12 permits · verified 2026-09-29
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Collin County?
In short
A retail store in Collin County, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Collin County Fire Marshal charges $100 per building or new tenant (county page: per building in new construction) for the certificate of compliance (unincorporated commercial building or new tenant). 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-29 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Collin County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permit | Collin County Tax Assessor-Collector | 50% of the state fee for the license or permit, new or renewal, as the county's fee schedule words it; the statute caps the county fee at one-half of the statutory fee as of 31 August 2021. | with the state license or permit | 2026-09-29 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) | $200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600 | not stated in the county's fee schedule or Food Service and Health page | 2026-09-29 |
| Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) | $100 per permit (statutory cap $100 a year; permit valid at least one year) | at least 1 year | 2026-09-29 |
| Fire Construction Permit, Tent, Membrane Structure or Canopyonly if it applies to you | Collin County Fire Marshal | $100 per unit | per unit | 2026-09-29 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Collin County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Compliance (Unincorporated Commercial Building or New Tenant) | Collin County Fire Marshal | $100 per building or new tenant (county page: per building in new construction) | one-time | 2026-09-29 |
| Annual Commercial Fire Inspection (Unincorporated Collin County) | Collin County Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the Collin County page | annual | 2026-09-29 |
| Fire Marshal Building and Site Plan Review (New Construction) | Collin County Fire Marshal | $0.20 per square foot of new construction | one-time per project | 2026-09-29 |
| Commercial On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) | Varies — formula on the Collin County page | per system | 2026-09-29 |
| Culvert and Driveway Permitonly if it applies to you | Collin County Public Works | $250 per parcel | per permit | 2026-09-29 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Collin County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a retail store in Collin County, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.20. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permit: 50% of the state fee for the license or permit, new or renewal, as the county's fee schedule words it; the statute caps the county fee at one-half of the statutory fee as of 31 August 2021.
Food Service Establishment Permit: $200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Collin County permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Collin County?
Permits for a retail store in Collin County, TX come from 6 separate offices: Collin County Tax Assessor-Collector, Collin County Fire Marshal, Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health), Collin County Public Works, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Collin County Tax Assessor-CollectorIssues 1 permit on this page: County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permitwww.collincountytx.gov
- Collin County Fire MarshalIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Compliance (Unincorporated Commercial Building or New Tenant), Annual Commercial Fire Inspection (Unincorporated Collin County), Fire Marshal Building and Site Plan Review (New Construction), Fire Construction Permit, Tent, Membrane Structure or Canopy4690 Community Ave, McKinney, TX 75071 · (972) 548-5576www.collincountytx.gov/Services/Engineering/Fire-Marshal/commercial-applications
- Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health)Issues 3 permits on this page: Food Service Establishment Permit, Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permit, Commercial On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Inspection4690 Community Ave, McKinney, TX 75071 · (972) 548-5585collincountytx-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice
- Collin County Public WorksIssues 1 permit on this page: Culvert and Driveway Permitwww.collincountytx.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Collin County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 4 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Collin County: Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permit.
Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permit
The schedule row covers seasonal farmers and food producers selling directly to consumers at a farmers market, farm stand or the farmer's farm. The schedule prints the authority as 437.00065(C); the section is Health and Safety Code 437.0065(c), which requires a permit term of not less than one year and lets a county charge an annual fee not exceeding $100. The permit applies in the unincorporated areas and the city limits of Wylie, Melissa, Lowry Crossing, Weston, Josephine and Farmersville. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.
Shared with other businesses in Collin County
- County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permit — Collin County Tax Assessor-Collector, 50% of the state fee for the license or permit, new or renewal, as the county's fee schedule words it; the statute caps the county fee at one-half of the statutory fee as of 31 August 2021., with the state license or permit. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit — Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health), $200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600, not stated in the county's fee schedule or Food Service and Health page. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Construction Permit, Tent, Membrane Structure or Canopy — Collin County Fire Marshal, $100 per unit, per unit. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Collin County, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Collin County permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Collin County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store also needs Farmers Market and Farm Direct-Sale Food Permit. A coffee shop needs Temporary Event Food Permit and Fire Construction Permit, Commercial Cooking Hood System, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 3 | 1 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Collin County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Collin County FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule by DepartmentCollin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 437, Regulation of Food Service Establishments, Retail Food Stores, Mobile Food Units, and Roadside Food VendorsTexas Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Collin County FY 2027 Proposed Fee Schedule, by Fee Title (Commissioners Court agenda attachment)Collin County Commissioners Court · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
