Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-27

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Los Angeles County?

In short

A auto repair shop in Los Angeles County, CA has 1 permit that applies to every business of this type, plus 15 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division charges $244.88 one-time, per demolition inspection (FY2026-27; was $229.93 in the FY2024-25 archived schedule) for the demolition inspection fee. 9 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Los Angeles County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa)only if it applies to youLos Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License SectionCost-recovery fee set per license category under LA County Code Title 7 §7.14.010; every application carries a non-refundable application fee, and some categories additionally require sign-off from the Fire Department, Sheriff, Dept. of Health Services or Dept. of Regional Planning before the Business License Commission issues the license. The per-category dollar amounts were not published in the TTC's accessible fee documents.not stated in the sources retrieved2026-09-27
Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) Permitonly if it applies to youLos Angeles County Fire Department / Consolidated Fire Protection District, acting as the county's Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA)$348–$21,080 annual Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) fee, by total facility tank storage capacity (FY2026-27)annual2026-09-27
Hazardous Materials Business Plan / Handler / Generator Permit (CUPA)only if it applies to youLos Angeles County Fire Department / Consolidated Fire Protection District, acting as the county's Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA)Annual fees under the Unified Program (FY2026-27): Hazardous Material Handler — Small Quantity Handler $437, Minor $633, Moderate $810, Major $1,120, Major-Large Volume $1,595, Major-Complex $2,462; Hazardous Waste Generator, by employee count, $528-$5,126; Tiered Permit — Conditionally Exempt $338, Conditionally Authorized $2,252, Permit by Rule $3,266.annual2026-09-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Los Angeles County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Site Plan Review, Ministerial (Commercial & Industrial)only if it applies to youLos Angeles County Department of Regional PlanningVaries — formula on the Los Angeles County pageone-time2026-09-27
Change-of-Use / Occupancy Inspection Feeonly if it applies to youLos Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the Los Angeles County pageone-time, per inspection2026-09-27
On-Site Business Sign Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youLos Angeles County Department of Regional PlanningVaries — formula on the Los Angeles County pageone-time2026-09-27
Commercial Building Permit / Plan Checkonly if it applies to youLos Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the Los Angeles County pageper project2026-09-27
Demolition Inspection Feeonly if it applies to youLos Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division$244.88 one-time, per demolition inspection (FY2026-27; was $229.93 in the FY2024-25 archived schedule)one-time, per inspection2026-09-27
Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to youLos Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County ClerkVaries — formula on the Los Angeles County pagenot stated in the sources retrieved2026-09-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$20 per filing, biennialbiennial2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$70 one-time filingno expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$100 one-time filingno expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually2026-09-03
Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$25 per filing, annualannual2026-09-03
Seller's Permitonly if it applies to youCalifornia Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationNo fee — no fee to applyno expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller2026-09-03
Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youCalifornia Franchise Tax BoardVaries — formula on the CA pageannual, until the entity is cancelled2026-09-03
General Business License — California position (city or county, not state)California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionNo feeset by the issuing city or county2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Los Angeles County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a auto repair shop in Los Angeles County, CA, 1 apply to every business of this type and 15 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

9 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa): Cost-recovery fee set per license category under LA County Code Title 7 §7.14.010; every application carries a non-refundable application fee, and some categories additionally require sign-off from the Fire Department, Sheriff, Dept. of Health Services or Dept. of Regional Planning before the Business License Commission issues the license. The per-category dollar amounts were not published in the TTC's accessible fee documents.

Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) Permit: $348–$21,080 annual Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) fee, by total facility tank storage capacity (FY2026-27)

Hazardous Materials Business Plan / Handler / Generator Permit (CUPA): Annual fees under the Unified Program (FY2026-27): Hazardous Material Handler — Small Quantity Handler $437, Minor $633, Moderate $810, Major $1,120, Major-Large Volume $1,595, Major-Complex $2,462; Hazardous Waste Generator, by employee count, $528-$5,126; Tiered Permit — Conditionally Exempt $338, Conditionally Authorized $2,252, Permit by Rule $3,266.

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Los Angeles County permits page and the CA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Los Angeles County?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Los Angeles County, CA come from 8 separate offices: Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License Section, Los Angeles County Fire Department / Consolidated Fire Protection District, acting as the county's Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA), Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning, Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Los Angeles County that other businesses do not?

Hazardous Materials Business Plan / Handler / Generator Permit (CUPA)

A business that handles, generates or stores hazardous materials above state reporting thresholds needs a Unified Program authorization from LA County Fire, acting as the county's CUPA, within Fire's own jurisdiction — the unincorporated area, 59 property-tax-funded cities and La Habra (Orange County) by contract, 60 cities total. An auto repair shop handling solvents, used oil and other automotive hazardous materials is mandatory in virtually every case; a restaurant, food truck, veterinary clinic or contractor is conditional, triggered only above the state's regulatory thresholds. The FY2026-27 annual Hazardous Material Handler fee ranges from $437 (Small Quantity Handler) to $2,462 (Major-Complex); a Hazardous Waste Generator instead pays $528 to $5,126 by employee count; and a facility needing a Tiered Permit pays $338 to $3,266 by tier. Applications are filed through the state's California Environmental Reporting System (CERS). Inside a city with its own fire department (the City of Los Angeles, Long Beach, Pasadena, Burbank, Glendale, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and others), that city administers the CUPA program instead.

Shared with other businesses in Los Angeles County

  • County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa) — Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License Section, Cost-recovery fee set per license category under LA County Code Title 7 §7.14.010; every application carries a non-refundable application fee, and some categories additionally require sign-off from the Fire Department, Sheriff, Dept. of Health Services or Dept. of Regional Planning before the Business License Commission issues the license. The per-category dollar amounts were not published in the TTC's accessible fee documents., not stated in the sources retrieved. Also required for restaurants, salons and barbers and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
  • Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) Permit — Los Angeles County Fire Department / Consolidated Fire Protection District, acting as the county's Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA), $348–$21,080 annual Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) fee, by total facility tank storage capacity (FY2026-27), annual. Also required for contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Los Angeles County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the Los Angeles County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Los Angeles County?

The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa). A contractor or trade needs County Business License — Title 7 Category List (veterinary, child care, contractor, plain retail) and Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Los Angeles County, CA, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Contractors and trades4212
Restaurants11219
Salons and barbers4123
Fitness studios6125
Veterinary clinics10129
Food trucks111210
Childcare centres7037
Coffee shops100310
Retail stores9039

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page and contractors and trades page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Los Angeles County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Permits and Fees, including the Unified Program (CUPA) hazardous-materials fee schedule, FY2026-27LA County Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  2. About Us (jurisdiction: unincorporated area, 59 contract cities and La Habra by contract, 60 cities total)LA County Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.