Commercial Compliance Hub

Collin County

Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health)

In short

Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) issues 5 permits we publish for Collin County, last verified 2026-09-29. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Service Establishment PermitCollin County Development Services (Environmental Health)$200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600not stated in the county's fee schedule or Food Service and Health page2026-09-29
Food Permit, Child Care FacilityCollin County Development Services (Environmental Health)$150 per child care facility over 12 childrennot stated in the county's fee schedule or Food Service and Health page2026-09-29
Temporary Event Food Permitonly if it applies to youCollin County Development Services (Environmental Health)$40 per permit, up to 14 days at a single locationup to 14 days at a single location2026-09-29
Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permitonly if it applies to youCollin County Development Services (Environmental Health)$100 per permit (statutory cap $100 a year; permit valid at least one year)at least 1 year2026-09-29
Commercial On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Inspectiononly if it applies to youCollin County Development Services (Environmental Health)New commercial construction wastewater inspection $450 without maintenance or $475 with maintenance ($10 of it goes to the state); repair of an existing septic system under 100 ft of line with no tank exchange $100, over 100 ft or with a tank exchange $150; re-inspection $75.per system2026-09-29

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Food Service Establishment Permit

The county's Food Service and Health page says Collin County only permits establishments for food service (including restaurants, food stores, schools, day cares, mobile vendors, temporary events, etc.) in the unincorporated areas and the city limits of Wylie, Melissa, Lowry Crossing, Weston, Josephine and Farmersville, and that food service in any other city must be permitted by that city. McKinney, Plano, Frisco, Allen, Prosper and Celina are outside the county programme. The fee is the county's own, with no state fee bundled, banded on floor area. Apply through the Collin County Citizen Self-Service Portal. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.

Food Permit, Child Care Facility

The fee schedule lists a food permit for a child care facility at $150 under the label 'Over 12 children'; the schedule has no fee row for a facility with 12 or fewer children. The county's Food Service and Health page names day cares among the establishments it permits and inspects, in the unincorporated areas and the city limits of Wylie, Melissa, Lowry Crossing, Weston, Josephine and Farmersville only; a day care in any other city is permitted by that city. Child care licensing itself is a state function and is not part of this record. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.

Temporary Event Food Permit

The county's page allows a temporary permit for a period of not more than 14 days at a single location. The online application and payment must be received by Development Services five business days before the first anticipated day of operation, or the county denies the request. The permit applies in the unincorporated areas and the city limits of Wylie, Melissa, Lowry Crossing, Weston, Josephine and Farmersville; an event elsewhere in the county is permitted by that city. Texas licenses mobile food vendors through the state Department of State Health Services from 1 July 2026; this county permit is for the event. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.

Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permit

The schedule row covers seasonal farmers and food producers selling directly to consumers at a farmers market, farm stand or the farmer's farm. The schedule prints the authority as 437.00065(C); the section is Health and Safety Code 437.0065(c), which requires a permit term of not less than one year and lets a county charge an annual fee not exceeding $100. The permit applies in the unincorporated areas and the city limits of Wylie, Melissa, Lowry Crossing, Weston, Josephine and Farmersville. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.

Commercial On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Inspection

A commercial site in unincorporated Collin County that is served by a septic system is inspected by Development Services under the fee schedule's on-site sewage facility rows. The schedule also lists a $50 wastewater review for an existing septic system and a $50 OSSF re-review. The county's FAQ says permitting is required for residential and non-residential building projects that disturb ground or add footprint on a parcel. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Collin County
Phone
(972) 548-5585

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Collin County Food Service and HealthCollin County Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  2. Collin County FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule by DepartmentCollin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  3. Collin County FY 2027 Proposed Fee Schedule, by Fee Title (Commissioners Court agenda attachment)Collin County Commissioners Court · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  4. Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 437, Regulation of Food Service Establishments, Retail Food Stores, Mobile Food Units, and Roadside Food VendorsTexas Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-28

Other offices serving Collin County

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Texas jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.