Shared with other businesses in Stamford
- Food Establishment License — City of Stamford, Department of Health, No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Service Establishment License — Connecticut Department of Public Health, Food Protection Program, $200–$500 a year, set entirely by the local health department or district rather than the state, set locally. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Stamford, CT; what each one involves is set out on the Stamford permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CT and are covered on the CT state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Stamford?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Stamford, CT need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 4 | 5 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Stamford permits page and the CT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Building Permits category — Building, Zoning, Demolition, Fire Alarm, Fire Suppression, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical permit types (no public fee table)City of Stamford, Building Department (hosted on OpenGov, a third-party permitting platform) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Land Use Bureau overview — zoning permit, sign permit and patio/cafe permit categoriesCity of Stamford, Land Use Bureau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Connecticut Public Health Code sections 19-13-B42, B48 and B49 — the qualified food operator requirement for class III and IV establishmentsConnecticut Department of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
